

California Regional Water Quality Control Board

San Diego Region

Over 50 Years Serving San Diego, Orange, and Riverside Counties Recipient of the 2004 Environmental Award for Outstanding Achievement from USEPA



9174 Sky Park Court, Suite 100, San Diego, California 92123-4353 (858) 467-2952 • Fax (858) 571-6972 http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/sandiego

Item No. 13 Supporting Document No. 1

December 1, 2009

CERTIFIED MAIL: 7009 1410 0002 2000 0354

Joe Wegand O&M Manager San Diego County Water Authority 4677 Overland Avenue San Diego, CA 92123

In reply refer to:

CRU: Reg Measure ID 367377: MMATA

Dear Mr. Wegand:

SUBJECT: REVISED TENTATIVE ORDER NO. R9-2009-0094; NPDES PERMIT NO. CAG679001; GENERAL WASTE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS FOR DISCHARGES OF HYDROSTATIC TEST WATER AND POTABLE WATER TO SURFACE WATERS AND STORM DRAINS OR OTHER CONVEYANCE SYSTEMS WITHIN THE SAN DIEGO REGION

Enclosed is a copy of Revised Tentative Order No. R9-2009-0094, NPDES Permit No. CAG679001, which Regional Board staff intends to present to the Regional Board for adoption at their regularly scheduled meeting on December 16, 2009. Major changes to the Tentative Order from the August 5, 2009 version are shown in redline strikeout. Minor changes to the August 5, 2009 version based on comments received to date have also been incorporated into the Revised Tentative Order. A copy of the Revised Tentative Order will be available on the Regional Board website at: http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/sandiego/board_info/agendas/2009/dec/dec09.shtml

The December 16, 2009 meeting will begin promptly at 9:00 a.m. and will be held at the following location:

> Water Quality Control Board Regional Board Meeting Room 9174 Sky Park Court San Diego, CA 92123

Please review and comment on the Revised Tentative Order at your earliest convenience. It is recommended that written comments be submitted as soon as possible to enable staff to amend the tentative order, if necessary, and allow changes to the tentative order to be fully reviewed by the Regional Board and interested persons.

California Environmental Protection Agency



The final deadline for submittal of written comments is 5:00 PM on Tuesday, December 8, 2009. Per Regional Board direction, written material submitted to the Regional Board office after the submittal deadline date <u>will not</u> be provided to the Regional Board. Also, it is not likely that written material will be accepted by the Regional Board on the day of the meeting.

The heading portion of this letter includes a Regional Board code number noted after "In reply refer to:" In order to assist us in the processing of your correspondence, please include this code number in the heading or subject line portion of all correspondence and reports to the Regional Board pertaining to this matter.

If you have any questions or comments, please contact Michelle Mata at (858) 467-2981 or via email at mmata@waterboards.ca.gov.

Respectfully,

David T. Barker

Supervising Engineer

DTB:bdk:mm

Enclosure

cc's (by email only)

Janet Bell, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Christopher Mattis, Cal-AM Water

Lisa Prus, San Diego County Water Authority

Danny Allison, San Diego County Water Authority

Tim Suydam, San Diego County Water Authority

Jerome Janus, Vallecitos Water District

Tristan Hayman, Helix Water District

Gary Eaton, San Diego County Water Authority

Rich Arrant, Vallecitos Water District

Joe Destefano, City of Del Mar

Jim Ball, Vista Irrigation District

Dan Dambach, Vista Irrigation District

Steve Carpenter, San Diego County Water Authority

Bill Olson, Sweetwater Authority

Chuck Sneed, Rainbow Municipal Water District

Eric Minicilli, City of Del Mar

Victor Sturm, City of Del Mar

Dan Diehr, San Diego County Water Authority

Cor Chaffer, Santa Fe Irrigation District

George Briest, Olivenhain Municipal Water District

Tom Kennedy, Olivenhain Municpal Water District

California Environmental Protection Agency

Pedro Parra, Otay Water District
Frank Kowalski, Padre Dam Municipal Water District
Dave Loudon, Padre Dam Municipal Water District
Al Javier, Eastern Municipal Water District
John Hills, Irvine Ranch Water District
Jim Hyde, Irvine Ranch Water District
Mark Stone, Carlsbad Municipal Water District
Steven Plyler, Carlsbad Municipal Water District
Tatyana Fikhman, City of San Diego
Eric Njaa, City of Poway
Lori Vereker, City of Escondido
Keith Lewinger, Fallbrook Public Utility District