



Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board

Los Angeles Water Board Meeting Minutes
February 2, 2017
Metropolitan Water District of Southern California
700 North Alameda Street
Los Angeles, California 90012

The meeting was called to Order by Chair Irma Muñoz at 9:13 a.m.

1. Roll Call.

<u>Board Members Present:</u> Fran Diamond, James Famiglietti, Madelyn Glickfeld, Cynthia Guzman, Irma Muñoz, Charles Stringer, and Lawrence Yee.

Board Members Absent:

<u>Staff Present:</u> Samuel Unger, Deborah Smith, Paula Rasmussen, Jennifer Fordyce, Frances Mc Chesney, David Coupe, Ronji Moffett, Gerardo Rabelo, Susana Lagudis, Renee Purdy, David Hung, Dr. Ginachi Amah, Dr. Celine Gallon, Dr. Rebecca Chou, Michael Lyons, Hugh Marley, Russ Colby, Cris Morris, Steven Webb, Thomas Siebels, Dr. Arthur Heath, Dr. Eric Wu, Dr. Don Tsai

Individuals whose Names Appear on the Sign-In Sheet and/or Speaker Cards

Mr. David E. Potts, Wayne Perry Inc.	Mr. Tim Dafeta, City of L.A. Hyperion
Ms. Janna Watanabe, Port of Long Beach	Mr. Arthur Pugsley, L.A. WaterKeeper
Mr. Matt Carfegro, Orion Environmental	Mr. Nicholas Wiehardt, L.A. County Sanitation
Mr. David Pedersen, Las Virgenes	Mr. Thomas Lasswell, Resident City of Carson
Mr. Amir Mani, Larry Walker & Associates	Mr. Steven Johnson, Heal the Bay
Mr. Gloria Crudgington, City of Monrovia	Mr. Bruce Hamamoto, L.A. County Public Works
Mr. Steve Dahlberg, Paradise Cove Land Co.	Mr. Ray Tahir, TEC Environmental
Mr. Richard Watson, CASQA LCC Watershed	Ms. Scey Aldstadt, SCAP
Group	
Ms. Revas Feldman, City of Malibu	Mayor Lou La Monte, City of Malibu

2. Order of Agenda.

There were no changes to the Order of agenda.

3. Draft meeting Minutes for the December 8, 2016 meeting.

MOTION: Board member Charles Stringer moved to approve the draft December 8, 2016 Board meeting minutes.

IRMA MUÑOZ, CHAIR | SAMUEL UNGER, EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Seconded by: Board member Lawrence Yee

Motion carried: Approved unanimously by roll call vote.

Francine Diamond – Yea
James Famiglietti - Abstained
Madelyn Glickfeld - Yea
Cynthia Guzman - Yea
Irma Muñoz - Yea
Charles Stringer - Yea
Lawrence Yee - Yea

4. Selection of the 2017 Chair and vice Chair.

Board member indicated that the committee selected to nominate Irma Muñoz for 2017 Chair, and Board member Madelyn for vice Chair.

MOTION: Board member Fran Diamond

Seconded by: Board member Charles Stringer

Motion carried: Approved unanimously by roll call vote.

Francine Diamond – Yea James Famiglietti - Yea Madelyn Glickfeld – Yea Cynthia Guzman - Yea Irma Muñoz - Yea Charles Stringer - Yea Lawrence Yee - Yea

5. Board Member Communications.

None.

Uncontested Items Calendar.

The EO asked that approval of uncontested items calendar as: Items 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12.

MOTION: Board member Madelyn Glickfeld to approve the uncontested calendar as items 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12.

Seconded by: Board member Lawrence Yee Motion carried: Approved unanimously by roll call vote.

Francine Diamond – Yea James Famiglietti - Yea Madelyn Glickfeld – Yea Cynthia Guzman - Yea Irma Muñoz - Yea Charles Stringer - Yea Lawrence Yee - Yea

13. Executive Officer's Report. (Presented by Executive Officer, Samuel Unger)

Report and Addendum Report was given to the Board. The Report was posted on the Board's website:

http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/losangeles

- 14. Enforcement Update. (Presented by Hugh Marley, Chief of Enforcement)
- 16. Public Forum.

Speakers:

- Mr. Bruce Hamamoto, L.A. County Public Works
- Ms. Gloria Crudgington, City of Monrovia
- Mr. Ray Tahir, TEC Environmental
- Mr. Thomas Lasswell, Representing himself
- Mr. Steve Dahlberg, Paradise Cove Land Co.
- Mr. Arthur Pugsley, L.A. Waterkeeper
- Mr. Richard Watson, CASQA LCC Watershed Group
- 17. Consideration of Adoption of tentative NPDES Permit for the City of Los Angeles Hyperion Treatment Plant.

Staff report was made by Ms. Cris Morris, Unit chief Municipal Permitting

Speaker cards:

- Ms. Becky Mitschele, USEPA
- Mr. Arthur Pugsley, L.A. Waterkeeper

MOTION: Board member Lawrence Yee made a motion to adopt the tentative NPDES Permit with Change Sheets.

Seconded by: Board member Fran Diamond Vote: Approved unanimously by Roll Call vote

Fran Diamond – Yea
James Famiglietti - Yea
Madelyn Glickfeld – Yea
Cynthia Guzman - Yea
Irma Muñoz – Yea
Charles Stringer – Yea
Lawrence Yee – Yea

(The Board went into closed session at 12:27 p.m, and reconvened at 2:03 p.m.)

18. Consideration of tentative Resolution to Authorize the Executive Officer to Sign the revised Memorandum of Understanding with the City of Malibu and the State Water Resources Control Board regarding the Implementation of the Basin Plan Amendment Prohibiting Onsite Wastewater Disposal Systems in the Malibu Civic Center Area.

Staff report was given by Dr. Eric Wu, Unit Chief Groundwater permitting. Speaker card:

- Ms. Reva Feldman, City of Malibu
- Mayor Lou La Monte, City of Malibu

MOTION: Board member Madelyn Glickfeld to adopt the tentative Resolution.

Seconded by: Board member Lawrence Yee Vote: Approved unanimously by Roll Call vote

Fran Diamond - Yea James Famiglietti - Yea Madelyn Glickfeld - Yea Cynthia Guzman - Yea Irma Muñoz - Yea Charles Stringer - Yea Lawrence Yee - Yea

19. Presentation on Salt and Nutrient Management Plans in the Los Angeles Region, and an update on other related groundwater activities.

onii R. Moffett

Staff presentation by Dr. Ginachi Amah.

The meeting adjourned at 3:24 p.m. (For more detailed information on any matter at our meetings, you may contact Ronji Moffett at (213) 576-6612 or email at: ronji.moffett@waterboards.ca.gov, and she may provide an Electronic copy of the transcript or audio, if available.)

Written and submitted by

then finalized on 160.3, 2017.