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State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Drinking Water
March 22, 2016
Konocti County Water District
c/o Mr. Frank Costner, General Manager
15844 35" Avenue
Clearlake, CA 95422

CITATION NO. 02_03_16C_004 - OPERATOR CERTIFICATION
KONOCTI COUNTY WATER DISTRICT ID #1710006

Dear Mr Costner:

Enclosed is a citation issued to Konocti County Water District (System) public
water system for failure to comply with shift operator requirements. There is a
date noted in the citation for being in compliance. Please continue to
communicate with the Division on your progress on obtaining T3 certified
operators.

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact Amy Little or me
at (707) 576-2145.

Sincerely,

&

Sheri K. Miller, P.E., Senior Sanitary Engineer
Division of Drinking Water, Mendocino District

Enclosure: Citation No. 02-03-16C-004-1710006-OP

G Lake County Environmental Health

1710006/Compliance File #4/02-03-16C-004-1710006-OPCoverLtr.doc/AJL

FeLicia Marcus, cHairR | THomAas HOWARD, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

50 D Street, Suite 200, Santa Rosa, CA 95404 | www.waterboards.ca.gov
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1 Citation No. 02_03_16C_004

2

3 STATE OF CALIFORNIA

4 WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD
5 DIVISION OF DRINKING WATER

6

7 | Name of Public Water System: Konocti County Water District

8 | Water System Number: 1710006

9
10 | To: Konocti County Water District
1| 15844 35" Avenue
12 Clearlake, CA 95422
13
14 | Attn: Frank Costner, General Manager
15 |
16 |Issued: March 22, 2016
17
18 CITATION FOR NONCOMPLIANCE
19 FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH SECTION 64413.5(b) of the
20 CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
21 Operator Certification
22

23 | The Division of Drinking Water of the State Water Resources Control Board (herein
24 | after “Division”) hereby issues a citation to the Konocti County Water District public
25 | water system (herein after “System”) for failure to comply with Section 64413.5(b) of

26 | the California Code of Regulations (CCR). Section 116550 of the California Health

@ 27 |and Safety Code (CHSC) authorizes the issuance of a citation for failure to comply
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with requirements of Chapter 4 (California Safe Drinking Water Act), or any regulation,
standard, permit, or order issued thereunder. A copy of the Applicable Statutes and
Regulations is located in Appendix 1, which is attached hereto and incorporated by

reference.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

Konocti County Water District is classified as a community water system, operating in
éaccordance with Water Supply Permit No. 02-03-06P1710006, issued on May 23,

2006, serving 1,924 active service connections and an estimated population of 4,425,

located at 15844 35th Ave. in Clearlake, California.

The System’s surface water treatment plant is classified as conventional surface
water treatment plant, per Section 64651.23 of the California Code of Regulations
(CCR). As such, the plant is credited with 99.7 percent (2.5-log) removal of Giardia
lamblia cysts and 99 percent (2-log) removal of viruses through filtration when
operating in compliance with the performance standards contained in Title 22,
Chapter 17 of the CCR and the conditions of the System’'s Permit. Treatment
processes include potassium permanganate addition, pre-ozonation, coagulant
addition and rapid mixing through an in-line mechanical mixer, hydrochloric acid
addition for pH control, solids-contact upflow clarification, filtration using three dual
media pressure filters, filtration using two granular activated carbon filters, disinfection
with sodium hypochlorite, and poly-orthophosphate addition. The treatment plant
facility is classified as a T4 plant in accordance with Section 64413.1 of the California

Code of Regulations.

i;On August 15 and October 9, 2014, the Division conducted an inspection of the

System facilities prompted by the Division’s routine inspection schedule. At the time of

the inspection, there were two T2 shift operators available to be in direct charge of the
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operation of the water treatment plant during a specified period of the day. The
Division verbally informed the System to support the T2 shift operators to obtain T3

certifications or hire T3 certified operators.

DETERMINATIONS

%Title 22 Section 64413.5(b) of the CCR requires a shift operator that meets the
specifications of Section 63765(a) for each operating shift. Title 22 Section 63765(a)

of the CCR requires a T3 shift operator at a plant classified as T4. The Division has
determined that the System failed to comply with the requirements of Title 22 Section

64413.5(b) of the CCR.

PENALTIES PURSUANT TO HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE SECTION 116650

The Division hereby reserves the right to assess the System a penalty.

DIRECTIVES

| The Konocti County Water District is hereby directed to take the following actions:

1. The System shall cease and desist from violating 64413.5(b) of the California
Code of Regulations by September 30, 2016. All shift operators must be T3 or
higher. T2 certified operators may receiye direction on duties during a shift under

supervision of a T3 or higher operator.

2. The System shall include this violation in the 2015 Consumer Confidence Report
under the Section “Summary Information for Violations of a MCL, MRDL, AL, TT,
or Monitoring and Reporting Requirement”. The health effects column may be left

blank.
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1 :3. Complete and submit to the Division the enclosed Compliance Certification by

2 September 30, 2016.

4 | The Division reserves the right to make such modifications to this Citation as it may
5 | deem necessary to protect public health and safety. Such modifications may be

issued as amendments to this Citation, and shall be deemed effective upon issuance.

eI N =)

Nothing in this Citation relieves the System of its obligation to meet the requirements
9 | of the California Safe Drinking Water Act (CHSC, Division 104, Part 12, Chapter 4,
10 écommencing with Section 116270), or of any regulation, permit, standard, or order
11 issued or adopted thereunder.

