
State Water Resources Control Board

NOTICE OF PROPOSED EMERGENCY RULEMAKING 
 

Water Rights Fees for Fiscal Year 2020-2021 
 

Amendments to Division 3 of Title 23 of the California Code of Regulations

Required Notice of Proposed Emergency Action
Government Code section 11346.1, subdivision (a)(2) requires that, at least five working 
days prior to submission of a proposed emergency action to the Office of Administrative 
Law (OAL), the adopting agency must provide a notice of the proposed emergency 
action to every person who has filed a request for notice of regulatory action with the 
agency.  This document provides the required notice.  Upon receiving the proposed 
emergency regulation, OAL shall publish the notice on their website and allow interested 
persons five calendar days to submit comments on the proposed emergency regulation 
as set forth in Government Code section 11349.6.

Proposed Emergency Action
Effective January 1, 2004, the Water Code was amended to require the State Water 
Resources Control Board (State Water Board or Board) to adopt emergency regulations 
revising and establishing fees to be deposited in the Water Rights Fund (WRF) in the 
State Treasury (Wat. Code, §§ 1525, 1530, 1551).  The Water Code requires the State 
Water Board to review and revise the fee schedule each fiscal year as necessary to 
conform to the amounts appropriated by the Legislature for expenditure, from the WRF 
for support of water rights program activities.

On September 15, 2020, the State Water Board adopted by resolution an emergency 
regulation amending water rights fee schedules in title 23, sections 1032, 1041, 1044,
1062, 1063, 1064, 1066, 1069, and 3833.1 of the California Code of Regulations.  In 
general, the emergency regulation will (1) increase annual water right application, permit 
and license fees to conform to amounts appropriated by the Legislature from the WRF, 
(2) adjust the caps on application and underground storage streamlined permitting 
process fees based on the California consumer price index, (3) establish a 
5-year underground storage temporary permit filing fee for division to underground 
storage, (4) establish California Department of Fish and Wildlife 5-year underground 
storage temporary permit and 5-year temporary change petition filing fees, (5) adjust the 
fees for Clean Water Act section 401 certifications for projects undergoing licensing or 
operating pursuant to licenses issued by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 
(FERC), and (6) adjust the proof of claim fee.  The proposed emergency regulation
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would also adjust the due date of an underground temporary permit renewal fee and 
make several changes to Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA) reporting 
and fees, including exempting extractors from reporting and paying fees to the State 
Water Board under certain conditions, and allowing the State Water Board to waive 
annual filing fees if a waiver would advance the protection of groundwater resources.

Proposed Text of Emergency Regulation
See the attached proposed text of the emergency regulation.

Finding of Emergency (Gov. Code, § 11346.1, subd. (b))
The State Water Board has a mandatory legal duty to assess fees and to adopt the 
schedule of fees by emergency regulation (Wat. Code, §§ 1525, 1530). Water Code 
section 1530, subdivision (b) states that “[t]he adoption of these regulations is an 
emergency and shall be considered by the Office of Administrative Law as necessary for 
the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, and general welfare.” 
Notwithstanding chapter 3.5 (commencing with section 11340) of part 1 of division 3 the 
Government Code, the emergency regulation shall remain in effect until revised by the 
State Water Board (Wat. Code, § 1530).

Moreover, the State Water Board finds that the proposed amendments to the Board’s fee 
regulations must be adopted immediately in order to allow for the timely collection of fees 
to conform to amounts appropriated by the Legislature from the WRF for the support of 
water right program activities.  Without fee revenue in the amounts appropriated, much 
of the water rights program would be in danger of being shut down.  Continued 
administration of the water rights program is essential to the economy and environment 
of the State of California.  Without funding for the program, critical water transfers and 
changes in water project operations would not be approved, the security of water rights 
needed for the state's water supply projects would be undermined, and the environment 
would be threatened.  New water supply projects for irrigation or municipal use, and 
modification of existing projects involving changes in permitted or licensed water rights, 
could not move forward.  The water rights program also is important for the protection of 
public health.  For example, the water rights program applies and enforces Bay-Delta 
water quality standards that protect the drinking water supplies for 22 million 
Californians. In sum, adoption of the proposed regulation is necessary for the immediate 
preservation of the public health and welfare.

