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Mr. Goschke:

COMPLAINT FOR MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY, DUKE ENERGY MORRO BAY, LLC,
MORRO BAY POWER PLANT, SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNTY

Attached is Complaint for Mandatory Minimum Penalty No. R3-2005-0030 (Complaint). The Complaint is based on
violations of effluent limitations in Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 95-28, National Pollutant Discharge
Elimination System (NPDES) Permit No. CA0003743, that occurred between January 31 and March 31, 2002, and
between March 2 and June 6, 2003. The Complaint specifies the occurrence dates and nature of the violations.

We will present an Order to the Regional Water Quality Control Board, Central Coast Region (Regional Board) for
the amount proposed in the Complaint ($12,000) at the Regional Board meeting on March 25, 2005, at the Regional
Board Conference Room, 895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101, San Luis Obispo, California. The meeting is scheduled to
begin at 8:30 a.m.; however, no specific time has been set for consideration of this item.

In this case, California Water Code Section 13385(1) allows the entire penalty amount ($12,000) to be expended on a
supplemental environmental project (SEP) in accordance with the State Water Resources Control Board (SWRCB)’s
Enforcement Policy. You may submit a proposal for one or more SEPs. If you do choose to submit a proposal,
please submit it for consideration no later than February 10, 2005. The State Water Resources Control Board’s
February 19, 2002 Water Quality Enforcement Policy specifies the criteria a SEP must meet to qualify for funding at
www.swreb.ca.gov/plnspols/wgep.doc.  You may find a number of SEPs listed, as well as other useful information,
on our website at: www.swrcb.ca.gov/rwgcb3/sep/index.htm.

Please review the Complaint carefully and submit your comments and/or your Waiver of Hearing form and copy of
payment, or an SEP proposal by February 10, 2005. If you have questions, please contact Michael Thomas at (805)
542-4623 or Regional Board Counsel, Lori Okun, at (916) 341-5165.

Sincerely,

er W. Briggs
Executive Officer

Attachment: Mandatory Minimum Penalty Complaint No. R3-2005-0030

cc:
Duke Energy Morro Bay Power Plant Interested Parties List
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CALIFORNIA REGIONAL WATER QUALITY CONTROL BOARD
CENTRAL COAST REGION
895 Aerovista Lane, Suite 101
San Luis Obispo, California 93401

COMPLAINT NO. R3-2005-0030

MANDATORY PENALTY
IN THE MATTER OF
DUKE ENERGY’S MORRO BAY POWER PLANT
SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNTY

This complaint to assess Mandatory Minimum Penalties pursuant to Water Code section 13385(h) and (i) is
issued to Duke Energy Morro Bay, LLC, located at 1290 Embarcadero Road, Morro Bay, CA, 93442, based on a
finding of violations of Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 95-28, National Pollutant Discharge
Elimination System (NPDES) Permit No. CA0003743. .

The Executive Officer finds the following:

1.

On March 10, 1995, the Regional Water Quality Control Board, Central Coast Region (Regional Board),
adopted Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 95-28, NPDES Permit No. CA0003743, for PG&E's
Morro Bay Power Plant, San Luis Obispo County (Order No. 95-28). Duke Energy purchased the Morro
Bay Power Plant from PG&E in 1998. Order No. 95-28 remains in effect with Duke Energy Morro Bay,
LLC, as the discharger (hereafter Discharger).

California Water Code section 13385(h)(1) requires the Regional Board to assess a mandatory penalty of
three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each “serious” violation. California Water Code section 13385(h)(2)
provides a serious violation occurs if the discharge exceeds the effluent limitations for a Group I pollutant
by 40% percent or more, or for a Group II pollutant, by 20% or more. Group I and Group II pollutants are
specified in Appendix A to section 123.45 of Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations.

