
State of California
Office of Administrative Law

In re:
State Water Resources Control Board

NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF EMERGENCY
REGULATORY ACTION

Regulatory Action:

Title 23, California Code of Regulations

Adopt sections:
Amend sections: 1062, 1064, 1066
Repeal sections:

Government Code Sections 11346.1 and
11349.6

OAS Mater Number: 2015-1021-01

OAL Matter Type: Emergency (E)

On September 16, 2015, the State Water Resources Control Board (Board) adopted
Resolution 2015-0061 which revised by emergency regulations the water rights fee
schedules in sections 1062, 1064, and 1066 of Title 23 of the California Code of
Regulations to conform to the Budget Act for Fiscal Year (FY) 20.15-16. Under the
Wa#er Code. and existing regulations., a person filing a water right application, petition,
registration, groundwater recordation or other filing must pay a filing fee to the Baard.
These emergency regulations adjust the fee schedule. in FY 2015-16 to: {1) increase
annual water rights fees to conform to amounts appropriated by the Legislature from the
Water Rights Fund, and {2) adjust the caps on application and petition filing fees based
on the consumer price index. Pursuant to Water Code section 1530(b), this action is
deemed. to be an emergency for purposes of the Administrative Procedure Rct and shall
remain in effect until revised by the Board.

OAL approves this emergency regulatory action pursuant to sections 11346.1 and
11.349.6 of the Government Code. This emergency regulatory action is effective on
10/28/2015 and will remain in effect until revised by the Board pursuant to Water Code
section 1530.

Date: October 28, 2015 G%,~,i~~ '" ~` ' _.L,~~~~~
Dale P. Mentink
Senior Attorney

For: DEBRA M. CORNEZ
Director

Original: Thomas Howard
Copy: Ryan Wilson
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Attachment 5a

23 CCR § 1062
~ 1062. Filing Fees for Water Right Applications.

(a} A person who files a water right application shall pay to the board a filing fee asfollows:
{1)(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (B) and (C), the fee for a water right
application shall be $1,000, plus $15 for each acre-foot that the applicant seeks
to divert in excess of 10 acre-feet. The total fee shall not exceed
$4~~4~498,665 ,plus any additional fee due pursuant to subparagraphs (2)
and...{3).
{B) At a facility where a small hydroelectric generating facility meets the criteria
for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality
Act, as established in California Code of Regulations, title 1~, section .1.5328, the
fee shall be $1,000.
(C) The fee for an application for a temporary permit filed under Water Code
section 1425 shall be the greater of either (i) 50 percent of the fee calculated
under subparagraph (A), above, or (ii} $2,000; except that the fee for an
application for a temporary permit at a small hydroelectric generating facility that
meets the criteria for a Glass 28 categorical exemption under the California
Environmental Quality Act, as established in California Codeaf Regulations, title
14, section 15328., shall be $1.,000. The filing fee includes. the annual permit fee
if a temporary permit is issued.
(2) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition to revise a declaration
of fully appropriated stream systems, then $70,000 shall be added to the fee.
(3) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition for assignment of a
state-filed application pursuant to Water Code section 10504, then $5,000 shall
be added to the fee:

{b) A person who filed a water right application on or after July 1, 2003; and prior to
January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to the difference between the
filing fee .already paid and the amount due pursuant to the regulation in effect on
January 1, 2004.

(c~ The application filing fee includes anon-refundable $250 initial review fee.

Note; Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1425,
1426, 1525 and 1535, Water Code.



Attachment 5a

23 CCR § 1064
§ 1 Q64. Filing Fees for Petitions ar Requests..

(a) A person who files a petition or a request for release from priority shall pay to the
board a filing fee for each water right application, permit or license covered by the-
petitian or request in accordance with this section.

