State of California
Office of Administrative Law

In re: ' NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF EMERGENCY
; State Water Resources Control Board REGULATORY ACTION

Regulatory Action:

Government Code Sections 11346.1 and

Title 23, California Code of Regulations 11349.6

Adopt sections:

A tions: 1062, 1063, 1064, 1066,
mend sections: 1992, 1063, 1064, 1066 OAL Matter Number: 2018-1023-03

Repeal sections:

OAL Matter Type: Emergency (E)

On September 20, 2018, the State Water Resources Control Board adopted, pursuant
to Water Code section 1525(d), Resolution 2018-0043, which revises, via these
emergency regulations, various water rights fees so as to ensure revenue in an amount
equal to the amounts appropriated by the Legislature for expenditure for support of
water rights program activities.

OAL approves this emergency regulatory action pursuant to sections 11346.1 and
11349.6 of the Government Code.

This emergency regulatory action is effective on 11/1/2018 and will remain in effect until
revised by the Board pursuant to Water Code section 1530.

Date: November 1,2018 /&/é 7/74:7%”2

“Dale P. Mentink
Senior Attorney

For:  Debra M. Cornez
Director
Original: Eileen Sobeck, Executive
Director o
Copy: David Ceccarelli
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A. PUBLICATION OF NOTICE (Complete for publication in Notice Register)

1. SUBJECT OF NOTICE

TITLE(S)

FIRST SECTION AFFECTED

3. NOTICE TYPE
Notice re Proposed
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4. AGENCY CONTACT PERSON

3 REGUESTED PUBLIGATION DATE

TELEPHONE NUMBER
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B. SUBMISSION OF REGULATIONS (Complete when submitting regulations)

1a. SUBJECT OF REGULATION(S)

Emergency Regulation Amending FY 2018-19 Water Rights Fee Schedule

1b. ALL PREVIOUS RELATED OAL REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER(S)
17-1027-04E, 16-1221-01E,16-1028-01E,16-0107-01E,
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REPEAL
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below certifies that this agency complied with the
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4. ALL BEGINNING AND ENDING DATES OF AVAILABILITY OF MODIFIED REGULATIONS AND/OR MATERIAL ADDED TO THE RULEMAKING FILE {Cal. Code Regs. title 1, 844 and Gov. Code §11347.1}

5. EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES {Gov. Code, §§ 11343.4, 11346.1(d); Cal. Code Regs., title 1, §100)

Effective January 1, April 1, July 1, or
Qctober 1 (Gov. Code §11343.4(a))

Effective on filing with
Secretary of State

Regulatory Effect

§100 Changes Without

Effective
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8. CHECK {F THESE REGULATIONS REQUIRE NOTICE TO, OR REVIEW, CONSULTATION, APPROVAL OR CONCURRENCE 8Y, ANOTHER AGENCY OR ENTITY

D Department of Finance (Form STD. 399) (SAM §6660}

Other (Specify)

Fair Political Practices Commission

D State Fire Marshal

7. CONTACT PERSON
David Ceccarelli

TELEPHONE NUMBER

916-341-5999
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david.cecca relli@waterboards'ca.glg_v

8.

1 certify that the attached copy of the regulation(s) is a true and correct copy
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. 23 CCR § 1062
§ 1062. Filing Fees for Water Right Apphcatlons

(a) A person who files a water right application shall pay to the board a filing fee as
follows:
(1)(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (B) through (E), the fee for a water
right application shall be $1,000, plus $15 for each acre-foot that the applicant
seeks to divert in excess of 10 acre-feet. The total fee shall not exceed
$5148.899534,155, plus any additional fee due pursuant to subparagraphs (2) and
(3).
(B) At a facility where a small hydroelectric generating facility meets the criteria
for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality
Act, as established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, the
fee shall be $1,000.
(C) The fee for an application for a temporary permit filed under Water Code
section 1425, other than a permit described in subparagraph (D) or (E) of this
subdivision, shall be the greater of either (i) 50 percent of the fee calculated
under subparagraph (A), above, or (i) $2,000.
(D) The fee for an application for a temporary permit under Water Code section
1425 for a small hydroelectric generating facility that meets the criteria for a
Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality Act,
as established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, shall be
$1,000. The f;hng fee includes the annual permit fee if a temporary permut is
issued.
(E) The fee for an application for a temporary permnt—ep#enewal—ef—&%empem%y
perrmit: filed under Water Code section 1425 that is solely for purposes of
diverting water from high flow events to underground storage for later beneficial
use shall be the lesser of either (i) the fee calculated pursuant to subparagraph
(C), above, or (n) $4095 OOO plus $4—990 10 for every wg—aeFe—feetacre-foot of

49—999&%486% gghed for For renewal of a temoorarv Dermot ussued Dursuant
to this subparagraph, where the renewal proposes an identical project and is filed
within one vear of issuance of the prior temporary permit, the fee for renewal of a -
temporary permit shall be $1,500 plus $0.20 per acre-foot of water actually
diverted under the renewed temporary permit. The portion of the application fee
based on the amount diverted shall be due within 30 days of actual diversion,

and shall be accompanied by a report of the amount actually diverted.