The State Water Board is unable to address the situation through non-emergency 
regulations because, as discussed above, it has a mandatory legal duty to adopt the fee 
schedules by emergency regulation.

Authority and Reference (Gov. Code, § 11346.5, subd. (a)(2))
Water Code sections 348, 1058, 1529.5, 1530 and 13160.1 provide authority for the 
emergency regulation.  The emergency regulation implements, interprets, or makes 
specific Water Code sections 348, 386, 1228.3, 1228.5, 1228.7, 1425, 1426, 1525,
1528, 1529.5, 1530, 1535, 1536, 1537, 1551, 1552, 5202 and 13160.1.
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Informative Digest (Gov. Code, § 11346.5, subd. (a)(3))
Under the Water Code and existing regulations, a person filing a water right application, 
petition, registration, groundwater recordation or other filing, must pay a filing fee to the 
State Water Board.  Existing regulations also establish annual fees for water rights 
permits, licenses, water leases, applications and requests for water quality certification. 
In addition, the existing regulations establish requirements for filing a petition for 
reconsideration of a fee determination made by the State Water Board.  The water rights 
fee regulations are contained in division 3 of title 23 of the California Code of 
Regulations.  An overview of the objectives and benefits of the regulations is provided 
above, under “Finding of Emergency.”

The emergency regulation will (1) increase annual water right application, permit and 
license fees to conform to amounts appropriated by the Legislature from the WRF, 
(2) adjust the caps on application and underground storage streamlined permitting 
process fees based on the California consumer price index, (3) establish a 5-year 
underground storage temporary permit filing fee for division to underground storage,  
(4) establish California Department of Fish and Wildlife 5-year underground storage 
temporary permit and 5-year temporary change petition filing fees, (5) adjust the fees for 
Clean Water Act section 401 certifications for projects undergoing licensing or operating 
pursuant to licenses issued by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), and 
(6) adjust the proof of claim fee.  The proposed emergency regulation would also adjust 
the due date of an underground temporary permit renewal fee and make several changes 
to Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA) reporting and fees, including 
exempting extractors from reporting and paying fees to the State Water Board under 
certain conditions, and allowing the State Water Board to waive annual filing fees if a 
waiver would advance the protection of groundwater resources.

There is no comparable federal statute or regulation.  The proposed regulation is not 
inconsistent or incompatible with existing state regulations.

Other Matters Prescribed by Statute (Gov. Code, § 11346.5, subd. (a)(4))
No other matters are prescribed by statute or regulation applicable to the State Water 
Board’s water right fees.

Local Mandate (Gov. Code, § 11346.5, subd. (a)(5))
The proposed emergency regulation does not impose a mandate on local agencies or 
school districts because it does not mandate a new program or a higher level of service 
of an existing program.  The fee schedule applies equally to public and private entities 
and is not unique to local government. No state reimbursement is required by part 7 
(commencing with section 17500) of division 4 of the Government Code.

Estimate of Cost or Savings (Gov. Code, § 11346.5, subd. (a)(6))
Under the proposed emergency regulation’s increase in FERC and annual permit and 
license fees, most local and state agencies will pay more in annual fees than last year. 
The California Department of Water Resources (Department) holds water rights for 
projects associated with the State Water Project for which the increased cost will be 
approximately $93,327 for FY 2020-21.  Additionally, the Department will have 
increased FERC-related 401 certification fees of approximately $263,214.  However, it 
is assumed the Department will pass its fees through to the State Water Project 
contractors; therefore, any increase in costs will not be borne by the State.  All other
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state agencies with water rights will only incur increased costs for FY 2020-21 of less 
than $145 per water right and should be able to absorb these costs within their existing 
budgets.  Furthermore, state and local agencies may also pass their costs to their 
contractors or constituents.  No other state agency has FERC-related 401 certifications 
pending or licensed at this time.

