
Colorado River Basin Regional Water Quality Control Board
CERTIFIED MAIL: 7021 1970 0002 0497 8173

March 30, 2023

Ron Buchwald, Interim General Manager/District Engineer
Valley Sanitary District
45500 Van Buren Street
Indio, CA 92201
rbuchwald@valley-sanitary.org 

SUBJECT: CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER NO. R7-2023-0021: OFFER TO 
PARTICIPATE IN EXPEDITED PAYMENT PROGRAM RELATING TO 
ALLEGED VIOLATIONS OF ORDER NO. R7-2020-0007, NPDES NO. 
CA0104477

Dear Ms. Marshall:
This letter notifies Valley Sanitary District, Owner/Operator, Valley Sanitary District 
Wastewater Treatment Plant (Discharger) of alleged violation(s) of effluent limitations and 
provides the Discharger the opportunity to settle the violation(s) through payment of 
$6,000 in mandatory minimum penalties pursuant to California Water Code (Water Code) 
sections 13385 and/or 13385.1. Please reply by April 29, 2023.

NOTICE OF VIOLATION
The Assistant Executive Officer alleges that the Discharger has violated the above-
referenced National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit as identified 
in Exhibit A, attached hereto, and incorporated by reference. The Discharger can resolve 
the alleged violations as discussed below.

STATUTORY LIABILITY
Water Code section 13385, subdivisions (h) and (i), require the assessment of a $3,000 
mandatory minimum penalty for specified serious and chronic effluent limitation violations.  
The Discharger is also subject to discretionary administrative civil liability of up to $10,000 
per day for each violation, plus $10 for each gallon discharged but not cleaned up in 
excess of 1,000 gallons. The Colorado River Basin Regional Water Quality Control Board 
(Regional Water Board) may assess mandatory minimum penalties or discretionary 
administrative civil liability beginning with the date on which the violations first occurred. 
The formal enforcement action that the Regional Water Board uses to assess such liability 
is an administrative civil liability complaint. Alternatively, the Regional Water Board may 
refer the matter to the Attorney General’s Office for prosecution in the Superior Court. 
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The Superior Court may assess up to $25,000 per day for each violation, plus $25 per 
gallon discharged but not cleaned up in excess of 1,000 gallons. 

OFFER TO PARTICIPATE IN EXPEDITED PAYMENT PROGRAM
The Discharger can avoid the issuance of a formal enforcement action and settle the 
alleged violation(s) identified in Exhibit A by participating in the Regional Water Board’s 
Expedited Payment Program. The Discharger may accept this Conditional Settlement 
Offer, waive its right to a hearing, and pay the mandatory minimum penalty of $6,000 for 
the violation(s) described in Exhibit A. If the Discharger elects to do so, the Regional 
Water Board will execute the settlement offer subject to the conditions below. The 
Regional Water Board will accept the payment in settlement of any enforcement action 
that would otherwise arise out of the violation(s) identified in Exhibit A. Accordingly, the 
Regional Water Board will not issue a formal administrative civil liability complaint, will not 
refer the violation(s) to the Attorney General’s Office, and will waive its right to seek 
additional discretionary civil liability for the violation(s) identified in Exhibit A.
This Conditional Settlement Offer does not address or resolve liability for any violation 
that is not specifically identified in Exhibit A.
DISCHARGER’S OPTIONS FOR RESPONSE TO OFFER
To accept this Conditional Settlement Offer, the Discharger must complete, sign, and 
return the enclosed "Acceptance of Conditional Resolution and Waiver of Right to 
Hearing” (Acceptance and Waiver) on or before April 29, 2023 (30 days).  The 
Acceptance and Waiver is provided as Exhibit B (enclosed).
If the Discharger chooses to contest any of the violations alleged in Exhibit A, please 
identify the specific violation(s) and the basis for the challenge (factual error, affirmative 
defense, etc.) on or before the due date specified above. Regional Water Board staff will 
evaluate the contested violation and take one of two actions:

