STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD RESOLUTION NO. 2012-0037

APPROVING THE 2013 CLEAN WATER ACT 319(h) NONPOINT SOURCE PROGRAM PREFERENCES, AUTHORIZING STAFF TO SOLICIT AND RECOMMEND PROJECTS, AND AUTHORIZING THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OR DESIGNEE TO AWARD AND EXECUTE FINANCE AGREEMENTS FOR THE 2013 FEDERAL CLEAN WATER ACT 319(h) NONPOINT SOURCE GRANT PROGRAM

WHEREAS:

- The Clean Water Act (CWA) Section 319(h) Nonpoint Source (NPS) Grant Program provides funding to states to implement their NPS Programs. A portion of these funds may be used for grants to implement Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) and watershed-based plans to restore impaired water bodies.
- 2. The State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) is authorized to administer approximately \$4.5 million in federal funds pursuant to CWA 319(h) for local NPS pollution control planning and implementation activities.
- State Water Board, Regional Water Quality Control Boards and U. S. Environmental Protection Agency staff, have developed a list of NPS Program Preferences (Program Preferences) (see Exhibit 1) to target funds to TMDL watersheds.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

The State Water Board:

- 1. Approves the proposed Program Preferences, presented in <u>Exhibit 1</u>, and makes projects that address the Program Preferences eligible to compete for funding through the 2013 CWA 319(h) NPS Grant Program.
- 2. Authorizes staff to solicit and recommend projects to the Executive Director or designee for funding that address the Program Preferences.

3. Authorizes the Executive Director, or designee, to award and execute finance agreements and amendments to implement projects that address the Program Preferences and to perform all acts and to do all things necessary and convenient to implement such agreements.

CERTIFICATION

The undersigned Clerk to the Board does hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and correct copy of a resolution duly and regularly adopted at a meeting of the State Water Resources Control Board held on July 17, 2012.

- AYE: Chairman Charles R. Hoppin Vice Chair Frances Spivy-Weber Board Member Tam M. Doduc Board Member Steven Moore Board Member Felicia Marcus
- NAY: None
- ABSENT: None
- ABSTAIN: None

Inine Joursend

Jeanine Townsend Clerk to the Board