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U. S. Wilson, General Manager
Cuyama Community Services District

P. 0. Box 363 | o

Cuyama. CA 93254
Dear Mr. ‘Wilson:

COMPLAINT FOR MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY, CUYAMA CsD WASI'EWAI'ER
FACILITY, SANTA BARBARA COUNTY

Attached is Complaint for Mandatory Minimum Penalty No. R3-2008-0005 (Complaint). The -
Complairt is based on violations of effluent:limitations in Waste Discharge Requirements Order

No. R3-2007-0020, National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit No. CA00480889,

from September 1, 2007 to September 30, 2007._ The attached (,omplamt specifies the
occurrence dates and nature of the violations.

Unless you waive your right to a public hearing and pay the amount proposed in the Complaint
($6,000), we will present an Order to the Regional Water Quality Control Board, Central Coast
Region (Central Coast Water Board) for the amount proposed in the Complaint at the February
5, 2008 Central Coast Water Board meeting to be held at 895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101, San
Luis Obispo, California. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 8:30 a.m.; however, no specific
time has been set for consideration of this item.

Please review the Complaint carefully and submit your comment or your Waiver of Hearing
form and copy of payment by January 12, 2009. e will review and transmit to the Water
Board written material received by 5:00 P.M on January 12, 2008. '

If you have questions regarding this matter, please direct them to Central Coast Water Beard
staff, Sorrel Marks at (805) 549-3695, or Harvey Packard at (805) 542-4639.

Sincerely.

’/~ . / ) 4
(,\-/, ¢ I -///dﬁ‘ ““‘"’r
" Michael J. Thomas
Assistant Executive Officer

Allachments: 1) Mandatory Minimum Penalty Complaint No. R3-2008-0005
2) Waiver of Hearing Form
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CALIFORNIA REGIONAL WATER QUALITY CONTROL BOARD
CENTRAL COAST REGION
895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101
San Luis Obispo, California 93401

'COMPLAINT NO. R3-2009-0005

MANDATORY PENALTY -
IN THE MATTER OF
CUYAMA COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT
SANTA BARBARA COUNTY

This Complaint to assess Mandatory Minimum Penalties pursuant to California Water
Code section 13385(h) and (i) is issued to the Cuyama Community Services District
(Discharger) based on findings of violations of Waste Dischagge Requirements Order
No. R3-2007-0020, National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permit
No. CA0048089.

The Assistant Executive Officer finds the following:

1.

On May 11, 2007, the Regional Water Quality Control Board, Central Coast Region
(Central Coast Water Board), adopted Waste Discharge Requirements Order No.
2007-0020, NPDES Permit No. CA0048089, for the Cuyama CSD Wastewater
Facility] (Order No. R3-2007-0020).

California Water Code section 13385(h)(1) requires the Central Coast \Nater Board
to assess a mandatory penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each serious
violation.

California Water Code section 13385(h)(2) provides a serious violation occurs if
the discharge exceeds the effluent limitations for a Group Il pollutant, as specified in
Appendix A to section 123.45 of Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations, by 20 percent
or more or for a Group | pollutant, as specified in Appendix A to section 123.45 of
T:ile 40 Code of Federal Regulations, by 40 percent or more.

California Water Code section 13385(i) requires the Central Coast Water Board to
assess a mandatory penalty of three thousand dollars ($3.000) for each violation,

- not counting the first three violations, if the discharger does any of the following four
0” more times in a period of six consecutlve months:

a) Violates a waste discharge requirement effluent limitation;

by  Fails to file a report pursuant to Section 13260; '

¢) Files an incomplete report pursuant to Section 13260; or :

di  Violates a toxicity effluent limitation contained in the appllcable waste discharge
requirements where the waste discharge requnements do not contain pollutant-
specific effluent limitations for toxic pollutants.

Complaint No. R3-2009-0005
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5. California Water Code section 13385(i)(2) defines a “period of six consecutive
months™ as “the period commencing on the date that one of the violations described
in this subdivision [California Water Code section 13385(i) of Finding No. 3 of this
Order] occurs and ending 180 days after that date.” However, serious violations
may qualify as chronic violations for the purpose of determining a “period of six
consecutive months,” and may count as the first.three chronic violations, though
such violations are not counted twice for the purpose of assessing the penalty
amount.