Under the proposed emergency regulations, there will be an increase in the caps for 
application and petition filing fees.  As a result, local and state agencies may be subject 
to increased costs.  However, it is impossible to predict what filings the State Water 
Board will receive, though it can be assumed that state and local agencies are unlikely to 
submit new water right applications or petitions for amounts exceeding the current filing 
fee cap.  If a state or local agency were to be subject to fees greater than the current 
filing fee cap, they typically will pass along all water right fees to the contractors or 
otherwise recover such costs.  Therefore, it is unlikely that any state or local agencies 
will see increased costs due to the increase in caps on the application and petition filing 
fees.

There is no cost to any local agency or school district for which reimbursement is 
required.

There is no cost or savings in federal funding to the state.

October 14, 2020
Date       Jeanine Townsend

Clerk to the Board
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23 CCR § 1032
§ 1032. Electronic Forms.

(a) Reports as defined by section 1032 1030, subdivision (k), shall be submitted to 
the board electronically on forms available at the board's website, unless 
submitted pursuant to subdivision (b).

(b) Reports as defined by section 1030, subdivision (k), for groundwater extractions 
that meet all of the following criteria, may be submitted to the board in the form 
required for submission to a court-appointed watermaster:
(1) Are described in section 5202, subdivision (a)(2) of the Water Code, but not 

section 5202, subdivision (a)(1) of the Water Code;
(2) Are subject to the jurisdiction of a court conducting a comprehensive 

groundwater adjudication pursuant to sections 830 to 852 of the Code of Civil 
Procedure;

(3) Are required to be reported to a court-appointed watermaster on no less than 
an annual basis;

(4) Are measured using a meter; and
(5) Are not located in a basin in which the Board is conducting an investigation or 

proceeding under Chapter 11 of Part 2.74 of Division 6 of the Water Code.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 348 and 1058, Water Code. 
Reference: Sections 1529.5, 1530 and 5202, Water Code.
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23 CCR § 1041
§ 1041. Exceptions for Water Year Ending September 30, 2017 to the Fee Schedule.

An exception to section 1040 applies for annual fees for the water year ending 
September 30, 2017, for which any person required to file a report shall submit to the 
board an annual filing fee in accordance with the following schedule:

(a) For groundwater extractions in an area that is within the management area of an 
agency by September 30, 2017, the annual fee is waived.

(b) For groundwater extractions not subject to subdivision (a)(1), the annual fee is $300 
per well with no additional volumetric charge.

(c) For persons required to file a report who fail to file a report by December 15, 2017, 
the annual fee shall include an additional charge of $100, plus $100 for each 30-day 
period after December 15, 2017 in which the report has not been filed. In no case shall 
the additional charge exceed $900. No annual filing fee applies to reports submitted to 
the Board pursuant to section 1032, subdivision (b).

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058, 1529.5 and 1530, Water Code. 
Reference: Sections 1525, 1536 and 1537, Water Code.
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23 CCR § 1044
§ 1044. Administration of Fees.

(a) Annual filing fees shall be based on the regulations in effect at the time of filing. 
Annual filing fees for the report for the prior water year are due and payable on 
February 15, or thirty days after the Board issues an invoice, whichever is later.

(b) The Board may waive requirements under this article for any person or class of 
extractor if the waiver is determined by the board to advance implementation of 
Part 2.74 of Division 6 of the Water Code. Any person subject to this article may 
request a waiver, provided that the person is in compliance with the groundwater 
extraction reporting requirements described in Water Code section 5202, 
subdivision (a) and is a low-income resident or a public water system serving a 
disadvantaged community where the primary purpose of providing water is for 
human consumption, cooking and sanitary purposes.

(c) For purposes of this section, a low-income resident is: (A) someone whose 
household income is 200 percent or less of federal poverty level (For one-person 
households, program eligibility shall be based on two-person household guideline 
levels) or (B) someone who is enrolled in a qualified public assistance program.

(d) For purposes of this section, a public water system has the same meaning as 
defined in Health and Safety Code section 116275, subdivision (h).

(e) For purposes of this section, a disadvantaged community has the same meaning 
as defined in California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 64300, subdivision 
(a).

