
                      

CALIFORNIA REGIONAL WATER QUALITY CONTROL BOARD 
SAN FRANCISCO BAY REGION 

 
Complaint No. R2-2008-0068 

 
Mandatory Minimum Penalty 

In the Matter of 
          Mr. Cuong Chon Huynh 

Pete’s Stop 
 290 Keyes Street, San Jose 

Santa Clara County 
 
The Assistant Executive Officer of the California Regional Water Quality Control Board, San 
Francisco Bay Region (hereinafter the “Water Board”), hereby gives notice that: 

 
1. This Mandatory Minimum Penalties (MMP) complaint is issued to Mr. Cuong 

Chon Huynh, owner and operator of Pete’s Stop (hereinafter Discharger). This 
complaint is issued pursuant to Water Code Sections 13385(h), 13385(i), 13385.l, 
and 13323. 

 
2. This complaint proposes $48,000 in MMPs. The complaint is based on a finding of 

the Discharger’s violations of Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 01-100 
(NPDES No. CAG912002) for the period between April 1, 2005, and September 
30, 2006, as detailed below. For a description of how MMPs are assessed, please 
see General Overview of MMP Calculations, attached. 

 
a. Permit at the time of violations 
 On September 19, 2001, the California Regional Water Quality Control Board, San 

Francisco Bay Region (Water Board) adopted Order No. 01-100 to regulate discharges of 
waste from facilities discharging extracted groundwater treated to remove fuels-related 
chemicals. This permit is known as the Fuels General Permit. The Discharger obtained 
coverage under the Fuels General Permit on April 28, 2003. 

 
b. Effluent Limitations  
 Order No. 01-100 specifies the following effluent limitations: 
 
 Parameter      Effluent Limit 
 Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPHg) daily maximum 50 ug/L 

Benzene     daily maximum  1 ug/L 
Toluene     daily maximum  5 ug/L 
Ethylbenzene     daily maximum  5 ug/L 
MTBE      daily maximum  5 ug/L 
Xylene      daily maximum  5 ug/L 

 
 
 
 

    



c. Water Board Staff’s Consideration of Violations 
 This complaint addresses eleven effluent limits violations and five reporting violations 

for late submittal of the 2nd Quarter 2006 Self-Monitoring Report.  
 

The Discharger violated the effluent limits of the above-named parameters between May 
19, 2006, and August 14, 2006, as set forth in the Attachment A hereto, which is 
incorporated herein by this reference. Breakthrough in the granular activated carbon 
(GAC) vessel had caused the eleven effluent violations.  
 
The $48,000 minimum penalty is sufficient to address these violations for the following 
reasons: 
• The Discharger is a small business owner. 
• The Discharger has terminated its discharge to surface waters and has been 
discharging to the sanitary sewer since January 2008. 
 
Concurrent with this MMP complaint, the Water Board issued on August 11, 2008, 
Administrative Civil Liability Complaint No. R2-2008-0052. Complaint No. R2-2008-
0052 proposes a fine in the amount of $25,000 for submitting late and incomplete 
quarterly groundwater and soil vapor extraction monitoring reports as required by 
Cleanup and Abatement Order No. R2-2005-0023. 

  
d. Amount of MMPs 
 
 Benzene, toluene, xylene, MTBE, and TPHg are Group II pollutants. Serious violations 

for Group II pollutants are those that exceed the limitations by more than 20%.  The 
eleven effluent violations are serious because they exceeded the effluent limitations of the 
Fuels General Permit by more than 20%; therefore, they are each subject to the statutory 
minimum $3,000, for a total of $33,000. 

 
 Late submittal (by 30 days or more) of monitoring reports is also considered a serious 

violation pursuant to Water Code Section 13385.1. Each full 30-day increment a report is 
late counts as a violation. The 2nd Quarter Self-Monitoring Report 2006 that was due on 
August 14, 2006, was submitted on February 7, 2007. Therefore, there were five full 30-
day increments for which this report was late, for a total of $15,000. 