California Water Code section 13385(i) requires the Regional Board to assess a mandatory penalty of three
thousand dollars ($3,000) for each chronic violation, not counting the first three chronic violations.
Chronic violations occur when the discharger does any of the following four or more times in a
consecutive six-month period:

a) Exceeds a waste discharge requirement effluent limitation;

b) Fails to file a report pursuant to Section 13260;

c) Files an incomplete report pursuant to Section 13260; or

d) Exceeds a toxicity effluent limitation contained in the applicable waste discharge requirements where

the waste discharge requirements do not contain pollutant-specific effluent limitations for toxic
pollutants.

California Water Code section 13385(l) states that “(1) In lieu of assessing penalties pursuant to
subdivision (h) or (i), the...regional board, with the concurrence of the discharger, may direct a portion of
the penalty amount to be expended on a supplemental environmental project in accordance with the
enforcement policy of the state board. If the penalty amount exceeds fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000),
the portion of the penalty amount that may be directed to be expended on a supplemental environmental
project may not exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) plus 50 percent of the penalty amount that
exceeds fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000).
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5. Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 95-28 states that Discharges 001C, 001E, and 001F shall not
contain constituents in excess of the following:

Monthly (30-Day) Daily
Constituent Units Average Maximum
Suspended Solids | mg/l 30.0 100.0
Oil and Grease mg/l 15.0 20.0

6. “Suspended Solids” and “Oil and Grease” are categorized as Group I Pollutants under Appendix A to
section 123.45 of Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations “Serious” violations occur when Group One
parameters exceed their effluent limits by 40% or more. Chronic violations occur when Group One
parameters exceed permit limits by less than 40%.

7. According to monitoring reports submitted by the Discharger, four effluent limit violations occurred
between January 21, 2002 and March 31, 2002. Mandatory minimum penalties are triggered when four or
more permit violations occur within a six-month period (Finding No. 3), or whenever a “serious” violation
occurs (Finding No. 2). Mandatory minimum penalties do not apply toward the first three chronic effluent
limit violations in a sixth month period. The violations are listed in Tables 1 and 2, below:

Table 1: Violations between January 21st and March 31, 2002.

1 [ 1/21/02 Oil and Grease | 20.0 mg/l (daily maximum) | 22.3 mg/I Chronic (exceeds limit by <40%)
2 [3/11/02 Oil and Grease | 20.0 mg/l (daily maximum) | 44.3 mg/Il *Serious (exceeds limit by >40%)
3 | 3/22/02 Oil and Grease | 20.0 mg/l (daily maximum) | 45.2 mg/l *Serious (exceeds limit by >40%)
4 | 3/31/02 Oil and Grease | 15.0 mg/l (30-day average) 17.0 mg/l *Chronic (exceeds limit by <40%)

*Denotes violation where minimum mandatory penalty applies.

Table 2: Violations between March 2nd and June 6, 2003.

1 | 3/02/03 Suspended 100 mg/1 (daily maximum) 112.8 mg/l Chronic (exceeds limit by <40%)
Solids

2 | 6/02/03 Suspended 30 mg/l (30-day average) 45.4 mg/l *Serious (exceeds limit by >40%)
Solids

*Denotes violation where minimum mandatory penalty applies.

8. According to Finding No. 7, the Discharger committed two serious violations between January 31 and
March 31, 2002, and one serious violation between March 2 and June 6, 2003. The amount of the
mandatory penalty for the serious violations is 3 x $3,000 = $9,000 (nine thousand dollars).

9. According to Finding No. 7, the Discharger committed two chronic violations between January 21, 2002
and March 31, 2002. In addition, the Discharger committed two serious violations during this time period
that also count as chronic violations. California Water Code section 13385(i) requires the Regional Board
to assess a mandatory minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each chronic violation, not
counting the first three violations occurring in a consecutive six-month period. Therefore, the mandatory
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minimum penalty for the above chronic violations is (2 Chronic + 2 Serious — 3) = one (1) violation x
$3,000 = $3,000 (three thousand dollars).

10. The total amount of the mandatory penalty for violations occurring between January 31 and March 31,
2002, and between March 2 and June 6, 2003, is $9,000 + $3,000 = $12,000 (twelve thousand dollars).

