

	GAVIN NEWSOM GOVERNOR
0	JARED BLUMENFELD SECRETARY FOR ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board

TO: Los Angeles County MS4 Permittees and Interested Persons

FROM: Ivar Ridgeway for holyeway Storm Water Permitting Unit Chief

DATE: January 31, 2019

SUBJECT: NOTICE OF OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON REQUEST FOR TIME EXTENSION TO THE IMPLEMENTATION OF LOAD REDUCTION STRATEGIES FOR RIO HONDO; UPPER LOS ANGELES RIVER ENHANCED WATERSHED MANAGEMENT PROGRAM (NPDES PERMIT NO. CAS004001; ORDER NO. R4-2012-0175)

On January 3, 2018, the Los Angeles Water Board received a letter from the City of Pasadena on behalf of the County of Los Angeles and the cities of Alhambra, Montebello, Monterey Park, Rosemead, San Gabriel, San Marino, South El Monte, South Pasadena, and Temple City (Cities) requesting a time extension to complete implementation of Load Reduction Strategies (LRS) for the Rio Hondo, a tributary to the Los Angeles River. These LRS identify control measures that are included in the Upper Los Angeles River Enhanced Watershed Management Program.

Public Review

Concurrent with the review by Los Angeles Water Board staff, the Board is soliciting public comment on the request. The request and supporting documentation may be found on the Board's website at:

https://www.waterboards.ca.gov/losangeles/water_issues/programs/stormwater/municipal/index. html#2

Persons wishing to comment are invited to submit comments electronically as a PDF file to: losangeles@waterboards.ca.gov with the subject line "LA County MS4 Permit - Comments on Rio Hondo LRS Time Extension" with a copy to <u>lvar.Ridgeway@waterboards.ca.gov</u>. To be evaluated and considered by the Los Angeles Water Board Executive Officer, all written comments must be received by the Board by 5:00 p.m. on March 4, 2019. Late submittal of written comments will not be accepted or considered.

Please contact Mr. Ivar Ridgeway at (213) 620-2150 or <u>Ivar.Ridgeway@waterboards.ca.gov</u> with any questions regarding this matter.

IRMA MUÑOZ, CHAIR | DEBORAH SMITH, EXECUTIVE OFFICER