 
 For these violations, the Discharger is subject to a total of $48,000 in MMPs. 

 
3. Based on the above, the Assistant Executive Officer proposes that the Discharger be assessed 

MMPs in the total amount of $48,000. 
 

4. The Water Board will hold a hearing on this complaint on October 8, 2008, unless the 
Discharger waives the right to a hearing by signing the included waiver and checks the 
appropriate box.  By doing so, the Discharger agrees to pay the full penalty as stated above 
within 30 days after the signed waiver becomes effective. 

 

  



  

5. The signed waiver will become effective on the day after the public comment period for this 
Complaint is closed, provided that there are no significant public comments on this 
Complaint during the public comment period. If there are significant public comments, the 
Assistant Executive Officer may withdraw the Complaint and reissue it as appropriate. 

 
6. If a hearing is held, the Water Board may impose an administrative civil liability in the 

amount proposed or for a different amount; decline to seek civil liability; or refer the matter 
to the Attorney General to have a Superior Court consider imposition of a penalty. 
 
 
 
 
          

______________________ 
Dyan C. Whyte 
Assistant Executive Officer 
 
August 11, 2008________ 
Date 
 
 

Attachments: Table 1, Violations 
Waiver 
General Overview of MMP Calculations 

 



                       

Table 1 – VIOLATIONS 
 

Item Date of Violation Effluent Limitation Described Effluent 
Limit Reported Value Type of 

Violations1 Penalty Start of 180 
Days2 

1 5/19/2006 TPHg  effluent daily maximum 
(ug/L) 50 1400 C6, S $3,000 11/20/2005 

2 5/19/2006 benzene effluent daily maximum 
(ug/L) 1 520 C6, S $3,000 11/20/2005 

3 5/19/2006 toluene effluent daily maximum 
(ug/L) 5 68 C6, S $3,000 11/20/20056 

4 5/19/2006 Ethylbenzene effluent daily 
maximum (ug/L) 5 25 C6, S $3,000 11/20/2005 

5 5/19/2006 MTBE effluent daily maximum 
(ug/L) 5 2100 C6, S $3,000 11/20/2005 

6 5/19/2006 Xylene effluent daily maximum 
(ug/L) 5 180 C6, S $3,000 11/20/2005 

7 6/21/2006 MTBE effluent daily maximum 
(ug/L) 5 25 C7, S $3,000 12/23/2005 

8 7/19/2006 MTBE effluent daily maximum 
(ug/L) 5 110 C8, S $3,000 1/20/2006 

9 7/19/2006 TPHg effluent daily maximum 
(ug/L) 50 62 C9, S $3,000 1/20/2006 

10 8/14/2006 MTBE effluent daily maximum 
(ug/L) 5 470 C10, S $3,000 2/15/2006 

11 8/14/2006 TPHg effluent daily maximum 
(ug/L) 50 150 C11, S $3,000 2/15/2006 

12 8/14/2006 Late Reporrt 2nd Quarter 2006 
Five full 30-day increment late     S $15,000 2/15/2006 

  TOTAL    $48,000  
 

1  C = Count – The number that follows represents the number of violations the Discharger has had in the past 180 days, including this violation.  C4 or 
higher means that a penalty under Water Code Section 13385(i) applies. 
S = Serious, which means that a penalty under Water Code Section 13385(h) applies. 

2  This column documents the start date for counting violations that have occurred within the past 180 days,  for the purpose of determining whether a 
penalty under Water Code Section 13385(i) applies.

    



    
 

WAIVER 
 

If you waive your right to a hearing, the matter will be included on the agenda of a Water Board 
meeting but there will be no hearing on the matter, unless a) the Water Board staff receives 
significant public comment during the comment period, or b) the Water Board determines it will 
hold a hearing because it finds that new and significant information has been presented at the 
meeting that could not have been submitted during the public comment period.  If you waive 
your right to a hearing but the Water Board holds a hearing under either of the above 
circumstances, you will have a right to testify at the hearing notwithstanding your waiver. Your 
waiver is due no later than September 10, 2008. 
 

