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Water Boards

MattHEw RooRiguez
SECRETARY FOR

Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board

September 24, 2014

Ms. Brandyn Hancocks VIA CERTIFIED MAIL
Golden State Water Company RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED
Chadron Plant CLAIM NO. 7012 3460 0000 2166 3621

14401 South Chadron Avenue
Hawthorne, CA 90250

Eva G. Tang VIA CERTIFIED MAIL
Agent for Service of Process RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED
630 Foothill Boulevard CLAIM NO. 7012 3460 0000 9485 7673

San Dimas, CA 91773

SETTLEMENT OFFER NO. R4-2014-0177: OFFER TO PARTICIPATE IN THE
EXPEDITED PAYMENT PROGRAM RELATING TO VIOLATIONS OF THE NPDES
PERMIT FOR THE GOLDEN STATE WATER COMPANY, CHADRON PLANT, 14401
SOUTH CHADRON AVENUE, HAWTHORNE, CA (ORDER NO. R4-2013-0042, NPDES
PERMIT NO. CAG834001, Cl NO. 9330)

Dear Ms. Hancocks:

This letter is to notify the Golden State Water Company (hereinafter “Permittee or “you”) of
alleged violations of the California Water Code identified in the State Water Resources
Control Board’s water quality data system and to allow the Permittee to participate in the
Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board's (Regional Board) Expedited Payment
Program for Effluent and/or Reporting Violations (Expedited Payment Program) to address
mandatory minimum penalties that must be assessed pursuant to California Water Code
sections 13385 and 13385.1.

NOTICE OF VIOLATION:

Based on information in the California Integrated Water Quality System (CIWQS) as of
September 24, 2014, the Regional Board alleges that the Permittee has violated the effluent
limitations, reporting violations, or California Water Code provisions identified in the Notice
of Violation (NOV) attached as Exhibit “1”. The Permittee will have the opportunity to
address the alleged violations as discussed below.

STATUTORY LIABILITY:

Subdivisions (h) and (i) of California Water Code section 13385 require the assessment of a
mandatory minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for specified serious and
chronic effluent limit and reporting violations. For the purposes of subdivision (h) of section
13385, failure to file a discharge monitoring report required pursuant to sections 13383 for
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each complete period of 30 days following the deadline for submitting the report constitutes
a serious violation. The Permittee is also subject to discretionary administrative civil
liabilities of up to ten thousand dollars ($10,000) for each day in which the violation occurs,
plus ten dollars ($10) for each gallon discharged but not cleaned up in excess of 1,000
gallons. These mandatory minimum penalties and discretionary administrative civil liabilities
may be assessed by the Regional Board beginning with the date that the violations first
occurred.” The formal enforcement action that the Regional Board uses to assess such
liability is an administrative civil liability complaint, although the Regional Board may instead
refer such matters to the Attorney General's Office for prosecution. If referred to the
Attorney General for prosecution, the Superior Court may assess up to twenty-five thousand
dollars ($25,000) per violation. In addition, the Superior Court may assess up to twenty-five
dollars ($25) per gallon discharged but not cleaned up in excess of 1,000 gallons.

OFFER TO PARTICIPATE IN EXPEDITED PAYMENT PROGRAM:

The Permittee can avoid the issuance of a formal enforcement action and settle the alleged
violations identified in the attached NOV by participating in the Regional Board's Expedited

Payment Program. Details of the proposed settlement are described below and addressed
in the enclosed documents.

To promote resolution of these violations, the Regional Board makes this Conditional Offer.
The Permittee may accept this offer, waive the Permittee’s right to a hearing, and pay the
mandatory minimum penalty of $3,000 for the violations described in the NOV. If the
Permittee elects to do so, subject to the conditions below, the Regional Board will accept
that payment in settlement of any enforcement action that would otherwise arise out of the
violations identified in the NOV. Accordingly, the Regional Board will forego issuance of a
formal administrative complaint, will not refer the violations to the Attorney General, and will
waive its right to seek additional discretionary civil liabilities for the violations identified in the
NOV.

The Expedited Payment Program does not address or resolve liability for any violation that
is not specifically identified in the NOV regardless of the date that the violation occurred.

PERMITTEE'S OPTIONS FOR RESPONSE TO OFFER:

If you accept this offer, please complete and return the enclosed “Acceptance of Conditional
Resolution and Waiver of Right to Hearing; (proposed) Order” (Acceptance and Waiver) on
or before October 24, 2014.

If the Permittee chooses to contest any of the violations alleged in the NOV, please identify
the specific violation and the basis for the challenge (factual error, affirmative defense, etc.)
on or before the due date specified above.