6. In accordance to Appendix A to section 123.45 of Title 40 Code of Federal
Regulations, dibromcchloromethane and bromodichloromethane are categorized as
Group Il Pollutants. Group Il pollutants are subject to serious violations as defined in
Finding No. 3. :

7. Order No. R3-2007-0020 includes the following:

Effluent Limitations — Discharoe Point 001, No. 1:
The discharger shall maintain compliance with the fo! owing effluent limitations at
Discharge Point 001, with compliance measured at Monitoring Location EFF 001,
as described in the attachﬁd Monitoring and Reportlng Program. .

8. According to monitoring reports submitted by the Discharger from September 1,
2007, to September 30, 2007, the Discharger violated the following effluent
limitations in Order No. R3-2007-0020: :

Table 1 — Effluent Limit Violations

¢t Violation Date . CIV.VQS Constituent Permit Limit Reported Violation
Violation No. . Value Type
30-day 0.40 .
1 £9/10/2007 691932 Dibromechicromethane  pg/L ard max 3.7 ug/L CAT1 |
. : daily 0.21 pg/L i
- ' . 30-dav 0.56 ;
09/10/2007 691928 Bromodichicromethane  pg/L and max 4.8 ug/L CATH1

~CIWQS - Calilornia Integrated Veater Quality System

daily 1.13 pg/L

9. According to the definition of serious violation in Finding No. 3, the Discharger
commilted two serious violations as shown on lines 1 and 2 of Table 1 from
September 1%, 2007 ‘o September 30", 2007. The amount of the mandatory penalty
for the two serious violations {53,000 x 2) is six thousanc dollars ($6,000).

10. The total amount of the mandatory minimum penalty from beptember 1, 2007, to
September 30, 2007, 1s six thousand dollars ($6,000).

11.California Water Code section 13385() states that “(1) In lieu of assessing penalties

pursuant to subdivision (h) cr (i), the...regional board, with the concurrence of the
“discharger, may direct a portion of the penalty amount to be expended on a

Complaint No. R3-2009-0005
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supplemental environmental project in accordance with the enforcement policy of the
state board. If the penalty amount exceeds fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000), the
porion of the penalty amount that may be directed to be expended on a
supplemental environmental project may not exceed fifteen thousand dollars
($15,000) plus 50 percent of the penalty amount that exceeds fifteen thousand
dollars ($15,000).

Issuance of this Complaint is exempt from the provisions of the California
Environmentai Quality Act (Public Resources Code section 21000, et seq.) in
accordance with the California Code of Regulations Title 14, Chapter 3, section
15321,

CUYAMA CSD IS HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE pursuant to California Water Code
sectlon 13385, that:

1.

The Assistant Executive Officer of the Central Coast Water Board proposes that the:
D'scharger be assessed a Mandatory Penalty in the amount. of six thousand dollars
(S6, OOO)

The Central Coast Water Board will hold a public hearing on this matter on Feb,ruary
6, 2009, unless the Discharger agrees to waive its right to a public hearing by filling
out, signing, and submitting the enclosed "Waiver of Hearing.” If the Discharger
chooses not to waive its right to a public hearing, the Central Coast Water Board

“may proceed with the scheduled public hearing and consider testimony received

from inlerested persons during the public hearing and decide whether to accept the
amount of Mandatory. Minimum Penalty proposed by the Assistant Executive Officer.
The Central Coast Water Board may also decide to continue the matter to a future
hearing. direct the ‘Assistant Executive Officer to reissue the Complaint to propose-
additional penalties under California Water Code section 13385(c) and (e), or refer
the matter to the State Attorney General. The public hearing is scheduled at the
regularly scheduled Central Coast Water Board meeting on February 6, 2009, at the
Central Coast water Board Hearing Room, 895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101, San Luis
Obispo, .Califernia. The'meeting is scheduled to begin at 8:30 a.m.; however, no
specific time has been set for consideration of this item. : '

if you have guestions regarding this matter, please direct them tc Central Coast Water
Board slaff, Sorrel Marks at (805) 549-3695, or Harvey Packard at (805) 542-4639.

