DELTA PROTECTION COMMISSION

2101 Stone Blvd., Suite 210 West Sacramento, CA 95691 (916) 375-4800 / FAX (916) 376-3962 www.delta.ca.gov

Skip Thomson, Chair Solano County Board of Supervisors

Oscar Villegas, Vice Chair Yolo County Board of Supervisors

Don Nottoli Sacramento County Board of Supervisors

Chuck Winn San Joaquin County Board of Supervisors

Diane Burgis
Contra Costa County Board
of Supervisors

Juan Antonio Banales Cities of Contra Costa and Solano Counties

Christopher Cabaldon Cities of Sacramento and Yolo Counties

Susan Lofthus Cities of San Joaquin County

Michael Scriven
Central Delta Reclamation
Districts

Justin van Loben Sels North Delta Reclamation Districts

Robert Ferguson South Delta Reclamation Districts

Brian KellyCA State Transportation
Agency

Karen Ross CA Department of Food and Agriculture

John Laird CA Natural Resources Agency

Brian Bugsch CA State Lands Commission

Ex Officio Members

Honorable Jim Frazier California State Assembly

Honorable Cathleen Galgiani California State Senate February 17, 2017

Ms. Jelena Hartman
State Water Resources Control Board
Office of Research, Planning & Performance
Climate & Conservation
P.O. Box 100
Sacramento, CA 95812-0100

RE: Climate Change Resolution

Dear Ms. Hartman:

The Delta Protection Commission is committed to the protection and health of the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta. With this goal in mind, we respectfully submit the following comment for inclusion in the Department of Water Resources' Comprehensive Response to Climate Change Resolution.

Resolution Item 9

To assist with implementation of the co-equal goals for protecting, restoring, and enhancing the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta (Delta) ecosystem, and providing a more reliable water supply, and to ensure the coequal goals shall be achieved in a manner that protects and enhances the unique cultural, recreational, natural resource, and agricultural values of the Delta as an evolving place, the Delta Watermaster shall maintain an ongoing consultation with the Delta Protection Commission, which represents interests within the Delta, and the Delta Stewardship Council, which runs the Delta Science Program. The Delta Watermaster shall coordinate with OIMA to identify and obtain downscaled projections of climate and hydrology changes expected in the Delta. State Water Board staff shall incorporate effects of climate change when evaluating and approving long-term projects designed to meet the goals or objectives of the Water Quality Control Plan for the San Francisco Bay/Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Estuary.

Thank you for the opportunity to comment on the Resolution.

Sincerely,

Erik Vink

Executive Director

cc: Skip Thomson, Commission Chair and Solano County Supervisor



3-7-17 Board Meeting-Item 7 Climate Change Deadline: 3/3/17 12 noon

