## BOARD OF PUBLIC WORKS MEMBERS

CITY OF LOS ANGELES

CALIFORNIA

KEVIN JAMES
PRESIDENT

MONICA RODRIGUEZ VICE PRESIDENT

MATT SZABO PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE

> MICHAEL R. DAVIS COMMISSIONER

HEATHER MARIE REPENNING COMMISSIONER



ERIC GARCETTI MAYOR **BUREAU OF SANITATION** 

ENRIQUE C. ZALDIVAR DIRECTOR

TRACI J. MINAMIDE CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER

LISA B. MOWERY
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER

ADEL H. HAGEKHALIL ALEXANDER E. HELOU LEO N. MARTINEZ ROBERT B. IRVIN (ACTING) ASSISTANT DIRECTORS

WATERSHED PROTECTION DIVISION 1149 SOUTH BROADWAY, 10<sup>TH</sup> FLOOR LOS ANGELES, CA 90015 TEL: (213) 485-0587 FAX: (213) 485-3939 WWW.LACITYSAN.ORG

January 20, 2016

Mr. Samuel Unger, Executive Officer California Regional Water Quality Control Board Los Angeles Region 320 West Fourth Street, Suite 200 Los Angeles, CA 90013

Attention: Ivar Ridgeway

Dear Mr. Unger:

## SUBMITTAL OF THE REVISED ENHANCED WATERSHED MANAGEMENT PROGRAM FOR UPPER LOS ANGELES RIVER WATERSHED MANAGEMENT AREA GROUP

Please find attached the Revised Enhanced Watershed Management Program (EWMP) for the Upper Los Angeles River Watershed Management Area Group. The City of Los Angeles, as lead agency for the Upper Los Angeles River Watershed Management Area Group, has prepared this revised EWMP on behalf of itself (the City of Los Angeles) and 18 other agencies namely, the City of Alhambra, City of Burbank, City of Calabasas, City of Glendale, City of Hidden Hills, City of La Canada Flintridge, City of Montebello, City of Monterey Park, City of Pasadena, City of Rosemead, City of San Fernando, City of San Gabriel, City of San Marino, City of South El Monte, City of South Pasadena, City of Temple City, Los Angeles County, and Los Angeles County Flood Control District. All partner agencies have reviewed the revised EWMP for submission to the Regional Water Quality Control Board (Regional Board).

The EWMP for the Upper Los Angeles River Watershed Management Area Group satisfies the requirements stipulated in the Waste Discharge Requirements for Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) Discharges within the Coastal Watersheds of Los Angeles County (except those discharges originating from the City of Long Beach MS4) (Order No. R4-2012-0175), which became effective on December 28, 2012. The EWMP was developed utilizing a multi-pollutant approach that maximizes the retention and use of urban runoff as a resource while creating additional benefits for the communities in the ULAR watershed.

The EWMP for the Upper Los Angeles River Watershed Management Area Group has been revised in response to the comments provided by the Regional Board, detailed in your letter dated October 21, 2015. A comment response table summarizing these revisions is included in this submittal. We appreciate the discussions with your staff throughout the development of the EWMP. Should you have any questions about this submittal, please contact me at <a href="mailto:Shahram.Kharaghani@lacity.org">Shahram.Kharaghani@lacity.org</a> or phone (213) 485-0587, or your staff may contact Alfredo Magallanes at <a href="mailto:Alfredo.Magallanes@lacity.org">Alfredo.Magallanes@lacity.org</a> or (213) 485-3958.

Sincerely,

SHAHRAM KHARAGHANI, PH.D, PE, BCEE

Program Manager

SK:AM WPDCR9243

## Attachment

Renee Purdy, California Regional Water Quality Control Board, Los Angeles Region Ivar Ridgeway, California Regional Water Quality Control Board, Los Angeles Region Enrique Zaldivar, City of Los Angeles, LASAN Adel Hagekhalil, City of Los Angeles, LASAN Alfredo Magallanes, City of Los Angeles, LASAN Angela George, County of Los Angeles, Department of Public Works Jolene Gurerro, County of Los Angeles, Department of Public Works Alvin Cruz, City of Burbank Alex Farassati, City of Calabasas Amy Ho, City of Monterey Park David Dolphin, City of Alhambra Daren Grilley, City of San Gabriel Edward Hitti, City of La Canada Flintridge Elroy Kiepke, Willdan Engineering John Hunter, John L. Hunter and Associates Joe Bellomo, City of Hidden Hills, Kevin Sales, City of San Marino Maurice Oillataguerre, City of Glendale, Michelle Marquez-Riley, City of El Monte Mikki Klee, John Hunter and Associates Sean Sulivan, City of Rosemead Sheila Kennedy, Enfact Solutions Shin Furukawa, City of South Pasadena Kris Markarian, City of La Canada Flintridge Steve Walker, City of Pasadena

Tony Ybarra, City of South El Monte Marlene M. Miyoshi, City of San Fernando