(f) Any waiver request must be submitted to the Board within 30 days of when the 
fee is due pursuant to subdivision (a) of this section for the waiver to apply to that 
billing and must be supported by adequate substantiation of eligibility for the 
annual fee waiver. For any waiver request supported by adequate substantiation 
of eligibility that is submitted to the Board more than 30 days after the fee is due 
pursuant to subdivision (a) of this section, the reduction shall take effect in the 
subsequent fiscal year.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058, 1529.5 and 1530, Water Code.
Reference: Section 116275, Health and Safety Code; Sections 1525, 1536, 1537 and
5202, Water Code.
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23 CCR § 1062
§ 1062. Filing Fees for Water Right Applications.

(a) A person who files a water right application shall pay to the board a filing fee as 
follows:

(1)(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (B) and (C), the fee for a water right 
application shall be $1,000, plus $15 for each acre-foot that the applicant seeks 
to divert in excess of 10 acre-feet. The total fee shall not exceed
$553,919570,426, plus any additional fee due pursuant to subparagraphs (2) and 
(3).
(B) At a facility where a small hydroelectric generating facility meets the criteria 
for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality 
Act, as established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, the 
fee shall be $1,000.
(C) The fee for an application for a temporary permit filed under Water Code 
section 1425, other than a permit described in subparagraph (D) or (E) of this 
subdivision, shall be the greater of either (i) 50 percent of the fee calculated 
under subparagraph (A), above, or (ii) $2,000.
(D) The fee for an application for a temporary permit under Water Code section 
1425 for a small hydroelectric generating facility that meets the criteria for a 
Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality Act, 
as established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, shall be
$1,000. The filing fee includes the annual permit fee if a temporary permit is 
issued.
(E) The fee for an application for a temporary permit filed under Water Code 
section 1425 that is solely for purposes of diverting water from high flow events 
to underground storage for later beneficial use shall be the lesser of either (i) the 
fee calculated pursuant to subparagraph (C), above, or (ii) $5,000 plus $0.10 for 
every acre-foot of water applied for. For renewal of a temporary permit issued 
pursuant to this subparagraph, where the renewal proposes an identical project 
and is filed within one year of issuance of the prior temporary permit, the fee for 
renewal of a temporary permit shall be $1,500 plus $0.20 per acre-foot of water 
actually diverted under the renewed temporary permit. The portion of the 
application fee based on the amount diverted shall be due within 30 days of 
actual diversion permit expiration, and shall be accompanied by a report of the 
amount actually diverted.
(F) The fee for an application for an appropriative right to divert water to 
underground storage that meets the criteria of this subparagraph shall be 75 
percent of the fee calculated pursuant to subdivision (a)(1)(A). To be eligible for 
this reduced fee:
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(i) The application must be for diversion of water only between December 1 and 
March 31;
(ii) The application must be primarily for diversion to underground storage in a 
groundwater basin identified in Bulletin 118;
(iii) The applicant must be a Groundwater Sustainability Agency or local agency 
as defined in Water Code section 10721;
(iv) The applicant has completed all environmental documents required under the 
California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA); and
(v) The application proposes diversions only when either the streamflow at the 
point(s) of diversion is above the 90th percentile calculated from gage data during 
the period-of-record and the diversion rate is limited to 20 percent of the total 
streamflow, or when flows in the source waterbody at or near the point of 
diversion exceed thresholds that trigger flood control actions necessary to 
mitigate threats to human health and safety according to established written flood 
management protocols adopted by a flood control agency.
(2) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition to revise a declaration 
of fully appropriated stream systems, then $10,000 shall be added to the fee.
(3) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition for assignment of a 
state-filed application pursuant to Water Code section 10504, then $5,000 shall 
be added to the fee.
(G) The fee for an application for a temporary permit filed under Water Code 
section 1433.1 that is solely for purposes of diverting water to underground 
storage for later beneficial use shall be comprised of an initial filing fee equal to 
the lesser of either (i) the fee calculated pursuant to subparagraph (C), above, or 
(ii) $5,000 plus $0.10 for every acre-foot of water applied for, plus, in each fiscal 
year after the fiscal year in which the initial filing fee is due, $0.20 per acre-foot of 
water actually diverted. The portion of the fee based on the amount actually 
diverted shall be due within 30 days after the end of the diversion season, and 
shall be accompanied by a report of the amount actually diverted.
(H) An applicant for a temporary permit filed under Water Code section 1433.1 
shall also pay, in addition to the fee required by subdivision (a)(1)(G) of this 
section, a fee for the California Department of Fish and Wildlife review of the 
application as follows:
(i) For an application to divert less than 10,000 acre-feet of water per year,
$3,000 plus $0.10 per acre-foot of water applied for; or
(ii) For an application to divert 10,000 acre-feet of water per year or more, $5,000 
plus $0.10 per acre-foot of water applied for.