12

13 | All submittals required by this Citation shall be submitted to the Division
14 | at the following address: ~ Sheri Miller, P.E.

15 | State Water Resources Control Board
16 | Division of Drinking Water

17 50 D Street, Suite 200

18 | Santa Rosa, CA 95404

19 |

20 PARTIES BOUND

21 | This Citation shall apply to and be binding upon the System, its officers, directors,
1, shareholders, agents, employees, contractors, successors, and assignees.

23
24 SEVERABILITY

25 | The Directives of this Citation are severable, and the System shall comply with each

26 | and every provision thereof, notwithstanding the effectiveness of any other provision.

27
28
29
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FURTHER ENFORCEMENT ACTION
Division 104, Part 12, Chapter 4, (commencing with Section 116270) of the
California Health and Safety Code authorizes the Division of Drinking Water to:
issue additional citations with assessment of penalties if the System continues to fail
to correct a violation identified in a citation; take action to suspend or revoke a
permit that has been issued to a public water system if the System has violated
applicable laws or regulations or has failed to comply with orders of the Division;
and petition the superior court to take various enforcement measures against a
public water system that has failed to comply with orders of the Division. The

Division does not waive any further enforcement action by issuance of this citation.

g\& Z/\— 3-22-201

Sheri K. Miller, P.E., District Engineer Date
Mendocino District

Division of Drinking Water

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

Certified Mail No. Tei-d (Zaoocol |17 7 ({7

Appendices:
1. Applicable Statutes and Regulations
2. Compliance Certification

1710006/Compliance (4)/02-03-16C-004-1710006-OP/AJL
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APPENDIX 1. APPLICABLE STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

FOR CITATION NO. 02-03-16C-004
Note: The Department referenced below, formerly the California Department of Public Heaith,
Drinking Water Program, now refers to the Stafe Water Resources Control Board, Division of Drinking

Water. The Drinking Water Program moved to the State Water Resources Control Board on July 1,
2014.

Section 116650 of the CHSC states, in relevant part:

(a) If the department determines that a public water system is in violation of this
chapter or any regulation, permit, standard, citation, or order issued or adopted
thereunder, the department may issue a citation to the public water system. The
citation shall be served upon the public water system personally or by certified
mail. Service shall be deemed effective as of the date of personal service or the
date of receipt of the certified mail. If a person to-whom a citation is directed
refuses to accept delivery of the certified mail, the date of service shall be deemed

to be the date of mailing.

(b) Each citation shall be in writing and shall describe the nature of the violation or
violations, including a reference to the statutory provision, standard, order, citation,

permit, or regulation alleged to have been violated.

{c) A citation may specify a date for elimination or correction of the condition

constituting the violation.

(d} A citation may include the assessment of a penalty as specified in subdivision (e).
(e) The department may assess a penalty in an amount not to exceed one thousand
doliars ($1,000) per day for each day that a violation occurred, and for each day

that a violation continues to occur. A separate penalty may be assessed for each

violation,



Section 116625 of the CHSC states, in relevant part:

(a) The department, after a hearing noticed and conducted as provided in Section
100171, may suspend or revoke any permit issued pursuant to this chapter if the
department determines pursuant to the hearing that the permittee is not
complying with the permit, this chapter, or any regulation, standard, or order
issued or adopted thereunder, or that the permittee has made a false statement
or representation on any application, record, or report maintained or submitted
for purposes of compliance with this chapter. If the permit at issue has been
temporarily suspended pursuant to subdivision (c), the accusation shall be
served and notice of the hearing data given within 15 days of the effective date
of the temporary suspension order. The commencement of the hearing shall be
as soon as practicable, but in no case later than 60 days after the effective date

of the temporary suspension order.

OPERATOR CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENT
California Code of Regulations Section 63765(a) states, in relevant part:
(a) Except as provided in (c), chief and shift operators shall posseés valid operator
certificates pursuant to Table 63765-A.

Table 63765-A
Minimum Certification Requirements for Chief and Shift Operators

Treatment Facility Minimum Certification of Minimum Certification
Classification Chief Operator of Shift Operator
T1 T T1
T2 T2 T1
T3 T3 T2
T4 T4 T3
T5 T5 T3

California Code of Regulations Section 64413.5(b} states, in relevant part:

(b) Each water supplier shall designate at least one shift operator that meets the
requirements specified in Section 63765 for each water treatment facility utilized by the
water system for each operating shift.



APPENDIX 2. |
COMPLIANCE CERTIFICATION

Compliance Order No. 02-03-160-004
Name of Water System: Konocti County Water District

System Number: 1710006

| complied with the directives of this compliance order as indicated below:

‘Date Completed
Required Action

Directive 1 — Shift Operators are properly certified

Directive 2 — Violation in 2015 CCR

Signature of Water System Date

Representative

THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED AND RETURNED TO THE DIVISION
BY September 30, 2016

Disclosure: Be advised that Section 116725 and 116730 of the California Health and Safety Code states that any person who knowingly
makes any false statement on any report or document submitted for the purpose of compliance with the attached order may be liable for a
civil penalty not to exceed five thousand dollars ($3,000) for each separate violation for each day that violation continues. In addition, the
violators may be prosecuted in criminal court and upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not mare than $25,000 for each day of
viclation, or be imprisoned in county jail not to exceed one year, or by both the fine and imprisonment.




