
    STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
    CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY 

    STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD 
 

     ADMINISTRATIVE CIVIL LIABILITY COMPLAINT 
 

 
In the Matter of Violation of Annual Reporting Requirements by  

 
 The County of Sonoma CSA #41 - Freestone 
 
 
SOURCE:     Russian River Underflow 
 
COUNTY:     Sonoma 
 

 
 

YOU ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT: 
 

1. The County of Sonoma CSA #41 - Freestone (referred to herein as Permittee) is alleged to 
have violated Order 2013-0052-DWR, a Cease and Desist Order (CDO) issued on October 7, 
2013, (Final CDO) by the Assistant Deputy Director for Water Rights pursuant to California 
Water Code section 1834 and authority delegated pursuant to State Water Resources Control 
Board (State Water Board) Resolution 2012-0029. 

 
2. Water Code section 1845, subdivision (b)(1) provides that the State Water Board may 

administratively impose civil liability to any person or entity who violates a CDO in an amount 
not to exceed $1,000 for each day in which the violation occurs.  Water Code section 1845, 
subdivision (b)(3) provides that civil liability may be imposed administratively by the State 
Water Board pursuant to Water Code section 1055. 
 

3. Water Code section 1055, subdivision (a) provides that the Executive Director for the State 
Water Board may issue a complaint to any person or entity to whom administrative civil 
liability (ACL) may be imposed.  On June 5, 2012, the Executive Director delegated this 
authority to the Deputy Director for Water Rights.  Pursuant to State Water Board Resolution 
2012-0029, the Deputy Director for Water Rights is authorized to issue an order imposing an 
ACL when a complaint has been issued and no hearing has been requested within 20 days of 
receipt of the complaint.  State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029 also authorizes 
redelegation of this authority from the Deputy Director for Water Rights to the Assistant 
Deputy Director for Water Rights.  This authority has been redelegated. 
 

ALLEGATIONS 
 

4. Senate Bill X7-8, which was signed into law in 2009, authorized the State Water Board to 
adopt regulations requiring online reporting of water diversions. Consistent with the Senate 
Bill, the State Water Board has adopted regulations requiring annual reporting of water 
diversion and use under permits and licenses (Annual Use Report), and developed a new 
online Report Management System (RMS) as a component of the enhanced Water Right 
Information Management System (eWRIMS). The regulation specifying annual permittee and 
licensee reporting requirements is codified at Title 23, Chapter 2.7, Article 2, sections 925 
and 929 of the California Code of Regulations. 
 

5. In January 2013, the Division mailed out a first notice (First Notice) to Permittee reminding 
Permittee of the requirement to submit the Annual Use Report by June 30, 2013, as required 
pursuant to the California Code of Regulations and notifying Permittee that the 2012 Annual 
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Use Report must be filed online.  The First Notice provided instructions on how to access the 
RMS system and submit the 2012 Annual Use Report online and also notified Permittee to 
contact the Division by phone or email with any questions regarding the new reporting 
process.   
 

6. Permittee failed to submit the 2012 Annual Use Report online by the deadline, June 30, 
2013. 

 
7. In determining that Permittee violated a term of the permit/license by failing to submit the 

Annual Use Report by June 30, 2013, the Division issued a draft CDO requesting the 
submission of the 2012 Annual Report within 20 days of receipt or a written request for a 
hearing to contest the notice (Draft CDO). 
 

8. The United States Postal Service confirmed receipt of the Draft CDO on August 26, 2013 at 
12:32 pm via certified mail (Cert# 7004-2510-0003-9147-7925).   
 

9. Having neither received the 2012 Annual Use Report nor a request for a hearing within 20-
days after receipt of the Draft CDO, the Division issued a Cease and Desist Order on 
October 7, 2013 (CDO), adopting the Draft CDO as final (Order 2013-0052-DWR or Final 
CDO).   

 
10. The Final CDO was sent certified mail (Cert# 7004-2510-0003-9148-0246) and delivered on 

October 9, 2013 at 12:21 pm. 
 

11. Permittee violated the Final CDO by failing to immediately submit the 2012 Annual Use 
Report.  Permittee subsequently submitted the 2012 Annual Use Report on October 9, 2013, 
2 days after the Final CDO was issued on October 7, 2013. 

 

PROPOSED CIVIL LIABILITY  
 

12. California Water Code section 1845, subdivision (b)(1) provides that the State Water Board 
may administratively impose civil liability to any person or entity who violates a CDO in an 
amount not to exceed $1,000 for each day in which the violation occurs.   
 

13. As of October 9, 2013, Permittee has been in violation of the Final CDO for 2 days.  Based 
on the days of violation described in the previous paragraph, the maximum liability for the 
violations alleged is $2,000 (2 days at $1,000/day). 

 
14. In determining the appropriate amount of a civil liability, California Water Code sections 

1055.3 and 1845, subdivision (c), require that the State Water Board consider all relevant 
circumstances, including, but not limited to, the extent of harm caused by the violation, the 
nature and persistence of the violation, the length of time over which the violation occurs, 
and the corrective action, if any, taken by the violator. 

 
15. In this case, the 2012 Annual Use Report was due by June 30, 2013.  Despite two prior 

notifications (the January 2013 initial Notice and August 2013 Draft CDO), Permittee failed to 
submit the 2012 Annual Use Report before the issuance of the Final CDO.  Failure to comply 
with the reporting requirements in a timely manner harms the Division’s ability to accurately 
track water diversions from the source and effectively regulate the resources it is required to 
protect.  Permittee has since complied by submitting the 2012 Annual Use Report. 
 

