STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD **RESOLUTION NO. 2010-0003**

AUTHORIZING THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR TO ENTER INTO AN AGREEMENT WITH THE STATE WATER PROJECT CONTRACTORS AND THE FEDERAL CENTRAL VALLEY PROJECT CONTRACTORS, OR A JOINT POWERS AUTHORITY COMPRISED OF THOSE CONTRACTORS, FOR REIMBURSEMENT OF THE COSTS OF ANALYSIS ASSOCIATED WITH DEVELOPING NEW FLOW CRITERIA FOR THE DELTA ECOSYSTEM.

WHEREAS:

- 1. Section 39 of Senate Bill No. 1 of the 2009-2010 Seventh Extraordinary Session (Stats. 2009 (7th Ex. Sess.) ch 5) will add section 85086 to the Water Code, effective February 3, 2010.
- 2. Section 85086 requires the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) to develop new flow criteria for the Delta ecosystem that are necessary to protect public trust resources.
- 3. The flow criteria shall include the volume, quality, and timing of water necessary for the Delta ecosystem under different conditions. In developing the new flow criteria, the State Water Board shall review existing water quality objectives and use the best available scientific information.
- 4. Pursuant to section 85086, the State Water Board shall enter into an agreement with the State Water Project contractors and the federal Central Valley Project contractors, or a ioint powers authority comprised of those contractors, for reimbursement of the costs of the analysis associated with developing the new flow criteria.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

The State Water Board authorizes the Executive Director to enter into an agreement with the State Water Project contractors and the federal Central Valley Project contractors, or a joint powers authority comprised of those contractors, for reimbursement of the costs of the analysis associated with developing new flow criteria for the Delta ecosystem, not to exceed \$600,000.

CERTIFICATION

The undersigned Clerk to the Board does hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and correct copy of a resolution duly and regularly adopted at a meeting of the State Water Board held on January 5, 2010.

AYE: Chairman Charles R. Hoppin

> Vice Chair Frances Spivy-Weber Board Member Arthur G. Baggett, Jr. Board Member Walter G. Pettit

NAY: None

Board Member Tam M. Doduc ABSENT:

ABSTAIN: None

> Jeanine Townsend Clerk to the Board

eanine Joursend