
 
 

 
 

  
 
 

 
 

  
 

  
  

 
 

  
  

 
  

   
 

 
  

  
 

    
 

 
  

  
 

 

 
   

    
 

 
 

  

 
  

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD 
RESOLUTION NO. 2017-0019 

RE-ADOPTING DRINKING WATER FEE REGULATIONS IN TITLE 22, SECTIONS 64300, 
64305, 64310, AND 64315 OF THE CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS. 

WHEREAS: 

1. The State Water Board is responsible for administering the Safe Drinking Water Act 
(Drinking Water Program). The Safe Drinking Water Act (Health and Safety Code, 
§116270 et seq.) (SDWA) requires that all persons who supply water for human 
consumption and meet the law's definition of "public water system" obtain a domestic 
water supply permit and submit an annual fee to the State Water Board. 

2. On June 24, 2015, State Bill 83 (2015) was chaptered requiring the State Water Board to 
adopt a new fee schedule in regulation to support the Drinking Water Program. 

3. Health and Safety Code (HSC) Section 116565, subdivision (d) requires that the fee 
schedule initially be set through the regular rulemaking process and that, thereafter, 
amendments and adjustments to the schedule shall be done as emergency regulations 
that are not subject to review by the Office of Administrative Law.  

4. The proposed regulations (Drinking Water Fee Regulations) establish a schedule of 
annual fees to be paid by public water systems. 

5. The proposed Drinking Water Fee Regulations include a provision allowing community 
water systems that serve disadvantaged communities to pay a reduced fee. 

6. The Drinking Water Fee Regulations include a provision authorizing State Water Board 
to extend the deadline for payment of the annual fee upon a showing of good cause. 

7. State Water Board staff  will maintain the Division of Drinking Water’s staff time 
accounting system through this fiscal year, at least, to help inform the Board, staff, public 
water systems and stakeholders on  how the Division of Drinking Water’s staff time and  
resources are being allocated.  

8. The Drinking Water Fee Regulations will be contained in Title 22, Division 4, Chapter 
14.5, Sections 64300, 64305, 64310, and 64315 of the California Code of Regulations. 

9. The 45-day public notice period for the proposed amendments closed on June 22, 2016, 
and a public hearing was held on that date.  Responses to all timely comments and 
three late comments received on the proposed regulations are contained in the Final 
Statement of Reasons. 



 

 
 

    
  

  
 

 
  

 

 
  

  
   
 

 

 
 

 
  

   

 

  
    

  
  

   
 

 

 

  

10. The State Water Board published and distributed a Notice of Modification to Text of 
Proposed Regulation and the modified text of the proposed regulation in underline and 
strikeout on July 14, 2016 for a 15-day comment period ending on July 29, 2016. 
Responses to all comments received pertaining to the proposed modifications are 
contained in the Final Statement of Reasons. 

11. On September 20, 2016, the State Water Board adopted Title 22, Division 4, Chapter 
14.5, Sections 64300, 64305, 64310, and 64315 of the California Code of Regulations. 

12. On September 20, 2016, the State Water Board adopted Title 22, Division 4, Chapter 
14.5, Sections 64300, 64305, 64310, and 64315 of the California Code of Regulations. 
After the regulations were adopted, the State Water Board added a document to the 
rulemaking file, entitled “Drinking Water Fees – Basis for Establishing Fees.” On 
January 23, 2017, the State Water Board issued a Notice of Addition of Document to File 
and Clarification of Text, and Notice of Opportunity to Comment on Proposed Drinking 
Water Fee Regulations.  The clarification related to section 64315, and the fact that the 
text conflicted with the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and Initial Statement of Reasons; 
however, no proposal was made to amend the text. 

The Notice of Addition of Document to File and Clarification of Text, and Notice of 
Opportunity to Comment on Proposed Drinking Water Fee Regulations provided for an 
additional comment period, which began on January 23, 2017 and ended on 
February 8, 2017.  Three comments were received.  The Board Members have reviewed 
the document entitled “Drinking Water Fees – Basis for Establishing Fees," the Notice of 
Addition of Document to File and Clarification of Text, and Notice of Opportunity to 
Comment on Proposed Drinking Water Fee Regulations, and the three comments that 
were received, and concluded that no changes to the regulations text are necessary in 
response to the three comments.  The Board members have also concluded that two 
nonsubstantive changes should be made to the text. Responses to all comments 
received pertaining to the Notice issued on January 23, 2017 are contained in the Final 
Statement of Reasons. 

13.  The California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) provides a statutory exemption for the  
review and modification of charges  by public agencies.  Specifically, Public Resources 
Code  Section 21080 (b)(8) provides  for such statutory exemption if the public agency 
finds that such charges "are for the purpose of (A) meeting operating expenses, 
including employee wage rates and fringe benefits, (B) purchasing or leasing supplies, 
equipment, or materials, (C) meeting financial reserve needs and requirements,  
(D) obtaining funds for capital projects necessary to maintain service within existing 
service areas, or (E) obtaining funds necessary to maintain those intracity transfers as  
are authorized by city charter."  
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http://waterboards.ca.gov/resources/fees/drinking_water/docs/basis_for_est_fees.pdf
http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/resources/fees/drinking_water/docs/notice_drinking_water_fee_reg.pdf
http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/public_notices/comments/drinking_water_fees/comments020817/
http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/board_info/agendas/2017/apr/040417_6_dw_fee_regs_fsor.pdf


 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

   
  

 
 

  

 
 

 
   

   
 

  

  

 
 

 

 
   

 
   

    
   
   

 

 

 
              
  
  

14. The State Water Board finds that the charges identified in Title 22, Division 4, Chapter 
14.5, of the California Code of Regulations, are for the purpose of: meeting operating 
expenses, including employee wage rates and fringe benefits; purchasing or leasing 
supplies, equipment, or materials; and meeting financial reserve needs and 
requirements. 

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:  

1. The State Water Board re-adopts Title 22, Division 4, Chapter 14.5, Sections 64300, 
64305, 64310, and 64315 of the California Code of Regulations. 

2. The State Water Board determines that adoption of Title 22, Division 4, Chapter 14.5, 
Sections 64300, 64305, 64310, and 64315 of the California Code of Regulations is 
statutorily exempt from CEQA for the reasons given above, and directs the State Water 
Board staff to prepare and submit to the State Clearinghouse a Notice of Exemption 
reflecting this determination. 

3. The State Water Board Executive Director shall sign the form 400 and the State Water 
Board staff shall submit the adopted regulations and supporting documentation to Office 
of Administrative Law (OAL) for review and filling with the Secretary of State; and 

4. If, prior to the OAL filing the regulations with the Secretary of State, State Water Board 
staff, the State Water Board, or OAL staff determine that non-substantive corrections to 
the regulations or supporting documentation are needed to facilitate the review process, 
the State Water Board Executive Director may make such changes. 

CERTIFICATION 

The undersigned Clerk to the Board does hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and 
correct copy of a resolution duly and regularly adopted at a meeting of the State Water 
Resources Control Board held on April 4, 2017. 

AYE: Chair  Felicia Marcus  
Vice Chair  Steven Moore 
Board Member Tam M. Doduc  
Board Member Dorene D’Adamo  

NAY:  None  

ABSENT:  None  

ABSTAIN: None  

Jeanine Townsend  
Clerk to the Board  
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