1) Determine that the violation warrants dismissal, dismiss the alleged 
violation(s) in the California Integrated Water Quality System (CIWQS) 
database, notify the Discharger of the dismissal, and take no further action 
against the Discharger for the alleged violation(s); or

2) Determine that the alleged violation(s) is/are meritorious and notify the 
Discharger of that determination. The Discharger will then have 30 days 
from the date of the notice of determination to accept settlement for the 
violation by submitting a complete Acceptance and Waiver. If the 
Discharger chooses not to accept or makes no reply to the determination 
within 30 days, the Discharger will be contacted by the Regional Water 
Board staff regarding a formal enforcement proceeding for the contested 
violation(s).  Information received by Regional Water Board staff during any 
formal investigation and assessment of the violation(s), as well as staff 
costs associated with pursuing the enforcement, may increase the liability 
beyond that set forth in this Conditional Settlement Offer. 
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CONDITIONS FOR REGIONAL WATER BOARD ACCEPTANCE OF RESOLUTION
Federal regulations require the Regional Water Board to publish and allow the public at 
least 30 days to comment on any settlement of an enforcement action addressing NPDES 
permit violations (40 C.F.R. section 123.27(d)(2)(iii)). Upon receipt of the Discharger's 
Acceptance and Waiver, Regional Water Board staff will publish a notice of the proposed 
resolution of the violation(s).
If Regional Water Board staff do not receive comments within the 30-day comment period 
and no new material facts become available to the Regional Water Board, the Executive 
Officer will execute the Acceptance and Waiver as a stipulated order assessing the 
uncontested mandatory minimum penalty amount pursuant to Water Code sections 
13385 and/or 13385.1.
If, however, significant comments are received in opposition to the Settlement, the Offer 
may be withdrawn. In that case, the Discharger's waiver pursuant to the Acceptance and 
Waiver will also be treated as withdrawn and the violation(s) will be addressed in a liability 
assessment proceeding. At the liability assessment hearing the Discharger will be free to 
make arguments as to any of the alleged violations, and the Discharger's agreement to 
accept this conditional settlement offer will not in any way be binding or used as evidence 
against the Discharger. The Discharger will be provided with further information on the 
liability assessment proceeding.
In the event the Executive Officer executes the Acceptance and Waiver, full payment of 
the assessed amount shall be due within 30 calendar days from the date of the Executive 
Officer’s signature. Funds collected for violations under Water Code sections 13385 and 
13385.1 shall be deposited in the State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account. 
Accordingly, the $6,000 liability shall be paid by cashiers or certified check made out to 
the "State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account". Failure to pay the full 
penalty within the required time may subject the Discharger to further liability.

Please send your reply to the attention of Kai Dunn, either by email or U.S. mail. If you 
want to discuss or have questions regarding this Conditional Settlement Offer, please 
contact Kai Dunn at (760) 776-8986 or Kai.Dunn@waterboards.ca.gov.

Sincerely,

Original Signed By
Cassandra Owens
Assistant Executive Officer
Colorado River Basin Water Board

Enclosure: Exhibit A -  Mandatory Penalty Administrative Civil Liability
Exhibit B -  Acceptance of Conditional Resolution and Waiver of Right to 

Hearing
CC:  Ian Wilson, Valley Sanitary District, Chief Plant Operator

iwilson@valley-sanitary.org 
File: WDID No. 7A 33 0122 021, Valley SD, R7-2020-0007
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Exhibit B
ACCEPTANCE OF CONDITIONAL RESOLUTION

AND WAIVER OF RIGHT TO HEARING

Valley Sanitary District Owner/Operator
Valley Sanitary District Wastewater Treatment Plant

WDR Order No. R7-2020-0007 (NPDES No. CA0104477)

By signing below and returning this Acceptance of Conditional Resolution and Waiver of 
Right to Hearing (Acceptance and Waiver) to the California Regional Water Quality Control 
Board, Colorado River Basin Region (Regional Water Board), Valley Sanitary District, 
Owner/Operator, of the Valley Sanitary District Wastewater Treatment Plant (Discharger) 
hereby accepts the conditional settlement offer to settle the alleged violations through 
payment of mandatory minimum penalties and waives the right to a hearing before the 
Regional Water Board to dispute the alleged violations. The alleged violations are attached 
to this Acceptance and Waiver as ‘Exhibit A’ and incorporated by reference. 