(b) A person who filed a water right application on or after July 1, 2003, and prior to 
January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to the difference between the
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filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the regulation in effect on 
January 1, 2004.
(c) The application filing fee includes a non-refundable initial review fee equal to $500 
plus 10 percent of the applicable application fee. No portion of the application fee shall 
be refundable once the application is either 1) accepted for filing or 2) the board 
communicates to the applicant that the applicant made a bona fide attempt to conform 
to the rules and regulations, but that the application is defective in some manner.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1425, 
1426, 1525 and 1535, Water Code.
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23 CCR § 1063
§ 1063. Annual Fees for Water Right Applications.

Under any of the following circumstances, a water right applicant shall pay an annual 
fee of $750 plus $0.0850.090 for each acre-foot in excess of 10 acre-feet, calculated as 
described in section 1066, subdivision (b).
(a) The diversion of water, the construction of diversion works, or the clearing of land 
where the diverted water will be used or stored, has been initiated before a permit is 
issued authorizing the diversion.
(b) The applicant requests the board to delay processing the water right application.
(c) The applicant is a lead agency under the California Environmental Quality Act 
(CEQA) (commencing with Public Resources Code section 21000) and has not adopted 
or certified a final environmental document for the project for which the application is 
filed, as may be required under CEQA, within two years after the board first provides 
notice of the water right application.
(d) The applicant fails to provide supplemental information requested pursuant to Water 
Code section 1275 within the time period provided.
(e) The Deputy Director for Water Rights has determined that a permit may be issued 
for the project, but the applicant has not paid filing fees required under Public 
Resources Code section 10005, Fish and Game Code section 711.4, or other law.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1525, 
1536 and 1537, Water Code.
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23 CCR § 1064
§ 1064. Filing Fees for Petitions or Requests.

(a) A person who files a petition or a request for release from priority shall pay to the 
board a filing fee for each water right application, permit or license covered by the 
petition or request in accordance with this section.

(1) For purposes of calculating the filing fee, a petition to change one or more 
terms of a single application, permit, license, or other water right shall be 
considered a single petition, provided that action can be taken on the changes 
simultaneously, except that a petition for an extension of time shall be considered 
a separate petition, subject to a separate fee, from a petition to change one or 
more other terms in a water right. A petitioner requesting changes to more than 
one application, permit, license, or other water right shall file a separate petition 
or petitions for each water right and a filing fee shall be required for each petition. 
A separate filing fee shall be required for each change petition subsequently filed 
on a water right that is already the subject of a pending petition for change.
(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (i), (ii), (iii) and (iv), the fee for a petition 
to change the terms of an application, permit or license shall be as follows. The 
fee shall be a minimum of $1,000. If the total annual amount of diversion sought 
by the pending application or authorized by the permit or license, as calculated in 
accordance with section 1066, is greater than 10 acre-feet, then the petitioner 
shall pay an additional $0.40 for each acre-foot in excess of 10 acre-feet. The 
total fee shall not exceed $20,000.
(i) The fee for a petition for change pursuant only to Water Code section 1707 
shall be $850.
(ii) The fee for a change petition involving a transfer of water pursuant to Water 
Code section 382, 1435, 1701, 1725, or 1735 shall be $2,000, plus $0.50 for 
each acre-foot that the petitioner seeks to transfer in excess of 10 acre-feet. The 
fee shall be based on the maximum amount of water proposed to be transferred 
annually, not the amount of water proposed to be transferred over the entire term 
of the transfer. The total fee shall not exceed $553,919570,426.
(iii) The fee for a petition for extension of time shall be $1,000 plus $0.40 per 
acre-foot authorized for diversions in excess of 10 acre feet, or $20,000, 
whichever is less; provided that the fee for a petition for extension of time filed in 
conjunction with a petition for another type of change for the same right shall be 
50 percent of the fee otherwise applicable pursuant to this subparagraph.
(iv) The fee for a petition for issuance of separate permits or licenses pursuant to 
section 836, where there are no changes to the authorized point of diversion, 
place of use, purpose of use, or any other material term of the permit or license 
other than as necessary for the split, shall be $850.
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(2) The fee for a petition to change the point of discharge, place of use, or 
purpose of use of treated wastewater pursuant to Water Code section 1211 shall 
be $5,000 plus $3.00 per acre-foot of reduced flow, or $75,000, whichever is 
less.
(3) The fee for a request for release from priority of a state-filed application 
pursuant to Water Code section 10504 shall be $5,000.
(4) The fee for a petition filed pursuant to Water Code section 1228.7 to change 
the point of diversion or place of use under a registration of an appropriation for 
small domestic or livestock stock pond use shall be $500.
(5) The fee for a petition filed pursuant to Water Code section 1228.7 to change 
the point of diversion or place of use under a registration of an appropriation for 
small irrigation use shall be $750.

