



Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board

TO:

Los Angeles County MS4 Permittees and Interested Persons

FROM:

Ivar Ridgeway In Kilgens

Storm Water Permitting Unit Chief

DATE:

April 5, 2019

SUBJECT:

NOTICE OF OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON PROPOSED

ALTERNATIVE BIOFILTRATION DESIGN SPECIFICATION PURSUANT TO PART VI.D.7.c.iii(1)(b)(i) OF THE LOS ANGELES COUNTY MUNICIPAL SEPARATE STORM SEWER SYSTEM (MS4) PERMIT (NPDES PERMIT NO.

CAS004001; ORDER NO. R4-2012-0175)

The Los Angeles Water Board has received letters from the City of Irwindale, City of La Canada Flintridge, and City of Rolling Hills requesting the use of an alternative biofiltration s

approval for the use of an alternative biofiltration design specification (Filterra) for project sites within their jurisdiction

Pursuant to Part VI.D.7.c.iii(1)(b)(i) of the Los Angeles County MS4 Permit, projects using biofiltration as an alternative compliance measure may use alternative design specifications for on-site biofiltration systems if approved by the Regional Water Board Executive Officer.

Public Review

Concurrent with the review by Los Angeles Water Board staff, the Board is soliciting public comment on the City's request. The request and supporting documentation submitted by the City may be found on the Board's website at:

https://www.waterboards.ca.gov/losangeles/water_issues/programs/stormwater/municipal/index.html#2

Persons wishing to comment are invited to submit comments electronically as a PDF file to: losangeles@waterboards.ca.gov with the subject line "LA County MS4 Permit - Comments on Alternative Biofiltration Design (Rolling Hills)" with a copy to lvar.Ridgeway@waterboards.ca.gov. To be evaluated and considered by the Los Angeles Water Board Executive Officer, all written comments must be received by the Board by 5:00 p.m. on May 6, 2019. Late submittal of written comments will not be accepted or considered.

Please contact Mr. Ivar Ridgeway at (213) 620-2150 or Ivar.Ridgeway@waterboards.ca.gov with any questions regarding this matter.

IRMA MUÑOZ, CHAIR | DEBORAH SMITH, EXECUTIVE OFFICER