16. Having taken into consideration all relevant circumstances, including but not limited to the 
late submission of the 2012 Annual Use Report, the harm caused by the delay in submitting 
the Annual Use Report, staff costs associated pursuing compliance, together with the overall 
need to preserve the integrity of the regulatory program, the Division recommends the 
imposition of $2,000 in administrative civil liability (Proposed Liability).  
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CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER 
 

17. To promote resolution of the alleged annual use filing violations and administrative efficiency, 
the Division makes the following conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer).  Permittee 
can avoid further enforcement action and settle the alleged failure to file the annual use 
violation by agreeing to comply with the terms of the Conditional Offer, provided below, as 
well as in the Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Offer and Waiver of Right to Hearing or 
Reconsideration (Acceptance and Waiver) enclosed hereto as Exhibit “A.” 

 
18. This Conditional Offer requires Permittee to pay an expedited payment amount (Expedited 

Payment Amount) of $500 and waive the right to a hearing and reconsideration of the alleged 
violations.  This expedited payment amount is based on staff costs incurred to date in 
preparing the Final CDO and this ACL. 
 

19. To accept the Conditional Offer, Permittee must sign and return the Acceptance and Waiver 
along with the Expedited Payment Amount within 20 days of receipt of this complaint.   

 
20. If there are extenuating circumstances that Permittee would like to discuss, such as an inability 

to pay the Expedited Payment Amount, then Permittee may contact John O’Hagan, 
Enforcement Section Manager, with that information as soon as possible but no later than the 
20 days from receipt of this complaint.   

 
RIGHT TO HEARING  

 
21. Permittee may request a hearing on this matter before the State Water Board.  Any such 

request for hearing must be received or postmarked within 20 days of the date that this 
notice is received as required by Water Code section 1055, subdivision (b).   
 

22. If Permittee requests a hearing, Permittee will have an opportunity to be heard and to contest 
the allegations in this complaint and the imposition of an ACL by the State Water Board.  If a 
hearing is requested, separate notice setting the time and place for the hearing will be mailed 
not less than 10 days before the hearing date.  The Division may convene a settlement 
conference prior to noticing a hearing date.   

 
23. If Permittee requests a hearing, the State Water Board will consider at the hearing whether to 

impose the civil liability, and if so, whether to adjust the proposed liability within the amount 
authorized by statute.  Based on the evidence received at the hearing, the State Water Board 
may take any appropriate action in accordance with sections 100, 275, and 1050 et seq. of 
the Water Code and/or its responsibilities under the public trust doctrine.  Any State Water 
Board order imposing an ACL shall be final and effective upon issuance. 

 
24. If Permittee does not wish to request a hearing within 20 days of receipt of this complaint, 

Permittee shall waive the right to a hearing and reconsideration of this matter and remit a 
cashier’s check or money order for the Expedited Payment Amount set forth in paragraph 18 
above, to: 

 
State Water Resources Control Board 
Division of Water Rights 
Attn : Enforcement Section 
P.O. Box 2000 
Sacramento, CA  95812-2000 
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25. If Permittee does not remit the Acceptance and Waiver, the Expedited Payment Amount, nor 

request a hearing within 20 days of the date this complaint is received, then the State Water 
Board will issue an ACL Order and seek recovery of the liability imposed as authorized by 
Water Code section 1055.4. 
 

 
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD 
 

 
James W. Kassel, Assistant Deputy Director 
Division of Water Rights 
 
Dated: October 25, 2013 
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ACCEPTANCE OF CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER 
AND WAIVER OF RIGHT TO HEARING AND RECONSIDERATION  

 
 
The County of Sonoma CSA #41 - Freestone 
Source:  Russian River Underflow 
County:  SONOMA 
 
By signing below and returning this Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Offer and Waiver of 
Right to Hearing and Reconsideration (Acceptance and Waiver) to the State Water Resources 
Control Board (State Water Board), The County of Sonoma CSA #41 - Freestone (Permittee) 
hereby accepts the State Water Board’s conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer), and 
waives the right to a hearing before and reconsideration by the State Water Board at which 
violations alleged in the Administrative Civil Liability Complaint issued to Permittee (ACL 
Complaint) to which this Acceptance and Waiver is attached as Exhibit “A” could be disputed. 
 
Permittee agrees to perform the following within 20 days of receipt of the ACL Complaint: 
 
 Pay administrative civil liability as authorized by California Water Code 

section 1845, subdivision (b)(1), in the amount of $500 (Expedited Payment 
Amount) by cashier’s check or by certified check made payable to the “State Water 
Resources Control Board” for deposit into the Water Rights Fund, which shall be 
deemed payment in full of any civil liability pursuant to California Water Code section 
1845, subdivision (b)(1), that otherwise might be assessed for the violations described 
in the ACL Complaint. 
 

Permittee understands that this Acceptance and Waiver waives the Permittee’s right to contest 
the allegations in the ACL Complaint and the civil liability amount for such violations. 
 
Permittee understands that the failure to submit payment of the Expedited Payment Amount as 
identified and described above, along with the signed Acceptance and Waiver within 20 days of 
receipt of this notice, shall render the State Water Board’s Conditional Offer void.  If the State 
Water Board’s Conditional Offer is deemed void due to Permittee’s non-performance, then the 
State Water Board will issue a final Administrative Civil Liability order and seek recovery of the 
full liability amount proposed in the ACL Complaint. 
 
Permittee understands that this Acceptance and Waiver does not address or resolve liability for 
any violation that is not specifically identified in the ACL Complaint.  Upon execution by 
Permittee, the Acceptance and Waiver along with the Expedited Payment Amount shall be 
mailed to the following address: 
   

 

ORDER WR 2013-0065-DWR



ORDER WR 2013-0065-DWR




