



Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board

February 24, 2020

Ms. Nina McAfee EHS Manager Environmental Kinder Morgan Liquids Terminal EHS 8th Floor 1001 Louisiana Street Houston, TX 77002

TERMINATION OF WASTE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS (WDRs) AND NATIONAL POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM (NPDES) PERMIT – KINDER MORGAN LIQUIDS TERMINAL, LOS ANGELES HARBOR TERMINAL, SAN PEDRO, CALIFORNIA (NPDES NUMBER CA0055816, CI NUMBER 5935)

Dear Ms. McAfee:

Reference is made to the WDRs and NPDES permit (Order Number R4-2014-0186) adopted by the Regional Water Board for the discharge of industrial storm water from Kinder Morgan Liquids Terminal, Los Angeles Harbor Terminal, located at 2200 John S. Gibson Road, San Pedro, California. Order Number R4-2014-0186 was adopted on September 11, 2014 and expired on October 31, 2019.

Your letter dated October 31, 2019, requested termination of the NPDES permit because the Facility has not discharged since December 19, 2010, and has taken measures to prevent further discharges to the receiving waters. The Regional Water Board concluded that the NPDES permit regulating the discharge is no longer needed based on the following:

- The Facility now collects and treats storm water runoff onsite in above-ground tanks prior to it being hauled offsite.
- On November 15, 2019 the Facility installed a metal plate blocking discharge. The Facility has also locked the discharge valve.

Order Number R4-2014-0186 was terminated by operation of law on October 31, 2019. Discharge from the Facility to the receiving water is therefore now prohibited. Should any future activities at the subject Facility result in new discharges of any wastewater to any surface waters of the United States, you are required to file a Report of Waste Discharge with this Regional Water Board and secure a permit prior to discharge.

IRMA MUÑOZ, CHAIR | RENEE PURDY, EXECUTIVE OFFICER



If you have any further questions, please contact Thomas Siebels at (213) 576-6756.

Sincerely,

Renee Purdy Executive Officer

cc (via email only):

Ms. Elizabeth Sablad, Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9, Permits Branch Ms. Robyn Stuber, Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9, Permits Branch Ms. Becky Mitschele, Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9 Mr. Kenneth Wong, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mr. Bryant Chesney, NOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service Mr. Jeff Phillips, Department of Interior, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Ms. Loni Adams, Department of Fish and Wildlife, Region 5 Ms. Sutida Bergquist, State Water Resource Control Board, Drinking Water Division Mr. Charles Posner, California Coastal Commission, South Coast Region Ms. Amber Dobson, California Coastal Commission Mr. Theodore Johnson, Water Replenishment District of Southern California Mr. Tim Smith, Los Angeles County, Department of Public Works Mr. Angelo Bellomo, Los Angeles County, Department of Public Health Ms. Sylvie Makara, Heal the Bay Ms. Annelisa Moe, Heal the Bay Mr. Bruce Reznik, Los Angeles WaterKeeper Mr. Arthur Pugsley, Los Angeles WaterKeeper Ms. Corinne Bell, Natural Resources Defense Council Ms. Joan Matthews, Natural Resources Defense Council Mr. James Ashby, PG Environmental Ms. Sarah Torres, PG Environmental Mr. James Peter Jensen, Kinder Morgan Liquids Terminal Ms. Michele Floren, York Engineering