(b) A person who filed a petition or a request for release from priority on or after
July 1, 2003, and prior to January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to 
the difference between the filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the 
regulation in effect on January 1, 2004.
(c) The petition filing fee includes a non-refundable $250 initial review fee.
(d) A petition for a temporary urgency change filed under Water Code section 1443.1 
that is solely for purposes of diverting water to underground storage for later beneficial 
use shall be accompanied by, in addition to the fee required by subdivision (a) of this 
section, a fee for the California Department of Fish and Wildlife review of the petition as 
follows:
(i) For a petition to divert less than 10,000 acre-feet of water per year, $3,000 plus $0.10 
per acre-foot of water applied for; or
(ii) For a petition to divert 10,000 acre-feet of water per year or more, $5,000 plus $0.10 
per acre-foot of water applied for.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 386, 
1228.7, 1525 and 1535, Water Code.
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23 CCR § 1066
§ 1066. Annual Fees for Permits or Licenses.

(a) A person who holds a water right permit or license shall pay a minimum annual fee 
of $300. If the total annual amount of diversion authorized by the permit or license is 
greater than 10 acre-feet, then the permittee or licensee shall pay an additional
$0.0850.090 for each acre-foot in excess of 10 acre-feet.

(1) For permits or licenses issued prior to the beginning of the year for which the 
fee is imposed, the board shall calculate annual fees according to the total 
annual amount of diversion authorized by the permit or license as of the 
beginning of the year.
(2) The board shall calculate annual fees for permits issued on or after the 
beginning of the year according to the total annual amount of diversion 
authorized by the permit as issued by the board.
(3) The annual fee shall be 75 percent of the fee calculated pursuant to 
paragraph (a) based on the face value of the permit or license, or a minimum fee 
of $300 plus $0.0850.090 for every acre-foot in excess of 10 acre-feet actually 
diverted, whichever is greater, for permits or licenses issued on or after January 
1, 2020 that meet the following criteria:
(A) The permit or license meets the criteria for the reduced application fee under 
section 1062, subdivision (a)(1)(F); and
(B) The right holder has installed and is maintaining a stream gage with telemetry 
capabilities to provide publicly available real-time streamflow conditions via the 
California Data Exchange Center website.
(4) The reduced annual fee available pursuant to subdivision (a)(3) of this section 
shall not apply if the right holder does not timely submit the progress report by 
permittee required by section 925 or the report of licensee required by section 
929.
(5) The reduced annual fee available pursuant to subdivision (a)(3) of this section 
shall be calculated based on timely reported diversions for the preceding 
reporting year, provided that the annual fee for the year in which a permit is 
issued shall be 75 percent of the fee calculated pursuant to paragraph (a) based 
on the face value of the permit or license.

