FEE SCHEDULE FOR CLEAN WATER ACT SECTION 401 

WATER QUALITY CERTIFICATION

Pursuant to a memorandum from the State Water Resources Control Board dated 2/23/94, the following are the fees for Regional Board, water quality certification and waivers.  The authority for issuance of water quality certification is found in the Clean Water Act Section 401(a)(1).  Water quality certification may be waived for projects involving less than two acres of fill or less than 50,000 cubic yards of dredging.  The fees for waiver or certification are listed below.

1. Waiver of Water Quality Certification for fill (up to 2 acres):

· Processing Cost of $50/hr (staff costs) up to a maximum of $1000/acre

· Minimum waiver fee is $500

2. Water Quality Certification for fill:

· One acre or less, flat fee is $500

· More than one acre, $1000 per acre or part thereof, up to a maximum of $10,000

3. Fees for Dredging (waiver or certification):

· Less than 10,000 cubic yards, flat fee of $500

· 10,000 to 20,000 cubic yards, flat fee of $1000

· More than 20,000 cubic yards, $2000 plus $250 for each additional 5,000 cubic yards or part thereof (up to a maximum of $10,000)

The authority to collect fees is found in the California Code of Regulations, Section 3833(b).  The fee schedule for discharges of dredged and fill material is found in California Code of regulations, Title 23, Section 2200.  Section 2200(h) provides authority to charge for issuing waivers of certification at the rate of $50.00 per hour of staff time invested

Make checks payable to State Water Resources Control Board (SWRCB).

Send payment to:  San Francisco Bay Regional Water Quality Control Board



        Attention:  Water Quality Certification



        1515 Clay Street, Suite 1400

        Oakland, CA 94612 

