State of California
Office of Administrative Law

In re: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY
State Water Resources Control Board ACTION
Regulatory Action:

Government Code Section 11349.3
Title 22, California Code of Regulations

Adopt sections: 64300, 64305, 64310, OAL Matter Number: 2017-0316-01

64315
Amend sections: :
Repeal sections: OAL Matter Type: Regular Resubmittal (SR)

The State Water Resources Control Board in this resubmittal (2016-1115-018) is
adopting three sections in title 22 of the California Code of Regulations. These new
regulations establish a fee schedule for annual fees that must be paid by all public water
systems. The regulations establish how the fee will be calculated and the due date for
the payment of the fees. Additionally, these regulations provide that water systems
serving disadvantaged communities may receive a reduction in the annual fee.

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government
Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 4/10/2017.

Date:  April 10, 2017 L
gy4. Gibson

Senior Attorney
For: Debra M. Cornez
Director

Original: Thomas Howard
Copy:  Catherine Ewing
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Drinking Water Fee Regulations
Public Water Systems

Add Chapter 14.5, Division 4, Title 22 California Code of Regulations.

Chapter 14.5. Fees.

Article 1. Public Water System Annual Fees.

Add Section 64300

Section 64300. Definitions.

As used in this article:

(@ "Disadvantaged community" means a community with a median annual
household income of less than eighty percent (80 %) of the statewide median annual
household income. '

(b) "Wholesaler" means a public water system that sells water to other public water
systems. A public water system that has 1,000 or more service connections or that
sells water only on a short-term or intermittent basis is not a wholesaler.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 116271, 116350, 116375, and 116565, Health and
Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 116565 and 116590, Health and Safety Code.

Add Section 64305.
Section 64305. Fee Schedule for Annual Fees

(a) Each public water system shall pay an annual fee to the State Board in the amount
provided in Table 64305-A.



TABLE 64305-A — Public Water Systems Annual Fee

- Water System Type Fee
Community Water System
100 or fewer service connections ~$250.00 or $6.00 per service

connection, whichever is greater.

100 or fewer service connections
(disadvantaged community)

$100.00

101 to 1,000 service connections

- $6.00 per service connection

101 to 1,000 service connections
(disadvantaged community)

$100 plus $2.00 per each service
connection greater than 100

1,001 to 5,000 service connections

$6.00 per each of first 1,000 service
connections plus $3.50 per each
service connection greater than 1,000

1,001 to 5,000 service connections
(disadvantaged community) '

$100 plus $2.00 per each service
connection greater than 100

5,001 to 15,000 service connections

' $6.00 per each of first 1,000 service

connections plus $3.50 per each

| service connection greater than 1,000

but less than 5,001 plus $2.00 per
each service connection greater than
5,000 o

5,001 to 15,000 service connections
(disadvantaged community)

$100 plus $2.00 per each service

_connection greater than 100

15,001 or more service connections

$6.00 per each of first 1,000 service
connections plus $3.50 per each

| service connection greater than 1,000

but less than 5,001 plus $2.00 per
each service connection greater than
5,000 but less than 15,001 plus $1.35
per each service connection greater
than 15,000

15,001 or more service connections
(disadvantaged community)

$100 plus $2.00 per each service
connection greater than 100 but less
than 15,001 plus $1.35 per each
service connection greater than 15,000

Non‘tra'nsient Noncommunity Water System

$2.00 per person served, but not less
than $456.00. ‘

Transient Noncommunity Water System

$800.00.

Wholesaler

$6,000.00 plus $1.36 per each MG’

' “Million Gallons” means the annual average, rounded to the nearest million, as reported to the State

Board by the wholesaler for the three most recent years of data available, of the total gallons of water that
the wholesaler produced from surface water and from groundwater and gallons of finished water that the

wholesaler purchased or received from another public water system.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 116271, 116350, 116375, and 116565, Health and

Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 116565 and 116590, Health and Safety Code.




Add Section 64310.

Section 64310. Reduction of Fees for Public Water Systems Serving Disadvantaged
Community.

(a) A public water system must pay the full amount of the annual fee unless it
requests and receives from the State Board a determination that its annual fees are
reduced because it is a community water system that serves a disadvantaged
community in which case the fee to be paid is the amount for a disadvantaged
community as shown in Table 64305-A.

(b) To qualify for. the reduction provided for in subsection (a), a public water system
must certify, and provide documentation to the State Board upon request, that it serves
a disadvantaged community.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 116271, 116350, 116375, and 116565, Health and
Safety Code.

'Reference: Sections 116565 and 116590, Health and Safety Code.

Add Section 64315.

Section 64315. Payment of Fees

(a)  Each fee required by this chapter shall be paid to the State Board within forty five
(45) calendar days of the date of the invoice, except that this date may be extended by
the State Board for good cause, wh:ch shall be determined at the State Board's sole
discretion.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 116271, 116350, 116375, and 116565, Health and
Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 116565 and 116590, Health and Safety Code.