(b) The board shall calculate the annual fee based on the total annual amount of 
diversion authorized by the permit or license, without regard to the availability of water 
for diversion or any bypass requirements or other conditions or constraints that may 
have the practical effect of limiting diversions but do not constitute a condition of the 
permit or license that expressly sets a maximum amount of diversion.
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(1) If the permit or license does not expressly identify the total annual amount of 
diversion, the board shall calculate the total annual amount based on the rate of 
authorized diversion multiplied by the length of time in the authorized season of 
diversion.
(2) If the permit or license contains an annual diversion limitation that is 
applicable only to that permit or license, and the limitation is less than the 
calculated diversion volume, the fee shall be based on the amount specified in 
the limitation.
(3) If a person holds multiple water rights that contain an annual diversion 
limitation that is applicable to the combination of those rights, but the person may 
still divert the full amount authorized under a particular right, then the fee shall be 
based on the total annual amount for that individual right.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1525, 
1536 and 1537, Water Code.
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23 CCR § 1069
§ 1069. Proof of Claim.

A person or entity who files a proof of claim under division 2, part 3, chapter 3, article 4 
(commencing with section 2575) of the Water Code, shall pay to the board a filing fee of
$5001,000 for each person or entity that files one or more proof of claims that total less 
than 1,000 acre-feet per annum (AFA) or 1,000 acres of riparian land, or $10,000 if 
equal to or greater than 1,000 AFA or 1,000 acres of riparian land.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 
1528, 1535 and 2850, Water Code.
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23 CCR § 3833.1
§ 3833.1. Annual Fees for FERC Licensed Hydroelectric Projects.

(a) Each applicant seeking water quality certification for an activity that includes, or 
involves construction or modification of facilities for the purpose of, producing 
hydroelectric power, where the activity or facilities require the issuance or amendment 
of a FERC license, shall pay an annual fee in accordance with this section.
(b)(1) An annual fee calculated pursuant to paragraphs (4) and (5) shall apply in each 

fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) during or after the year in which review in 
anticipation of consideration of certification is initiated as specified in paragraph
(2) and until and including the fiscal year in which certification and related federal 
proceedings are complete as specified in paragraph (3).
(2) Review in anticipation of consideration of certification shall be deemed to 
have been initiated when any of the following occurs or has occurred:
(A) A notice of intent is filed pursuant to 18 CFR § 5.5 or 18 CFR § 16.6.
(B) Consultation is initiated pursuant to 18 CFR § 4.38.
(C) An application for water quality certification is filed.
(3) Certification and related proceedings shall be deemed to have been 
completed when any of the following occurs:
(A) FERC issues or denies the license or license amendment for which review in 
anticipation of consideration of certification was initiated.
(B) FERC determines that no license, other than a license already in effect, or 
license amendment is required.
(C) The applicant abandons the proposed activity, including withdrawal or 
surrender of any applicable notification of intent, FERC preliminary permit, FERC 
license application, or other application for FERC approval.
(4) The annual fee shall be $1,000 plus $0.500.61 per kilowatt, based on the 
authorized or proposed installed generating capacity of the hydroelectric facility.
(A) In the case of an application for an original, new or subsequent license, as 
those terms are used in Parts 4, 5 and 16 of Title 18 of the CFR, the annual fee 
shall be based on the installed generating capacity of the facility as proposed in 
the notification of intent, application for FERC license, application for certification, 
or existing license that is proposed for takeover or relicensing, whichever is 
greatest.
(B) In the case of a proposed amendment to an existing FERC license, the 
component of the fee based on installed generating capacity shall be based on 
the amount by which the installed generating capacity of the hydroelectric facility 
would be increased by the proposed amendment.
(5) If an applicant for certification has paid any deposit pursuant to subdivision (b) 
of section 3833 as that subdivision was in effect before January 1, 2004, the 
state board shall credit against the annual fee specified in paragraph (4) any
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portion of that deposit that was for costs incurred after June 30, 2003. If an 
applicant for certification was required to pay but did not pay any deposit 
pursuant to subdivision (b) of section 3833 as that subdivision was in effect 
before January 1, 2004, the annual fee shall include any unpaid deposit, less any 
portion of that unpaid deposit that was for costs incurred after June 30, 2003, in 
addition to the annual fee specified in paragraph (4).
(6) If an application for certification is filed for an activity for which no annual fees 
have previously been imposed, the annual fee shall be due upon filing of the 
application for certification, and shall be paid to the state board. In all other 
cases, the annual fee shall become due thirty days after the State Board of 
Equalization gives notice of the fee, and shall be paid to the State Board of 
Equalization.