(1) For purposes of calculating the filing fee, a .petition to .change one ar mare.
terms of a single application, permit, license, or other water right shall be
considered a single petition, provided that action can be taken on the changes
simultaneously, except that a petition for an extension of time shall be considered
a separate petition, subject to a separate fee, from a petition to change one or
more other terms in a water right. A petitioner requesting changes to more than
one application, permit, license, or other water right shall file a separate petition
or petitions for each water right and a filing fee shall. be required for each. petition.
A separate filing fee .shall be required for :each change petition subsequently filed
on a water right that is already the subject of a pending petition for change.
(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs {i), (ii); and {iii), the fee for a petition to
change the terms of an application, permit ar license shall be as follows. The fee
shall be a minimum of $1,000. If the total annual amount of diversion sought by
the :pending application or authorized by the permit ar .license, as calculated in
accordance with section 1 Ufi6, is greater than 10 acre-feet, then the .petitioner
shall .pay. an additional $0.30 for each acre-foot 9n excess of 10 acre-feet..The
total fee shalt. not exceed $6 ~~5,264.

{i) The fee for a petition for.change pursuant only to 1Nater Code section
1707 shall be .$850.
(ii} The fee for a change petition involving a transfer of water pursuant to
Water Code section 382, 1435, 1701, 1725, or 1735 shall be $2,000, plus
$0.30 far each acre-foot that the petitioner seeks to #ransfer in excess of
10 ,acre-feet. The fee shall be based on the .maximum amount of water
proposed to be transferred annually, not the amount of water proposed to
be transferred over the entire term of the. #ransfer. The total .fee shall not
exceed $4~;~4~498,665
(iii) The fee. far a pefitiar~ for extension of time shall be $1,000.

(2~ The fee for a petition to change the point of discharge, plate of use, or
purpose of use of treated wastewater pursuant to Water Code section 1.211 shall
be X1,000,
(3) The fee for a request for release from priority of a stag-filed application
pursuant to Water Code section 70504 shall be $5,000.
(4) The fee for a petition filed pursuant to Water Code. section 1228.7 to change
the ..point of diversion or place of use .under a registration of an appropriation for
small domestic or livestock stockpand or small irrigation use shall be $25.0.

{b} A person who filed a petition or a request far release from priority on or after
July 1, 20Q3, and prior to January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to
the difference between the filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the
regulation in effect on January 1,X004.
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Attachment 5a

(c} The petition filing fee includes anon-refundable $250 initial review fee.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Cade. Reference: Sections 386,1525 and 1535, Water Code.

23 CCR § 1066
§ 1Q66. Annual Fees for Permits or Licenses.

(a} A person who holds a water right permit or license shall pay a minimum annual feeof $150. If the total annual amount ~f diversion authorized by the perrnifi or license is
greater. than 10 acre-feet, then the permittee or licensee shall pay an additional
$9:80.063 for each acre-foot in excess of 10 acts-feet.

{1) For permits or licenses issued prior to the beginning of the year for which the
fee is imposed, the .board shall calculate annual fees according to the total
annual amount of diversion authorized by the permit or license as of the
beginning of the year.
(2) The board sha61 calculate annual fees for permits issued on ar after the
beginning of the year according to the total annual amount of diversion
authorized by the permit as issued by the board.

(b) The board shall calculate the annual .fee based an the total annual amount of
diversion authorized by the permit or license, without regard to the availability of waterfar diversion or any bypass requirements ar other conditions or constraints that may
have the practical effect of limiting diversions but do not constitute a condition of the
permit or license that expressly sets a maximum amount of diversion.

{1 } If the permit or license does not expressly identify the total annual amoun# of
diversion, the board shall calculate the total annual amount based on the rate of
authorized diversion multiplied by the length of time in the authorized season of
diversion.
{2) If the permit or license contains an annual diversion limitation that is
appCicable only to that permit or license, and the limitation is less than the
calculated diversion volume, the fee shall be based on the amount specified in
the limita#ion..
(3) !f a person holds multiple water rights fihat contain an annual diversion
limitation that is applicable to the combination of those rights, but the person may
still divert the full amount authorized under a particular right, then the fee shall be
based on the fatal annual amount for that individual right.

Nofe: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1.530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1525,1536 and 1537, Water Code.
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