(2) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition to revise a declaration
of fully appropriated stream systems, then $10,000 shall be added to the fee.

(3) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition for assignment of a
state-filed application pursuant to Water Code section 10504, then $5,000 shall
be added to the fee.

(b) A person who filed a water right application on or after July 1, 2003, and prior to
January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to the difference between the
filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the regulation in effect on
January 1, 2004. : :



(c) The ap'plication filing fee includes a non-refundable initial review fee of $250 or the
amount of the application fee, whichever is less.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1425,
1426, 1525, 1535 and 1551, Water Code. ’



23 CCR § 1063
§ 1063. Annual Fees for Water Right Applications.
Under any of the following circumstances, a water right applicant shall pay an annual
fee;as-setforth-in-section-1066_of $750 plus $0.073 for each acre-foot in excess of 10
acre-feet, calculated as described in section 1066, subdivision (b).
(a) The diversion of water, the construction of diversion works, or the clearing of land
where the diverted water will be used or stored, has been mmated before a permit is
issued authorizing the diversion.
(b) The applicant requests the board to delay processing the water right application.
(c) The applicant is a lead agency under the California Environmental Quality Act
(CEQA) (commencing with Public Resources Code section 21000) and has not adopted
or certified a final environmental document for the project for which the application is
filed, as may be required under CEQA, within two years after the board first provides
notice of the water right application.
(d) The applicant fails to provide supplemental mformatlon requested pursuant to Water
Code section 1275 within the time period provided.
(e) The Ghief-Division-ef-Deputy Director for Water Rights, has determined that a
permit may be issued for the project, but the applicant has not paid filing fees required
under Public Resources Code section 10005, Fish and Game Code section 711.4, or
other law.

Note Authority cited: Sections 1058 and1530 Water Code. Reference: Sections 1525,
1536 and 1537, Water Code.



23 CCR § 1064

§ 1064. Filing Fees for Petitions or Requests.
(a) A person who files a petition or a request for release from priority shall pay to the
board a filing fee for each water right application, permit or license covered by the
petition or request in accordance with this section.
(1) For purposes of calculating the filing fee, a petition to change one or more
terms of a single application, permit, license, or other water right shall be
considered a single petition, provided that action can be taken on the changes
simultaneously, except that a petition for an extension of time shall be considered
a separate petition, subject to a separate fee, from a petition to change one or
more other terms in a water right. A petitioner requesting changes to more than
one application, permit, license, or other water right shall file a separate petition
or petitions for each water right and a filing fee shall be required for each petition.
A separate filing fee shall be required for each change petition subsequently filed
on a water right that is already the subject of a pending petition for change.
(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (i), (ii), (iii) and (iv), the fee for a petition
to change the terms of an application, permit or license shall be as follows. The
fee shall be a minimum of $1,000. If the total annual amount of diversion sought
by the pending application or authorized by the permit or license, as calculated in
accordance with section 1066, is greater than 10 acre-feet, then the petitioner
- shall pay an additional $0.30 for each acre-foot in excess of 10 acre- feet The
total fee shall not exceed $6,5486,710.
(i) The fee for a petition for change pursuant only to Water Code section
1707 shall be $850. '
(i) The fee for a change petition involving a transfer of water pursuant to
Water Code section 382, 1435, 1701, 1725, or 1735 shall be $2,000, plus
$0.30 for each acre-foot that the petitioner seeks to transfer in excess of
10 acre-feet. The fee shall be based on the maximum amount of water
proposed to be transferred annually, not the amount of water proposed to
be transferred over the entire term of the transfer. The total fee shall not
exceed $518;899534,155.
(i) The fee for a petition for extension of time shall be $1,000.
(iv) The fee for a petition for issuance of separate permits or licenses
pursuant to section 836, where there are no changes to the authorized
point of diversion, place of use, purpose of use, or any other material term
of the permit or license other than as necessary for the split, shall be
$850.
(2) The fee for a petition to change the point of discharge, place of use, or
purpose of use of treated wastewater pursuant to Water Code section 1211 shall
be $1,000.
(3) The fee for a request for release from priority of a state-filed application
‘pursuant to Water Code section 10504 shall be $5,000.
(4) The fee for a petition filed pursuant to Water Code section 1228.7 to change
the point of diversion or place of use under a registration of an appropriation for
small domestic or livestock stock pond use shall be $500.