(c)(1) The holder of any FERC license for a hydroelectric project for which water quality 
certification has been issued shall pay an annual fee in the amount of $100 plus
$0.250.30 per kilowatt, based on the authorized installed generating capacity of 
the hydroelectric project.
(2) The fee imposed under this subdivision shall not apply in the fiscal year when 
the FERC license is issued if an annual fee is imposed in that fiscal year 
pursuant to subdivision (b).
(3) The annual fee imposed under this subdivision shall be due thirty days after 
the State Board of Equalization gives notice of the fee, and shall be paid to the 
State Board of Equalization.

(d)(1) A determination by the state board that an applicant is required to pay a fee under 
this section or paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of section 3833, and any 
determination by the state board regarding the amount of that fee, is subject to 
review under chapter 4 (commencing with Section 1120) of part 1 of division 2 of 
the Water Code. Any petition by an applicant to the state board for review shall 
be submitted in accordance with that chapter and article 12 (commencing with 
section 768) of chapter 2 of division 3 of this title.
(2) If the subject of a petition for reconsideration relates to an annual fee, other 
than an annual fee first required to be paid pursuant to paragraph (1) of 
subdivision (b) of section 3833, the board's decision regarding an annual fee 
shall be deemed adopted on the date of assessment by the State Board of 
Equalization. The petition must be received by the board within 30 days of the 
date of assessment by the State Board of Equalization.

Note: Authority cited: Section 13160.1, Water Code. Reference: Section 13160.1, Water 
Code.


	NOTICE OF PROPOSED EMERGENCY RULEMAKING  Water Rights Fees for Fiscal Year 2020-2021  Amendments to Division 3 of Title 23 of the California Code of Regulations




Accessibility Report





		Filename: 

		notice_proposedemergrulmaking_wr.pdf









		Report created by: 

		



		Organization: 

		







[Enter personal and organization information through the Preferences > Identity dialog.]



Summary



The checker found no problems in this document.





		Needs manual check: 0



		Passed manually: 2



		Failed manually: 0



		Skipped: 2



		Passed: 28



		Failed: 0







Detailed Report





		Document





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Accessibility permission flag		Passed		Accessibility permission flag must be set



		Image-only PDF		Passed		Document is not image-only PDF



		Tagged PDF		Passed		Document is tagged PDF



		Logical Reading Order		Passed manually		Document structure provides a logical reading order



		Primary language		Passed		Text language is specified



		Title		Passed		Document title is showing in title bar



		Bookmarks		Passed		Bookmarks are present in large documents



		Color contrast		Passed manually		Document has appropriate color contrast



		Page Content





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged content		Passed		All page content is tagged



		Tagged annotations		Passed		All annotations are tagged



		Tab order		Passed		Tab order is consistent with structure order



		Character encoding		Passed		Reliable character encoding is provided



		Tagged multimedia		Passed		All multimedia objects are tagged



		Screen flicker		Passed		Page will not cause screen flicker



		Scripts		Passed		No inaccessible scripts



		Timed responses		Passed		Page does not require timed responses



		Navigation links		Passed		Navigation links are not repetitive



		Forms





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged form fields		Passed		All form fields are tagged



		Field descriptions		Passed		All form fields have description



		Alternate Text





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Figures alternate text		Passed		Figures require alternate text



		Nested alternate text		Passed		Alternate text that will never be read



		Associated with content		Passed		Alternate text must be associated with some content



		Hides annotation		Passed		Alternate text should not hide annotation



		Other elements alternate text		Passed		Other elements that require alternate text



		Tables





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Rows		Passed		TR must be a child of Table, THead, TBody, or TFoot



		TH and TD		Passed		TH and TD must be children of TR



		Headers		Skipped		Tables should have headers



		Regularity		Passed		Tables must contain the same number of columns in each row and rows in each column



		Summary		Skipped		Tables must have a summary



		Lists





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		List items		Passed		LI must be a child of L



		Lbl and LBody		Passed		Lbl and LBody must be children of LI



		Headings





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Appropriate nesting		Passed		Appropriate nesting










Back to Top

