
 

 

 

Mandatory Water Conservation  

Regulation Go Into Effect 

 

 

An emergency regulation to increase conservation practices for all Californians became effective 

July 29, 2014.  The new conservation regulation targets outdoor urban water use.  In some areas 

of the State, 50 percent or more of daily water use is for lawns and outdoor landscaping. This 

regulation establishes the minimum level of activity that residents, businesses and water suppliers 

must meet as the drought deepens and will be in effect for 270 days unless extended or repealed.   

 

Prohibitions for ALL urban water users in California: 

 The application of potable water to any driveway or sidewalk.  

 Using potable water to water outdoor landscapes in a manner that causes runoff to adjacent 
property, non-irrigated areas, private and public walkways, roadways, parking lots or 
structures.  

 Using a hose that dispenses potable water to wash a motor vehicle, unless the hose is fitted 
with a shut-off nozzle. 

 Using potable water in a fountain or decorative water feature, unless the water is 
recirculated. Recycled water is not mandated, but encouraged for fountain use. 

 

Requirements for Urban Water Suppliers (serving >3000 connections): 

 Implement water shortage contingency plans to a level where restrictions on outdoor 

irrigation are mandatory.  

 Urban water suppliers without a plan, or without an adequate plan, must either mandate that 

outdoor irrigation be reduced to no more than twice a week or implement other mandatory 

use restrictions that provide a comparable level of savings. 

 Report monthly water production beginning August 15.  Include an estimate of the gallons 

per capita per day used by residential customers beginning with the October 15 report. 

 

Requirements for Other Water Suppliers (serving <3000 connections): 

 Mandate that outdoor irrigation be reduced to no more than twice a week or implement 

other mandatory use restrictions that provide a comparable level of savings. 

 

 

http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/waterrights/water_issues/programs/drought/emergency_regulations_waterconservation.shtml


 

 

 

Assessing Compliance 

 Individual Prohibitions – evaluating alleged violations and taking enforcement action is 

primarily a local discretionary action. 

 Water Suppliers – compliance will be evaluated based on multiple factors including 

implementation of the required actions, the content of the monthly reports (Urban Water 

Suppliers), and other relevant information. 

  

Tips for Implementing the New Regulations 

 Notify and educate staff, ratepayers and the community at large about the prohibitions. 

 Inform ratepayers of the requirements of the stage of the Water Shortage Contingency Plan 

required by the regulations. 

 Access the water conservation resources clearinghouse, a partnership of the State of 

California and the Association of California Water Agencies at either 

http://www.saveourh2o.org/ or http://saveourwater.com/      

 

Contact Information 

 Report State Agency water waste at http://www.saveourh2o.org/report-water-waste  

 Contact the State Water Board’s drought hotline for questions on drought-related activities 
including general questions on the emergency regulations: (916) 341-5342. 

 

 

More information on the emergency regulation can be found at the Conservation Regulation Portal.  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(This fact sheet was last updated July 29, 2014) 
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