DUKE ENERGY, MORRO BAY, LLC, IS HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT:

1. The Executive Officer of the Regional Board proposes that the Discharger be assessed a Mandatory
Penalty in the amount of $12,000 (twelve thousand dollars).

2. The Regional Board shall hold a public hearing on March 25, 2005, unless the Discharger agrees to waive
its right to a public hearing by filling out, signing, and submitting the enclosed “Waiver of Hearing”. If
the Discharger chooses not to waive its right to a public hearing, the Regional Board may proceed with the
scheduled public hearing and consider testimony received from interested persons during the public
hearing and decide whether to accept the amount of Mandatory Penalty proposed by the Executive Officer
or increase the liability. The Regional Board may also decide to continue the matter to a future hearing or
refer it to the State Attorney General. The public hearing is scheduled at the regularly scheduled Regional
Board meeting on March 25, 2005, at the Regional Board Conference Room, 895 Aerovista Place, Suite
101, San Luis Obispo, California. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 8:30 a.m.; however, no specific
time has been set for consideration of this item.

If you have questions regarding this matter, please direct them to Regional Board staff, Michael Thomas, at
(805) 542-4623, or Regional Board Counsel, Lori Okun, at (916) 341-5165.

baan (30

Roggf W. Briggs /Y
ExE€cutive Officer

/"'//'—O 'l
Date
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PROCEDURAL INFORMATION
FOR
MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY COMPLAINT
PUBLIC HEARING AND PAYMENT

WAIVER OF PUBLIC HEARING

You may waive your right to a publlc hearing. If you wish to waive your right to a public hearing, a duly
authorized person' must check, sign, and submit the following Waiver of the Right to a Public Hearing form
and pay the mandatory minimum penalty amount specified in the Complaint no later than February 10,
2005, 5:00 P.M. Please follow the payment instructions below.

If you choose to waive your right to a public hearing, and if full payment and a signed Waiver of the Right to a
Public Hearing form are received before the hearing, the hearing will not be held, and the violation will be
settled. If full payment and a signed Waiver of the Right to a Public Hearing form are not received, the matter
will be placed on the Regional Board’s agenda for a hearing as stated below.

If you do not waive your right to a public hearing, the Executive Officer will present an Order to the Regional
Board for the amount proposed in this Complaint at the Regional Board meeting on March 25, 2005, at the
Regional Board Conference Room, 895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101, San Luis Obispo, California. The Regional
Board will proceed with the scheduled hearing, consider testimony received from interested persons during the
hearing, and decide whether to accept the amount of the mandatory minimum penalty proposed by the Executive
Officer, or direct the Executive Officer to reissue the complaint alleging increased liability pursuant to Water
Code Section 13385(c) and (e). If the proposed Order is adopted, payment of the mandatory minimum penalty
to the State Water Resources Control Board will be due and payable no later than April 24, 2005, in accordance
with the Order. If the proposed Order is rejected, the Regional Board may direct the Executive Officer to issue a
new complaint and schedule another public hearing. The Regional Board may also decide to continue the matter
to a future hearing or refer it to the State Attorney General. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 8:30 A.M.;
however, no specific time has been set for consideration of the Order.

PAYMENT OF MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY

No later than February 10, 2005, please make your check payable to State Water Resources Control Board,
and note “MMP Complaint No. R3-2005-0030” on the check. Please mail the check and signed waiver form
to:

SWRCB Accounting

Attn: Enforcement

P.O. Box 100

Sacramento, CA 95812-0100

Please also mail copies of the check and signed waiver form to:

Regional Water Quality Control Board
Attn: Matt Thompson

895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101

San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

" A duly authorized person is defined as a principal executive officer of at least the level of vice president in a
corporation, a general partner or the proprietor in a partnership or sole proprietorship, a principal executive officer or
ranking elected official in a public agency, or a duly authorized representative.