Please note that there are no statutes of limitation that apply to administrative proceedings to assess mandatory
minimum penalties. See City of Oakland v. Public Employees’ Retirement System, (2002) 95 Cal.App.4th 29, 48; 3
Witkin, Cal. Procedure (4th ed. 1996) Actions, §405(2), p. 510.) Additionally, the State Water Resources Control
Board had determined that the equitable doctrine of laches does not apply to mandatory minimum penalties. (State
Water Board Order Nos. 2013-0053, 2013-0054, 2013-0055, 2013-0099.)
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Responses contesting any of the violations alleged in the NOV shall be submitted as a pdf
via email or CD to Mr. Jim Covin, jim.covin@waterboards.ca.gov, (213) 576-6614, and
submitted by you under penalty of perjury.

The Regional Board staff will evaluate the contested violation and take one of two actions:

1) The Regional Board staff will determine that the violation is not supported,
expunge the alleged violation from the CIWQS database, take no further action
against the Permittee for the alleged violation, and notify the Permittee of that
determination. The Permittee will be given thirty (30) days from the date of
receipt of the Regional Board staff determination to complete and return the
Acceptance and Waiver for the remainder of the violations; or

2) The Regional Board staff will determine that the alleged violation is meritorious,
and will notify the Permittee of that determination. The Permittee will be given
thirty (30) days from the date of receipt of the Regional Board staff determination
to complete and return the Acceptance and Waiver.

If the Permittee chooses not to make a payment in response to the Regional Board staff's
determination, the Permittee should expect to be contacted regarding formal enforcement
action that will be initiated with regard to the contested violations. In a formal enforcement
action, the liability amount sought and/or imposed may exceed the liability amount set forth
in this Conditional Offer. Moreover, the cost of enforcement is a factor that can be
considered in assessing the liability amount.

CONDITIONS FOR REGIONAL BOARD ACCEPTANCE OF RESOLUTION:

Federal regulations require the Regional Board to publish and allow the public thirty (30)
days to comment on any settlement of an enforcement action addressing NPDES permit
violations (40 C.F.R. section 123.27(d)(2)(iii)). Upon receipt of the Permittee’'s Acceptance

and Waiver, the Regional Board staff will publish a notice of the proposed resolution of the
violations.

If no comments are received within the 30-day comment period, and unless there are new
material facts that become available to the Regional Board, the Regional Board Executive
Officer will execute the Acceptance and Waiver as a stipulated order assessing the

uncontested mandatory minimum penalty amount pursuant to Water Code sections 13385
and 13385.1.

If, however, significant comments are received in opposition to the settlement, this offer may
be withdrawn. In that case, the Permittee’s waiver pursuant to the Acceptance and Waiver
will also be treated as withdrawn. In that case, the violations will be addressed in a liability
assessment proceeding. At the liability assessment hearing the Permittee will be free to
make arguments as to any of the alleged violations, and the Permittee’s agreement to
accept this conditional offer will not in any way be binding or used as evidence against the
Permittee. The Permittee will be provided with further information on the liability assessment
proceeding.
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In the event the Acceptance and Waiver is executed by the Regional Board Executive
Officer, full payment of the assessed amount shall be due within thirty (30) calendar days
after the date the Acceptance and Waiver is executed. In accordance with California Water
Code section 13385(n)(1) and California Water Code section 13385.1(c)(1), funds collected
for violations of effluent limitations and reporting requirements pursuant to section 13385
and 13385.1 shall be deposited in the State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement
Account. Accordingly, the $3,000 liability shall be paid by cashiers or certified check made
out to the “State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account”. Failure to pay the full
penalty within the required time period may subject the Permittee to further liability.

Should you have any questions about this Conditional Offer or Notice of Violation, please
contact Enforcement Unit staff Mr. Jim Covin at (213) 576-6614 or at
jim.covin@waterboards.ca.gov regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Paula Rasm ssen'
Assistant Executive Officer

Enclosures:
Exhibit “1” - Notice of Violation

Acceptance of Conditional Resolution and Waiver of Right to Hearing; (proposed)
Order

cc: (via email)
Mayumi Okamoto, Office of Enforcement, State Water Resources Control Board



Settlement Offer No. R4-2014-0177 EXHIBIT "1" - NOTICE OF VIOLATION Golden State Water Company-Chadron Plant

Effluent Limit Violations Cl No. 9330
Monitoring ‘e | Reported Permit . ' Pollutant % ' Serious/ Wiater _Code
Date . Violation Type = Parameter ... | Units ‘ . Section | Penalty
Period Value Limit Category ‘ Exceeded Chronic 13385 :
03/31/14| 1st Quarter 2014 | Monthly Average  Lead ; 36 21 | pgl | 1 j ~ 71%  Serious  (h)1 | $3,000
] IR | | T | ] | Total $3,000




