### Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Paying your Water Right Fees

#### Q: When were Fiscal Year 2024-2025 Annual Water Rights Fee notices mailed?

A: The annual fee notices will be mailed between November 12 and November 15. Fees are due within 30 days of the date on the invoice. Check your invoice for your payment due date to avoid late payment penalties. You may also register for <u>CDTFA</u> <u>account services</u> to view your invoice.

#### Q: How can I make a payment for my Water Rights fees?

A: Payments for Annual Water Rights fees must be made to the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration. You can pay online at https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/services/#Make-a-Payment or mail a check with your account number on the memo line to:

California Department of Tax and Fee Administration PO Box 942879 Sacramento CA 94279-7072

<u>DO NOT</u> send checks or online payments to the State Water Resources Control Board for Annual Water Rights fees. Payments received by the State Water Board will not be automatically credited towards your Annual Water Rights fees account and will result in delays in processing.

#### Q: Can I pay for multiple bills with a single check?

A: CDTFA will accept a single check from a fee payer with multiple water rights bills. To ensure credit is applied to the correct accounts, you must list all the CDTFA account numbers on the check or enclose a sheet of paper that includes a list of all the accounts with your payment.

#### Q: What are the penalties and interest if I do not pay on-time?

A: A 10 percent penalty will be assessed for any bill that is not paid by the due date. Interest will also accrue on notices that are more than 30 days late. For further information about penalties and interest, refer to CDTFA Publication 75.

#### Q: What are the collection fees if I am more than 90 days late in paying my fees?

A: Fee payers will be assessed a collection cost recovery fee, depending on the amount of the liabilities owed. In general, past due liabilities between \$250-\$2,000 will be assessed a \$190 collection cost recovery fee. See CDTFA's Collection and Cost Recovery Fee page for full details.

## Q: If I cannot pay the entire bill by the deadline who can I contact to set up a payment arrangement?

A: Fee payers must contact CDTFA directly to set up a payment arrangement if they are not able to pay their fees in full by the due date. The phone number is: 1-800-400-7115. You can also set up a payment plan online.

# Q: I have been affected by wildfires or other circumstances that have caused me to receive a penalty or collection fee for not paying on time. How can I request relief from penalties or collection fees?

A: Fee payers may request a relief of penalty by visiting the <u>State of Emergency Tax</u> <u>Relief page</u> on the CDTFA website to see if they are eligible for a relief program. The State Water Board does not have authority to approve these requests.

#### Q: Where can I find the water rights fee schedule summary?

A: Click here to find the water rights fee schedule summary.

## **Q**: If I have other questions about my water right fees who should I contact for more information?

A: You can contact the Division of Water Rights Fee Phone Line at: (916) 341-5431.