The Discharger agrees that ‘Exhibit A’ shall serve as a Complaint pursuant to Article 2.5 
of the California Water Code and that no separate Complaint is required for the Regional 
Water Board to assert jurisdiction over the alleged violations through its Assistant 
Executive Officer. The Discharger agrees to pay the penalties required by California Water 
Code sections 13385 and/or 13385.1, in the sum of $6,000 (Expedited Payment Amount), 
which shall be deemed payment in full of any civil liability pursuant to Water Code section 
13385 that otherwise might be assessed for the violation(s) described in ‘Exhibit A’. The 
Discharger understands that this Acceptance and Waiver waives its right to contest the 
allegations in ‘Exhibit A’ and the amount of civil liability assessed for the violations.

The Discharger understands that this Acceptance and Waiver does not address or resolve 
liability for any violation that is not specifically identified in ‘Exhibit A’.

Upon execution by the Discharger, the completed Acceptance and Waiver shall be 
returned to:

California Regional Water Quality Control Board, Colorado River Basin
Attention: Kai Dunn

73720 Fred Waring Drive, Suite 100
Palm Desert, CA 92260

The Discharger understands that federal regulations set forth at Code of Federal 
Regulations, title 40, section 123.27(d)(2)(iii) require the Regional Water Board to publish 
notice of and provide at least thirty (30) days for public comment on any proposed 
resolution of an enforcement action addressing NPDES permit violations. Accordingly, this 
Acceptance and Waiver will be published as required by law for public comment prior to 
the Executive Officer’s execution.
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The Discharger understands that if no comments are received within the public notice 
period that causes the Executive Officer to question the conditional settlement offer, the 
Executive Officer will execute this Acceptance and Waiver.

The Discharger understands that if significant comments are received in opposition to the 
conditional settlement offer, the offer may be withdrawn. In that circumstance, the 
Discharger will be advised of the withdrawal and an administrative civil liability complaint 
may be issued and the matter may be set for a hearing before the Regional Water Board. 
For such a liability hearing, the Discharger understands that its executed Acceptance and 
Waiver will be treated as a settlement communication and will not be used as evidence in 
that hearing. 

The Discharger understands that once the Executive Officer executes this Acceptance 
and Waiver, the full payment required by the deadline set forth below is a condition of this 
Acceptance and Waiver. 

The Discharger understands that funds collected for violations under Water Code sections 
13385 and 13385.1 shall be deposited in the State Water Pollution Cleanup and 
Abatement Account. Accordingly, the liability shall be paid by a cashier's or certified check 
for $6,000 made out to the "State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account." 

The Discharger understands that payment must be submitted to the State Water 
Resources Control Board no later than thirty (30) calendar days after the date on which 
the Executive Officer executes this Acceptance and Waiver.

The Discharger shall mail the check to:

State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Administrative Services, Accounting Branch
Attn: ACL Payment 
PO Box 1888
Sacramento, CA 95812-1888

I hereby affirm that l am duly authorized to act on behalf of and to bind the Discharger in 
the making and giving of this Acceptance and Waiver.

Valley Sanitary District

By:   Original Signed By                                             4/18/23    
       Signed Name     Date

          Ronald Buchwald                                         Interim General Manager 
       Printed or Typed Name    Title
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Note: Please return the signed Acceptance and Waiver with Exhibit A, together.

IT IS SO ORDERED PURSUANT TO WATER CODE SECTION 13385.

By:                                                    
       PAULA RASMUSSEN    Date
       Executive Officer
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