STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD RESOLUTION NO. 2009-0034

APPROVING PROJECTS, AND AUTHORIZING ISSUANCE OF GRANTS FOR THE 2008-2009 319(h) NONPOINT SOURCE (NPS) GRANT PROGRAM

WHEREAS:

- The Federal Clean Water Act (Federal CWA) Section 319(h) provides grants to states to implement NPS Management Programs. A portion of the funds may be used for grants to implement watershed-based plans to restore impaired water bodies;
- 2. The State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) is authorized to administer approximately \$4.5 million in federal funds pursuant to Section 319(h) of the Federal CWA and, if they become available, Proposition 13 Watershed Protection funds for implementing local watershed plans;
- 3. The 2008-2009 319(h) NPS Grant Program used the procedures and criteria established by the State Water Board in the 2005-06 Consolidated Grants Guidelines (Guidelines) to solicit applications, evaluate proposals, and award grants; and
- 4. The Guidelines allow withdrawal of the grant awards from non-responsive applicants and issuance of grant awards to other competitive proposals that are below the funding line.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

The State Water Board:

- 1. Approves the funding for projects on the Recommended Funding List above the funding line for the 2008-2009 319(h) NPS Grant Program;
- 2. Authorizes the issuance of grant agreements and amendments to implement the projects;
- 3. Authorizes the Deputy Director of the Division of Financial Assistance (Division) to withdraw grant awards if applicants are non-responsive; and

4. Authorizes the Deputy Director of the Division to award grants to projects below the funding line, ranked in order, in the event that funds are withdrawn for non-responsiveness, or for projects that are terminated or are completed under budget.

CERTIFICATION

The undersigned, Clerk to the Board, does hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and correct copy of a resolution duly and regularly adopted at a meeting of the State Water Board held on April 21, 2009.

AYE: Chairman Charles R. Hoppin

Vice Chair Frances Spivy-Weber Board Member Arthur G. Baggett, Jr.

Board Member Tam M. Doduc

NAY: None ABSENT: None ABSTAIN: None

> Jeanine Townsend Clerk to the Board

Jeanine Townsend