

California Regional Water Quality Control Board

Los Angeles Region





Alan C. Lloyd, Ph.D.

Agency Secretary

320 W. 4th Street, Suite 200, Los Angeles, California 90013
Phone (213) 576-6600 FAX (213) 576-6640 - Internet Address: http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/losangeles

Arnold Schwarzenegger Governor

November 21, 2005

Mr. John R. Mundy, General Manager Las Virgenes Municipal Water District 4232 Las Virgenes Road Calabasas, California 91302

Dear Mr. Mundy:

WASTE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS – LAS VIRGENES MUNICIPAL WATER DISTRICT, TAPIA WATER RECLAMATION FACILITY (NPDES NO. CA0056014, CI NO. 4760)

Our letter dated October 3, 2005, transmitted a revised tentative Order and revised Time Schedule Order (TSO) for renewal of your permit to discharge wastes under the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES).

Pursuant to Division 7 of the California Water Code, this Regional Board at a public hearing held on November 3, 2005, reviewed the revised tentative requirements, considered all comments received, and adopted Order R4-2005-0074 and TSO R4-2005-0075 (copies enclosed) for your waste discharge. Order No. R4-2005-0074 serves as your NPDES permit and expires on June 10, 2010 and and TSO expires on May 17, 2010. Section 13376 of the California Water Code requires that an application for a new permit must be filed at least 180 days before the expiration date.

The complete final Order and Permit will be sent only to the Discharger. However, these documents are available on the Regional Board' website for your review. The Regional Board' web address is www.waterboards.ca.gov/losangeles/.

You are required to implement the *Monitoring and Reporting Program (MRP)* on the effective date of Order No. R4-2005-0074. The dates that the monitoring and annual reports must be received at the Regional Board Office are provided in the *MRP*. Submit all monitoring reports and annual reports to the Regional Board, <u>Attn: Information Technology Unit</u>. When submitting monitoring, technical reports, or any correspondence regarding the discharge under Order No. R4-2005-0074 to the Regional Board, please include a reference to our *Compliance File No. CI 4760* to assure that the reports are directed to the appropriate staff and file. Please do not combine your discharge monitoring reports with other reports. Submit each type of report as a separate document.

November 21, 2005

If you have any questions, please contact me at (213) 576-6720 or Namiraj Jain at (213) 620-6003.

Sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY

Blythe Ponek-Bacharowski Acting Chief, Watershed Regulatory Section

Enclosures

cc: Dan Meer, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region IX, (WTR-7)

Robyn Stuber, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region IX, (WTR-5)

Anthony Spina, National Marine Fisheries Service

Kirk Waln, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

David Pritchett, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Ray Sauvajot, National Park Service

Hon. Shiela James Kuehl, California Senate, 23rd Senate District,

Gary Timon, California Coastal Commission

Julia McIver, California Coastal Conservancy

Chris Kroll, California Coastal Conservancy

Bill Paznokas, California Department of Fish and Game

Suzanne Goode, Los Angeles District, California Department of Parks and Recreation

Daniel Preece, California Department of Parks and Recreation

Stephen Jewett, Natural Resources Conservation Service, Somis Office

Don Wolfe, Los Angeles County Department of Public Works

Angus Alexander, Los Angeles County Lifeguard Association

Steven Saylors, Northern Section, Los Angeles County Fire Department

Barton Slutske, Malibu Health Center, Los Angeles County, Department of Health Services

Hon. Ed Corridori, Mayor, City of Agoura Hills

Hon, Barry Groveman, Mayor, City of Calabasas

Hon. Dennis Washburn, Mayor Pro Term, City of Calabasas

Hon. Andy Stern, Mayor, City of Malibu

Hon. Claudia Bill-de la Peñ, Mayor, City of Thousand Oaks

Hon. Mark Rutherford, Mayor, City of Westlake Village

Michael Teruyo, City of Malibu, Planning Division

Yagal K. Lall, Department of Public Works, City of Malibu

Donald Nelson, Department of Public Works, City of Thousand Oaks

Ken Berkman, City of Agoura Hills

Larry Young, City of Malibu

Rebecca Bar, Resource Conservation District of Santa Monica Mountains

Jerome C. Daniel, Santa Monica Mountains Conservancy

Jean Garret, Santa Monica Bay Audubon Society

Renne Guzman, Weston, Benshoof, ET.AL

Mark Gold, Heal The Bay

Traci Egoscue, Santa Monica Baykeeper

Damon Wing, Wishtoyo Foundation

Jim Maughan, Divison of Water Quality

Barton Slutske, Evironmental Health

Marilyn Levin, Office of Attorney General

Tom Barnes, Environmental Science

Ellen Cooley-Woodland Hills

Michael Maisner, Dept. of Water Resources

Mailing List (cont'd)

California Environmental Protection Agency



David Beckman, Natural Resources Defense Council

Jeff Harris, Environment Now

David Brown, Sierra Club

Jim Edmondson, California Trout

Mary Frampton, Save Our Coast

Ben Hamilton, Surfrider Foundation

Janet McPherson, Malibu Surfriders

Mark Cousineau, Surfrider Foundation/National Office

Anne Payne, Sierra Retreat

Bob Purvey, Surfrider Foundation/Malibu Chapter

Patrick Rogan, Malibu Surfing Association

Mark Ball, Malibu Chamber of Commerce

Paul B. Blatz, Blatz Law Firm

Louis Busch, Louis T. Busch Associates

Debbie Davis, Tacata Associates

Ned Evans/Jim Ganzer, Beatnik Brand

Scott Halley, Scott Halley Associates, Inc.

Ellen Jenkins, Ellen Ross Jenkins, RPT, B.A.

Judi Jensen, Judy Jensen Costume Design

John Kaufman, The Kaufman Group

Kenneth Wikle, Cold Creek Community Council

John Perenchio, Malibu Bay Company

Jim Ries, Malibu Bay Company

Gregg Simon, Oppenheimer & Co., Inc.

Frances Spivy-Weber, Mono Lake Committee

Rich Lawson, Malibu High School

John Walsh, University of Southern California

Rich Ambrose, University of California, Los Angeles

Susan Nissman, Supervisor Yaroslavsky's Office

Ann Zobel, Malibu News

Megan Birkins

C.W. Carson

Rhea Damon

Madelyn Glickfield

Richard Harris

Nick Kaeller

Leemon McHenry

Tom Nefcy

Victor D. Newcomer, M.D.

Peter Marshall

Virginia Drasnin

Ozzie Silna

California Environmental Protection Agency

- 5 -

- 6 -