



## Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board

October 18, 2022

Ms. Martha Tremblay, Assistant Chief Engineer and Assistant General Manager Executive Management County Sanitation Districts of L.A. County 1955 Workman Mill Road Whittier, CA 90601

TENTATIVE AMENDMENT TO TIME SCHEDULE ORDER (TSO) FOR SANTA CLARITA VALLEY SANITATION DISTRICT OF LOS ANGELES COUNTY (SCVSD), VALENCIA WATER RECLAMATION PLANT, ORDER NO. R4-2019-0055-AXX (CI NO 4993)

Dear Ms. Tremblay:

The California Regional Water Quality Control Board, Los Angeles Region (Los Angeles Water Board) received SCVSD's letter dated September 30, 2022, requesting an extension of the time schedule for chloride in Time Schedule Order (TSO) No. R4-2019-0055-A02 beyond the December 31, 2022 deadline.

Pursuant to California Water Code sections 13385 (j)(3)(B)(i) and 13385 (j)(3)(C)(i), a tentative amended TSO has been prepared. Enclosed are copies of the tentative amended TSO and the Notice of Public Hearing of amended TSO.

In accordance with administrative procedures, this Board at a public hearing to be held on **December 8, 2022, at 9:00 A.M.**, at WRD Headquarters Board Room located at 4040 Paramount Blvd, Lakewood, CA 90712, will consider the enclosed tentative amended TSO, and comments submitted in writing regarding any and all portions thereof. A virtual platform is also available for those who want to join online. Please follow the directions provided in the agenda to register or to view the Board meeting. The Los Angeles Water Board will hear any testimony pertinent to this discharge and the tentative amended TSO. It is expected that the Board will take action at the hearing; however, as testimony indicates, the Board, at its discretion, may postpone taking action. The agenda for the meeting will be posted on the Los Angeles Water Board's website (http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/losangeles/board\_info/agenda/index.shtml) approximately one week prior to the meeting.

Written comments regarding this tentative amended TSO must be received by the Los Angeles Water Board's Office (320 W 4<sup>th</sup> Street, Suite 200, Los Angeles, California 90013) or by email submitted to <a href="Veronica.Cuevas@waterboards.ca.gov">Veronica.Cuevas@waterboards.ca.gov</a> by **5:00 p.m.** on November 17, 2022, in order to be evaluated by Board staff and included in the Board's agenda folder. Comments received after that date will not be considered,

JAMES STAHL, ACTING CHAIR | RENEE PURDY, EXECUTIVE OFFICER

absent extraordinary circumstances. Timely submittal of written comments is encouraged to ensure that all comments are accurately and fully included in the administrative record, that Board staff is able to provide timely review, and that Los Angeles Water Board members have sufficient time to give full consideration to the comments and issues raised. The Los Angeles Water Board chair may exclude from the record written materials received after this date. (See Cal. Code Regs., tit.23 § 648.4)

Should you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact Veronica Cuevas at <a href="Veronica.Cuevas@waterboards.ca.gov">Veronica.Cuevas@waterboards.ca.gov</a> or Steven Webb at <a href="Steven.Webb@waterboards.ca.gov">Steven.Webb@waterboards.ca.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

Steven Webb, P.E. Municipal Permitting Unit Supervisor Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board

cc: See mailing list

## **Mailing List**

Ms. Julie Song, Amelia Whitson, and Ms. Elizabeth Sablad, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 9, Permits Branch (WTR-2-3)

Mr. Kenneth Wong, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Mr. Bryant Chesney, NOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service

Mr. Jonathan Snyder and Chris Diel, Department of Interior, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Ms. Loni Adams & Erinn Wilson-Olgin, Department of Fish and Wildlife, Region 5 Ms. Afrooz Farsimadan and Mr. Renan Jauregui, State Water Resources Control Board

Mr. Melky Calderon and Cedric Irvig, State Water Resources Control Board, Division of Financial Assistance

Mr. Tom Luster and Ms. Amber Dobson, California Coastal Commission

Ms. Mary Small, California Coastal Conservancy

Mr. Tim Smith, Los Angeles County Department of Public Works

Ms. Annelisa Moe, Heal the Bay

Mr. Mati Waiya, Wishtoyo Organization

Mr. Bruce Reznik and Benjamin Harris, Los Angeles WaterKeeper

Ms. Corinne Bell and Ms. Joan Matthews, Natural Resources Defense Council

Ms. Katherine Squires Solomon and Ms. Sandra Cattell, Sierra Club

Ms. Lynne Plambeck, Santa Clarita Organization for Planning and the Environment (SCOPE)

Ms. Candice Meneghin, Friends of the Santa Clara River

Ms. Kat Selm, The Nature Conservancy

Ms. Katie Day, Surfrider

Mr. Robert Silverstein, Affordable Clean Water Alliance (ACWA)

Ms. Esther Kornfeld, Naira Soghbatyan and Veronica Lebron, Silverstein Law

Ms. Sara Torres, PG Environmental

Mr. Matt Carpenter. Five Point

Mr. Steve Cole, Santa Clarita Valley Water Agency

Ms. Klarissa Arias