Public Comment Phase II Small MS4 General Permit Deadline: 9/8/11 by 12:00 noon



COUNTY OF RIVERSIDE

TRANSPORTATION AND LAND MANAGEMENT AGENCY

Transportation Department



Juan C. Perez, P.E., T.E. Director of Transportation

August 8, 2011 Submitted via email to commentletters@waterboards.ca.gov

Ms. Jeanine Townsend Clerk to the Board State Water Resources Control Board P.O. Box 100 Sacramento, CA 95812-2000



Subject: Draft Statewide Phase II Small MS4 General National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permit

Dear Ms. Townsend:

The Riverside County Transportation Department (Transportation Department) appreciates the opportunity to comment on the Draft General National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permit For Storm Water Discharges From Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s) (Tentative Order).

Riverside County falls under the jurisdiction of three Regional Water Quality Control Boards (Regional Boards)—the Santa Ana, San Diego and Colorado River Regional Boards. As such, Riverside County is subject to three differing interpretations of the stormwater regulations, and would be subject to three differing interpretations of the Tentative Order. This variability in climate, rainfall, and regulatory governance in each of these areas, as well as local experience with widely varying water quality data uniquely positions the Riverside County Permittees to comment on certain aspects of the Tentative Order.

The Tentative Order identifies the following small traditional MS4s in Riverside County:

Colorado River Region

- Banning City
- Bermuda Dunes CDP
- Blythe City
- Cathedral City
- Coachella City
- Desert Hot Springs City
- Desert Palms City
- Garnet CDP

4080 Lemon Street, 8th Floor • Riverside, California 92501 • (951) 955-6740 P.O. Box 1090 • Riverside, California 92502-1090 • FAX (951) 955-3198

- Indio City
- La Quinta City
- Mecca CDP
- Oasis CDP
- Palm Desert City
- Thousand Palms CDP

With the exception of Blythe, all of the cities listed are permittees on the Whitewater River Region Phase I MS4 permit. In addition, with the exception of Mecca and Oasis, all of the Census Designated Places (CDPs) in the Colorado River Region are unincorporated areas of Riverside County within the Phase I MS4 permit area. Riverside County is also a permittee on the Whitewater River Region Phase I MS4 Permit and is working with the Colorado River Regional Water Quality Control Board to include Mecca and Oasis under the Whitewater River Region Phase I MS4 permit. It is our understanding that the Colorado River Region is coordinating with the State Board to eliminate the CDPs that are covered under the Phase I MS4 permit from the Tentative Order.

Santa Ana Region

- Corona City
- East Hemet CDP
- Eastvale CDP
- El Sobrante CDP
- Glen Avon, CDP
- Good Hope CDP
- Home Gardens CDP
- Lake Matthews CDP
- Lakeland Village CDP
- Mead Valley CDP
- Mira Loma CDP
- Nuevo CDP
- Pedley CDP
- Rubidoux CDP
- Sunnyslope CDP
- Temescal Valley CDP
- Valle Vista CDP
- Woodcrest CDP

The City of Corona is a permittee in the Santa Ana Region Phase I MS4 permit and all of the CDPs listed are located in the Phase I permit area. The cities of of Eastvale and Jurupa Valley (consisting of the Glen Avon, Mira Loma, Pedley, and Rubidoux CDPs) recently incorporated and will also be identified as permittees in the Santa Ana Region Phase I MS4 permit. The remaining CDPs are unincorporated areas of Riverside County, which are also permittees in the Phase I MS4 permit. Therefore, none of these areas will be applying for coverage under the Tentative Order.

San Diego Region

• French Valley CDP

French Valley CDP is an unincorporated area of Riverside County, which is a permittee on the Santa Margarita Region Phase I MS4 permit. Therefore, this area will not be applying for coverage under the Tentative Order.

The Transportation Department requests that the Tentative Order be revised to clarify the following issues as they relate to roads and road maintenance facilities:

- •. Overall, it is our understanding that the cities that are permittees in Phase I MS4 permits and CDPs that are located within Phase I MS4 permit areas will continue to be covered under those Phase I MS4 permits and will be removed from the Tentative Order;
- Transportation Department road and maintenance facilities located in Phase I MS4 permit areas will continue to be covered under the requirements of those Phase I MS4 permits;
- Transportation Department road and maintenance facilities located within the City of Blythe will be required to comply with the requirements of the Tentative Order; and
- Transportation Department road and maintenance facilities that are not located within a Phase I MS4 permit area or a Phase II small MS4 permit area (i.e., those facilities that are not located within an urbanized area) will not be required to comply with the Tentative Order. However, the Transportation Department road and maintenance facilities will continue to be required to comply with the applicable requirements of the General Industrial and Construction storm water permits.

The addition of a Phase II Small MS4 General Permit program with significantly different roadrelated requirements than those set forth in our existing Phase I MS4 permit program is excessive and unduly arduous for the County of Riverside Transportation Department.

The three Regional Boards have required our road projects within the unincorporated communities and contiguous smaller cities to have the same MS4 permit requirements as the large cities since the early 1990's. As such, requiring the Department to comply with a fourth MS4 permit would create ambiguity for Transportation projects within those communities and thrust another set of rules and regulations on an already over-burdened regulatory framework. Furthermore, the budgetary and staffing impacts to the Department would be substantial and greatly reduce the services and facilities the Department provides to its constituents by diminishing our funding available for transportation and safety improvements.

The Transportation Department appreciates the opportunity to comment on the Tentative Order and your consideration of our comments. The Transportation Department looks forward to participating in the further development of the Tentative Order in a process to resolve the issues raised in this letter. If you have any questions regarding our comments, please contact Claudia Steiding at 951.955.1694. Sincerely, Juan C. Perez

cc:

Director of Transportation

Charles R. Hoppin, Chair State Water Resources Control Board

Tom Howard, Executive Director State Water Resources Control Board

Robert E. Purdue, Executive Officer California Regional Water Quality Control Board, Colorado River Basin Region

David W. Gibson, Executive Officer California Regional Water Quality Control Board, San Diego Region

Kurt Berchtold, Acting Executive Officer California Regional Water Quality Control Board, Santa Ana Region

Michael R. Shetler, Senior Management Analyst County of Riverside Executive Office

Jason Uhley, Chief of Watershed Management Riverside County Flood Control and Water Conservation District