(5) The fee for a petition filed pursuant to Water Code section 1228.7 to change
the point of diversion or place of use under a registration of an appropriation for
small irrigation use shall be $750.
(b) A person who filed a petition or a request for release from priority on or after
July 1, 2003, and prior to January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to
the difference between the filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the
regulation in effect on January 1, 2004.

" (c) The petition filing fee includes a non-refundable $250 initial review fee.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 386,
1228.7, 1525 and 1535, Water Code.



23 CCR § 1066

§ 1066. Annual Fees for Permits or Licenses.
(a) A person who holds a water right permit or license shall pay a minimum annual fee
of $150225. If the total annual amount of diversion authorized by the permit or license
is greater than 10 acre-feet, then the permittee or licensee shall pay an additional
$06-0690.073 for each acre-foot in excess of 10 acre-feet.

(1) For permits or licenses issued prior to the beginning of the year for which the
fee is imposed, the board shall calculate annual fees according to the total
annual amount of diversion authorized by the permit or license as of the
beginning of the year.

(2) The board shall calculate annual fees for permits lssued onor after the
beginning of the year according to the total annual amount of diversion
authorized by the permit as issued by the board.

(b) The board shall calculate the annual fee based on the total annual amount of
diversion authorized by the permit or license, without regard to the availability of water
for diversion or any bypass requirements or other conditions or constraints that may .
have the practical effect of limiting diversions but do not constitute a condition of the
permit or license that expressly sets a maximum amount of diversion. :

(1) If the permit or license does not expressly identify the total annual amount of
diversion, the board shall calculate the total annual amount based on the rate of

- authorized diversion multiplied by the length of time in the authonzed season of
diversion.
(2) If the permit or license contains an annual dlversnon limitation that is
applicable only to that permit or license, and the limitation is less than the
calculated diversion volume, the fee shall be based on the amount specmed in
the limitation.
(3) If a person holds multiple water rights that contain an annual diversion
limitation that is applicable to the combination of those rights, but the person may
still divert the full amount authorized under a particular right, then the fee shall be
based on the total annual amount for t'hat individual right.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference Sections 1525,
1536 and 1537 Water Code. .



23 CCR § 1068
§ 1068. Registration Fees for Small Domestic, Livestock Stockpond and
Small Irrigation Uses_Registrations.

(a) A person who registers an appropriation of water for small domestic; or livestock
stockpond ermai#wngaﬂefa—e%heHhai%aemme-#epeamqabrs— use pursuant
to Water Code section 1228.3 shall pay to the board a non-refundable
registration fee of $250.

(b) A-persen-wherenews-such-Each holder of a registration;-ether-than-for-irrigation

use-for-cannabis;for small domestic or livestock stockpond use issued pursuant
to Water Code section 1228.5 shall pay to the board an annual rerewal fee in
each year after the registration was first registered 6£$1066:as follows:

(1) In fiscal year 2018-19, $50.

(2) In fiscal year 2019-20, $75.

(3) In fiscal year 2020-21, $100.

(4) For a small domestic use registration held by a low-income resident for

purposes of providing water for human consumption, cooking and sanitary

purposes, the annual fee shall be reduced by 20 percent.
(5) For purposes of this section, a low-income resident is: {A) someone whose

household income is 200 percent or less of federal poverty level: or (B) someone
who is enrolled in a gqualified public assistance program.
(6) Any holder of a small domestic use registration who submits adequate
substantiation of eligibility for the annual fee reduction pursuant to paragraph (4),
above, during fiscal year 2018-19, shall receive a credit on their fiscal year 2019-
20 bill in the amount of any overpayment.
(7) For any holder of a small domestic use registration who submits adequate
substantiation of eligibility for the annual fee reduction pursuant to paragraph (4).
above, after fiscal year 2018-19, the reduction shall take effect in the subsequent
fiscal year.
(8) For livestock stockpond use, the maximum annual fee for a snnqle primary
owner holding 5 or more registrations shall be as follows:

(A) In fiscal year 2018-19, $250. -~

(B) In fiscal year 2019-20, -§‘375.

(C) In fiscal year 2020-21, $500.

(c) A person who registers an appropriation of water for small irrigation use other
than for irrigation use for cannabis shall pay to the board a non-refundable
registration fee of $750.

(d) A person who registers an aooropnatlon of water for small irrigation use other
than for irrigation use for cannabis shall pay to the board an annual fee of $100 in
each vear after the registration was first registered.

{e) A person who registers an appropriation of water for small irrigation use pursuant
to Water Code section 1228.3, for which cannabis cultivation is an intended use,
shall pay to the board a non-refundable annual fee of $750.




Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sectlons
1228.3, 1228.5, and 1525, Water Code ;