Settlement Offer No. R4-2014-0177
Cl No. 9330, NPDES Permit No. CAG834001

ACCEPTANCE OF CONDITIONAL RES( RESOLUTION
AND WAIVER OF RIGHT TO HEARING; (prof (proposed) ORDER

Golden State Water Company
Settlement Offer No. R4-2014-0177
NPDES Permit No. CAG834001

By signing below and retumning this Acceptance of Conditional Resolution and Waiver of Right to
Hearing (Acceptance and Waiver) to the Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board
(Regional Board), the Golden State Water Company (Permittee) hereby accepts the “Offer to
Participate in Expedited Payment Program” and waives the right to a hearing before the Regional
Board to dispute the allegations of violations described in the Notice of Violation (NOV), which is
attached hereto as Exhibit “1" and incorporated herein by reference.

The Permitiee agrees that the NOV shail serve as a complaint pursuant to Article 2.5 of the
California Water Code and that no separate complaint is required for the Regional Board to assert
jurisdiction over the alleged violations through its Chief Prosecutor. The Permittee agrees to pay .
the penalties required by California Water Code section 13385, in the sum of $3,000 (Expedited

. Payment Amount), which shall be deemed payment in full of any civil liability pursuant to Water

Code sections 13385 and 13385.1 that otherwise might be assessed for the violations described
in the NOV. The Permittee understands that this Acceptance and Waiver waives its right to
contest the allegations in the NOV and the amount of civil liability for such violations.

The Permittee understands that this Acceptance and Waiver does not address or resalve liability
for any violation that is not specifically identified in the NOV.

Upon execution by the Permittee, the completed Acceptance and Waiver shall be returned to:

Jim Covin, Enforcement Unit

Expedited Payment Program

Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board
320 West 4™ Street, Suite 200

Los Angeles, California 80013

The Permittee understands that federal regulations set forth at title 40, Code of Federal
Regulations, section 123.27(d)(2)(iii) require the Regional Board to publish notice of and provide
at least thirty (30) days for public comment on any proposed resolution of an enforcement action
addressing NPDES permit violations. Accordingly, this Acceptance and Waiver, prior to execution
by the Regional Board Executive Officer, will be published as required by law for public
comment.

if no comments are received within the notice period that causes the Regional Board Executive
Officer to question the Expedited Payment Amount, the Regional Board Executive Officer will

"execute the Acceptance and Waiver.
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CI No. 9330, NPDES Permit No. CAG834001

The Permittee understands that if significant comments are received in opposition to the
Expedited Payment Amount, the offer on behalf of the Regional Board to resolve the violations
set forth in the NOV may be withdrawn. in that circumstance, the Permittee will be advised of
the withdrawat and an administrative civil liability complaint may be issued and the matter may
be set for a hearing before the Regional Board. For such a liability hearing, the Permittee
understands that this Acceptance and Waiver executed by the Permittee will be treated as a
settlement communication and will not be used as evidence in that hearing.

" The Permittee further understands that once the Acceptance and Waiver is executed by the
Regional Board Executive Officer, the full payment required by the deadline set forth below is a
condition of this Acceptance and Waiver. in accordance with California Water Code section
13385(n)(1) and California Water Code section 13385.1(c)(1), funds collected for violations of
-effluent fimitations and reporting requirements pursuant to sections 13385 and 13385.1 shall be
deposited in the State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account. Accordingly, the
$3,000 liability shall be paid by a cashiers or ceriified check made out to the “State Water
Poilution Cleanup and Abatement Account”. The payment must be submitted to the State Water
Resources Control Board no later than thirty (30) calendar days after the date the Acceptance and
Waiver is executed by the Regional Board Executive Officer.

Please mail check to:

State Water Resources Control Board

Re: Order No. R4-2014-0177

Division of Administrative Services, Accountmg Branch
1001 | Street, 18" Floor, [95814]

P.O. Box 1888

Sacramento, California 95812-1888

! hereby affirm that | am duly authorized to act on behalf of and to bind the Permittee in the
making and giving of this Acceptance and Waiver.

Golden State Water Company

By: w’i/ Crdaber D 2o/Y

(Signed Name) (Date)
OAW@? C}l-&i hg V;‘Cé/' Fresident”
(Printed or typed name) (- (Title)

IT IS SO ORDERED PURSUANT TO CALIFORNIA WATER CODE SECTION 13385

Date:

By:

Samuel Unger, P.E.
Executive Officer



