



Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board

April 21, 2016

Mr. Paul Costa Manager, Environmental Operations and Compliance Santa Susana Field Laboratory The Boeing Company 5800 Woolsey Canyon Road Canoga Park, CA 91304-1148

Dear Mr. Costa:

Subject: Request for Public Review and Comments on the Revised Human Health Risk

Assessment (HHRA) Work Plan for Surface Water Runoff, Santa Susana Field Laboratory, Ventura County, CA (Order Pursuant to California Water Code

Section 13383; CA0001309, CI No. 6027)

The Regional Board on June 24, 2015, issued a letter requiring Boeing to perform a HHRA at southern outfalls including Outfalls 001, 002, 008, 009, 011, 018, 019, and 020 locations under the requirements of the Section 13383 of the California Water Code. California Water Code section 13383 provides the Regional Board the authority to require a permittee to monitor, report, and provide other information that the Regional Board requires. On September 17, 2015, the Boeing Company submitted a HHRA Work Plan for Surface Water Runoff Exiting the Santa Susana Field Laboratory via these outfalls.

The Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment (OEHHA) and Regional Board staff reviewed the August 4, 2015, HHRA Work Plan submitted. On January 28, 2016, OEHHA and Regional Board comments were submitted to Boeing including directions to revise the Work Plan. On March 31, 2016, Geosyntec on behalf of Boeing submitted the revised Work Plan incorporating the requested revisions. Regional Board staff have reviewed the revised HHRA Work Plan and determined that the comments have been addressed.

The Regional Board is soliciting comments on the revised HHRA Work Plan. The revised HHRA Work Plan is posted both on the Boeing and Regional Board websites for public review and comment. The deadline for submitting comments is May 31, 2016. Please submit the comments to losangeles@waterboards.ca.gov with a copy to Mazhar Ali at mazhar.ali@waterboards.ca.gov, reference Boeing Santa Susana Field Laboratory NPDES No. CA0001309, CI-6027, HHRA Work Plan comments

If you have any questions, please contact Ms. Cassandra Owens at 213-576-6750 or Cassandra.Owens@waterboards.ca.gov or Mazhar Ali at the aforementioned email address or via phone at 213-576-6652.

Sincerely,

Samuel Unger, P.E.
Executive Officer

Enclosure

cc: Mr. David Smith, Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9, Permits Branch (WTR-5)

Ms. Robyn Stuber, Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9, Permits Branch (WTR-5)

Ms. Becky Mitschele, Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9, Permits Branch (WTR-5)

Mr. Kenneth Wong, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Mr. Bryant Chesney, NOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service

Mr. Jeff Phillips, Department of Interior, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Mr. William Paznokas, Department of Fish and Game, Region 5

Department of Public Health, Sanitary Engineering Section

Ms. Teresa Henry, California Coastal Commission, South Coast Region

South Coast Air Quality Management District

Mr. Theodore Johnson, Water Replenishment District of Southern California

Los Angeles County, Department of Public Works, Waste Management Division

Ms. Sutida Bergguist, State Water Resources Control Board, Division of Drinking Water

Ms. Rita Kampalath, Heal the Bay

Mr. Bruce Reznik, Los Angeles WaterKeeper

Ms. Johanna Dryer, Natural Resources Defense Council

Mr. Mark Malinowski, Department of Toxic Substances Control

Mr. Roger Paulson, Department of Toxic Substances Control

Mr. Tom Seckington, Department of Toxic Substances Control

Mr. Daniel Cooper, Lawyers for Clean Water

Mr. Pete Zobra, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Mr. John Jones, United States Department of Energy

Mr. Michael Bubman, c/o Bell Creek Homeowners Association

Mr. Paul Carpenter, Department of Toxic Substances Control

Ms. Mary Meyer, California Department of Fish and Wild Life

Ms. Christine Found-Jackson, California Department of Fish and Wild Life

Mr. Jeff Humble, California Department of Fish and Wild Life

Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9, Office of Radiation Programs

Ms. Jennifer Fordyce, Office of Chief Counsel, State Water Resources Control Board

NPDES Wastewater Unit, Div. of Water Quality, State Water Resources Control Board

Ms. Jeannie Chan

Mr. David W. Dassler, Boeing

Ms. Elizabeth Crawford

Ms. Nicole Dollen Ventura County Planning Division

Ms. Ginn Doose

Mr. John Farrow, M. R. Wolfe Si Associates, P.C.

Ms. Tatiana Guar, LA Waterkeeper

Mr. Matt Flagemann, Soil/Water/Air Protection Enterprise

Mr. Dan Hirsch, Committee to Bridge the Gap

Ms. Barbara Johnson, Susana Knolls Homeowners, Inc.

Dr. Michael Josselyn, WRA, Inc.

Mr. Daniel Maccabee, Brandeis-Bardin Institute

Mr. Sheldon Plotkin, Southern California Federation of Scientists'

Ms. Bunny Raskin

Ms. Chris Rowe

Mr. Adam Salkin

Mr. Mathew Sanders, Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP

Ms. Lorraine Scott

Dr. Michael Stenstrom, SSFL Stormwater Expert Panel

Ms. Rebecca Tadesse, Branch Chief of Materials Decommissioning, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Mr. Rick Verguitz, Water & Environmental Resources Section, Ventura County Watershed Protection District

Mr. Mati Waiya, Wishtoyo Foundation

Ms. Christina Walsh, SaveSantaSusana.org

Dr. Daniel Wiseman, West Hills Neighborhood Council-Santa Monica Mountains Area Committee

California State University, Northridge

City of Los Angeles, Bureau of Engineering, Wastewater Systems Engineering Division Friends of the Los Angeles River Los Angeles and San Gabriel Rivers Watershed Council Los Angeles County, Department of Health Services

Los Angeles County, Department of Public Works, Environmental Programs Division

Masry & Vititoe Law Offices

Simi Valley Library

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

ULARA Watermaster

Ventura County Air Pollution Control District

Ventura County Environmental Health Division

Ventura County Public Works

Mr. Alec Uzemeck, GAG Chair

Dr. Ronald Ziman

Mr. A. J. Greenstein

Ms. Teresa Jordan

Mr. Wayne Lee

Mr. John Luker

Ms. Carissa Marsh, The Simi Valley Acorn

Ms. Marie Mason

Mr. Jack M. Wallace

Ms. Marge Weems

Ms. Mary Wiesbrock

Mr. Anthony Zepeda

Mr. Cybil Zeppieri

Mr. Lori Zinkan

Ms. Elizabeth Zlotnik

Mr. Peter Weiner, Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP

City Manager, Simi Valley

Mr. Greg Smith

Mr. Richard Mathews

Ms. Caroline Aslanian

Ms. Cristine Peterson

Mr. Isaac Levy

Mr. William Preston Bowling

Ms. Bonnie Klea

Ms. Deena Parry

Ms. Cindi Gortner

Ms. Margery Brown

Rocketdyne Cleanup Coalition

Mr. Ben Carrier