L/ Lhma{ . (L—( 77— of

Michael J. Thomas - ' Date
Assistant Executive Officer ‘

StEnfercementivandatory Minimum Penalties\CuyamaiMMP Complaint R2-2088-0005 doc
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PROCEDURAL INFORMATION
"FOR ‘ ‘
- MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY COMPLAINT
PUBLIC HEARING AND PAYMENT

WAIVER OF PUBLIC HEARING | ' )

You may waive your right to a pL.bIlc hearing. If you wish to waive your right to a public
hearing, a duly .authorized person' must check, sign, and submit the following Waiver .
of the Right to a Public Hearing form and pay the mandatory minimum penalty
amount specified in the Complairt no later than January 12, 2009, 5:00 P.M. P.=zase
‘oliow th.e payment instructions below. '

if you choose toc waive your right to a public hearing, ard i full payment and a signed
Waiver ol the Riaht to a.FPublic Hearing form are received before the hearing, the hearing
will not te held, and the violation will be settled. If full payment and a signed Waiver of the
Righl to a Public Hearing form are not received, the malter will be placed on the Central
. Coast V'ater Board's agenda for a hearing as stated below.

If you do not waive your right tc a public hearing, the Assistant Executive Officer will
present an Order to the Central Coast Water Board for the amount proposed in this
Complaint at the Central Coast Water Board meeting on February 6, 2009, at the Central
Coas! Vvater Board Conference Room, 895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101, San Luis Obispo,
California.  The Central Coast Water Board will proceed with the scheduled hearing,
consider testimeny received from interested persons during the hearing, and decide
whether to accept the amount of the mandatory minimum penalty proposed by the
Assistanrt Executive Officer, or direct the Assistant Executive Officer to reissue the
cornpla‘nt alleging increasad liability pursuant to Water Code Section 13385(c) and (g). If
the proposed Order is adopted, payment of the mandatory minimum penalty to the State
Water Resources Control Board will be due and payable no later than March 8, 20C9, in
accordance with the Order. If the proposed Order is rejected, the Central Coast \Vater
~Board may direct the Assistant Executive Officer to issue a new complaint and schedule
another oublic hearing. The Central Coast Water Board may also decide to continue the
matter to a future hearing or refer it to the State Attorney General. The meeting is
schedulzd to begin at 8:3C a.m.; nowever, no specific time has been set for consideration
of the Crder.

PAYMENT OF MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY

No later than January 12, 2009, please make your cash'ers check payable to State
Waler Resources Confrei Board, and note "MMP Complaint No. R3-2009-0005" ¢cn the
cashiers check. Please mai! the .cashiers check and signed waiver form to SWRCB
Accodnting, Attn: Enforcement, P. O. Box 100, Sacramento. CA 95812-0100.

A duly authorized oerson is defined as a principal executive officer of at least the ievel of vice pre5|dcr" in a
corporation. a ger ere’ partner or the progrietor in a partnership or sole proprietorship, a pnncnpal execuuve offcer or
‘anking elected official in a public agency. 0~ a duly authorized representative. -

Complaint No. R3-_2009-0005
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. * Please also mail copies of the cashieré'chreck and’ sighed waiver form to Regional
Water Quality Control Board, Attn: Sorrel Marks, 895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101, San
Luis Obispo, CA 93401.

Complaint-No. R3-2009-0005
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WAIVER OF THE RIGHT TO A HEARING -

I By checking the box, | agree to waive Cuyama Community Services District's -
right to a hearing before the Central Coast Water Board with regard to the violations
a:eged in Complaint No. R3-2009-0005. Also, | agree to remit payment for the civil
liability proposed. | understand that | am giving up Cuyama Community Services
District’s right to argue against the allegations made by the Assistant Executive
Cfficer in this Complaint, and against the imposition or amount of proposed civil
lizbility. : ’

S'gnature

F-inted Name

T te/Position”

Cate

s enforzerrs-t\mandatory minimum penaltiesicuyama\mme wziver and instrustions r2-2006-3005.doc

- A duiy awinorized person must sign the waiver. A duly authorized person is defined as a principal exccutive officer
siat feast he level of vice president in a corporation, a general partner or the proptietor in a partnership, a principal
zxecutive oificer or ranking elected official in a public agency, or a representative authorized in writing by a vice
zresident ¢ higher ranking corporate officer, general pariner, principal executive officer or ranking elected official.
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