 Waiver of the right to a hearing and agreement to make payment in full. 
By checking the box, I agree to waive my right to a hearing before the Water Board 
with regard to the violations alleged in this Complaint and to remit the full penalty 
payment to the State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account, c/o Regional 
Water Quality Control Board at 1515 Clay Street, Oakland, CA 94612, within 30 
days after the Water Board meeting for which this matter is placed on the agenda. I 
understand that I am giving up my right to be heard, and to argue against the 
allegations made by the Assistant Executive Officer in this Complaint, and against the 
imposition of, or the amount of, the civil liability proposed unless the Water Board 
holds a hearing under either of the circumstances described above. If the Water Board 
holds such a hearing and imposes a civil liability, such amount shall be due 30 days 
from the date the Water Board adopts the order imposing the liability 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

_____________________________    ________________________________ 
Name (print)      Signature 

 
_____________________________    _______________________________  
  Date      Title/Organization

  



Pete’s Stop, R2-2008-0068 
    
 
General Overview of Mandatory Minimum Penalty (MMP) Calculations 
 
The Water Board is required by State law to assess MMPs for certain types of permit 
violations from point-source facilities. These complaints are issued by the Water 
Board Executive Officer, and the MMPs are finalized in a public hearing before the 
Water Board, unless the Discharger decides to waive their right to the hearing.   This 
is an overview of the general process for determining which violations are subject to 
MMPs, the amount of penalty the complaint will assess, and the portion of the penalty 
the Discharger may apply towards an environmental project.  This procedure is the 
same for all facilities to which the MMP laws apply. 
 

A. State law requires a $3,000 minimum penalty for all serious violations, 
and requires a $3,000 penalty for any sort of violation, if it is the 4th or 
greater violation within a running 6-month period. 
Even though a specific violation may fit into both of the above categories, 
under the MMP laws, any one violation may only be assessed $3,000. 

   
B. State law requires a penalty for serious violations. 

The Water Board must assess an MMP of $3,000 for each serious violation, 
per Water Code Section 13385(h)(1).  A “serious violation” is defined as any 
waste discharge of a Group I pollutant that exceeds the effluent limitation 
contained in the applicable waste discharge requirements by 40 percent or 
more, or any waste discharge of a Group II pollutant that exceeds the effluent 
limitation by 20 percent or more, per Water Code Section 13385(h)(2).  
Pollutants are assigned to Group I or Group II by federal regulations, and the 
MMP complaint specifies to which group each violation belongs.  The full lists 
of Group I and Group II violations are defined in Section 123.45 of Title 40 of 
the Code of Federal Regulations.  Additionally, the late submittal (by 30 days 
or more) of monitoring reports is also considered a serious violation, per Water 
Code Section 13385.1.  Each full 30-day increment a report is late counts as a 
violation. 

 
C. State law requires a penalty for 4th or higher violation within last six 

months. 
The Water Board must assess an MMP of $3,000 for each violation, in a 
running six-month period, per Water Code Section 13385(i), if the Discharger 
does any of the following four or more times: 
1. Violates a waste discharge requirement effluent limitation. 
2. Fails to file a report pursuant to Section 13260. 
3. Files an incomplete report pursuant to Section 13260. 
4. Violates a toxicity discharge limitation contained in the applicable waste 

discharge requirements where the waste discharge requirements do not 
contain pollutant-specific effluent limitations for toxic pollutants. 

 
The first three violations (meeting any of 1-4 above) occurring within a six 
month period do not trigger the $3,000 penalty. Also, the running six-month 
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period is counted backwards from each individual violation considered. For 
example, to determine whether a violation that occurred on August 1st was 
subject to a penalty, you would count how many other violations had occurred 
since February 1st of the same year.  If there had been at least three other 
violations in that period, the August 1st violation would be subject to a $3,000 
penalty. 
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