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 CALIFORNIA REGIONAL WATER QUALITY CONTROL BOARD
 
CENTRAL COAST REGION
 

895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101
 
San Luis Obispo, California 93401 

ORDER NO. R3-2009-0005 

MANDATORY PENALTV
 
IN THE MATTER OF
 

CUYAMA COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT
 
SANTA BARBARA COUNTY
 

This Order to assess Mandatory Minimum Penalties pursuant to California Water Code 
section 13385(h) and (i) is issued to the Cuyama Community Services District 
(Discharger) based on findings of violations of Waste Discharge Requirements Order 
No..R3-2007-0020, National PolI.utant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)' Permit 
No. CA0048089. 

The Regional Water Quality Control Board, Central Coast Region finds that: 

• 
1. On May 11, 2007, the Regional Water Quality Control Board, Central Coast Region 

(Central Coast Water Board), adopted Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 
2007-0020, NPDES Permit No. CA0048089, for the Cuyama CSD Wastewater 
Facility] (Order No. R3-2007-0020). 

2.	 California Water Code section 13385(h)(1) requires the Central Coast Water Board 
. to assess a mandatory minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each 

serious violation. 

3.	 California Water Code section 13385(h)(2) provides that a serious violation occurs if 
the discharge exceeds the effluent limitations for a Group II pollutant, as specified in 
Appendix A to section 123.45 of Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations, by 20 percent 
or more/ or for a Group I pollutant, as specified in Appendix A to section 123.45 of 
Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations, by 40 percent or more. 

4.	 California Water Code section 13385(i) requires the Central Coast Water Board to 
assess a mandatory minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each 
violation, not counting the first three violations, if the discharger does any of the 
following four or more times in a period of six consecutive months: 

a) Violates a waste discharge requirement effluent limitation;
 
b) Fails to file a report pu rsuant to Section 13260; .
 
c). Files an incomplete report pursuant to Section 13260; or
 
d) Violates a toxicity effluent limitation contained in the applicable waste discharge
 

• 
requirements where the waste discharge requirements do not contain pollutant­
specific effluent limitations for toxic pollutants. 
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5., California Water Code section 13385(i)(2) defines a "period of six consecutive • 
months" as "the period commencing on the date that one oJ the violations described 
in this subdivision [California Water Code section 13385(i) of Finding No. 3 of this 
Order] occurs aild ending 180 days after that date." However, serious violations 
may· qualify as chronic violations for the purpose of detElrmining a "period of six 

" consecutive months," and may count as the first three chronic violations, though 
such violations'are not counted tw[ce for the purpose of assessing a penalty amount. 

6.	 'In accdrdance to Appendix A to section 123.45, of Tijile 40 Code of Federal 
Regulations, bromodichloromethane and dibromochloromethane are categorized as' 
Group II Pollutants. Group II pollutants are subject to serious violations as defined in 
Finding No.3, above. / 

7.	 Order No. R3~2007-0020 includes the following: 

Effluent Limitations - Discharge Point 001: The discharger shall maintain
 
compliance with the following effluent limitations at Discharge Point 001, with
 
compliance measured at Monitoring Location EFF-001, as described in the attached
 
Monitoring and Reporting Program (Section IV.A.1.Table 5)1. .
 

Effluent Limit 
Average Maximum 

Constituent Units Monthly Daily
 
Bromod ichloromethane ~g/L 0.56 1.13
 
Dibromochloromethane I-lg/L 0.40 0.81
 • 

8.	 According to monitoring reports submitted by the Discharger from September 1, 
2007, to September 30, 2007, the Discharger violated the following effluent 
limitations in Order No. R3-2007-0020: 

Table 1 - Effluent Limitation Violations 

CIWQS 
Violation Violation Permit Reported Violation 

# 'Date No. Constituent Limit 1 Value Type 
0.56 ~g/L 

, 

~'I 

II 

09/10/2007 691958 Bromodichloromethane 1 13 "g/L 
0:40 ~g/L 

4.8 IJg/L Serious 

I, 2 09/10/2007 691962 Dichlorobrdmomethane.· 0.81, ~g/L 3.7 ~g/L Serious 
1 _ Effluent limitation is identified in Finding NO.7 (above) and Section IV.A.1.c. of Order R3-:W06-0032. 
CiNQS - California Integrated Water Quality System 

) 

9.	 As defined in Finding No.3, the Discharger committed two serious violations as 
shown on lines 1 and 2 of Table 1 from September 1st

, 2007 to September 30th
, 

2007. The amount of the mandatory penalty for these two serious violations ($3,000 
x 2) is six thousand dollars ($6,000). '. 
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10. The total amount	 of the mandatory minimum penalty from September 1, 2007, to 
September 30, 2007, is six thousand dollars ($6,000). 

11. California Water Code section 13385(1) states that "(1)	 In lieu of assessing· penalties 
pursuant to subdivision (h) or (i), the... regional board, with the concurrence of the 
discharger, may direct a portion of the penalty amount to be expended on a 
supplemental environmental project in accordance with the enforcement policy of the 
state board. If the penalty amount exceeds fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000), the 
portion of the penalty amount that may be directed to be· expended on a 
supplemental environmental project may not exceed fifteen thousand dollars 
($15,000.) plus 50 percent of the penalty amount that exceeds fifteen thousand 
dollars ($15,000). 

12. Issuance of this Order is exempt from the provisions of the California Environmental 
Quality Act (Public Resources Code section 21000, et seq.) in accordance with the 
California Code of Regulations Title 14, Chapter 3, section 15321. 

IT IS' HEREBY ORDERED, pursuant to California Water Code section 13385, that 
Cuyama Community Services District is assessed administrative civil liability in the 
amount of Six Thousand Dollars ($6,000). . 

The Discharger shall submit a check payable to State Water Resources Control Board 
in the amount of $6,000 to SWRCB Accounting, Attn: Enforcement, P.O. Box 100, 
Sacramento, California 95812-0100 by March 8, 2009. A fQQY of the check shall also 
be submitted to Regional Water Quality Control Board, Attn: Harvey Packard, 895 
Aerovista Place, Suite 101, San Luis Obispo, California 93401 by March 8, 2009. 

Any person aggrieved by this action of the Central Coast Water Board may petition the· 
State Water Board to review the action in accordance with Water Code section 13320 
and California Code of Regulations, title 23, sections 2050 and the following. The State 

. Water Board must receive the petition by 5:00 p.m., 30 days after the date of the order, 
except that if the thirtieth day following the date of the order falls on· a Saturday, 
Sunday, or state holiday, the petition must be received by 5:00· p.m. on the next' 
business day. Copies of the law and regulations applicable to filing petitions are 
available on the internet at the following website or will be provided upon request. 
http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/public_notices/petitions/water_quality 

I, Roger W. Briggs, Executive Officer, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, 
true, and correct copy of an order adopted by the Centr'al Coast Water Board on 
February 5, 2009. 

Roger W. Briggs
 
"Executive Officer,
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