Leaders of Environmental Responsibility

2008 APR - 1 A 10: 27

March 26, 2008

Chairman Richard Wright and Members of the Board San Diego Regional Water Quality Control Board 9174 Sky Park Court, Suite 100 San Diego, CA 92123

Subject: #9-2006-0065, NPDES No. CA 0109223

Carlsbad Desalination Project

April 9, 2008, Hearing Agenda Item #7

Dear Chairman Wright and Regional Board Members:

On behalf of the Industrial Environmental Association (IEA), we are supporters of and have endorsed the Carlsbad Desalination Project.

At IEA, we strongly believe in working toward a sustainable future, and desalination is critical to diversifying this region's water supply portfolio.

Water supply is a basic necessity for the operations at all manufacturing, technology and the growing life sciences industries throughout San Diego County. An affordable and reliable supply of water is the lifeblood for retention and growth of this region's industrial community, which provides jobs for thousands of San Diegans.

In October 2006, your board issued a discharge permit for this project but further required a Flow, Entrainment and Impingement Minimization Plan be submitted to provide additional regulatory safeguards. That plan was submitted and has been revised twice at the request of your staff.

The San Diego Regional Board will be voting on whether or not to accept and approve that plan on April 9. We believe that Poseidon has clearly demonstrated that they are using all feasible methods to reduce their entrainment and impingement impacts on the lagoon.

Until your board approves this mitigation plan, the project cannot return to the State Lands Commission and the California Coastal Commission for the final project approvals needed before construction can begin.

San Diego water supply conditions continue to worsen and timing is critical. We cannot afford further delays.

IEA strongly urges you to approve this plan and allow this important desalination project to move forward.

Pater Krehn

Sincerely,

Patti Krebs

Executive Director

cc:

David King, Vice Chairman
Susan Ritschel, Board Member
Eric Anderson, Board Member
Wayne Rayfield, Board Member
Elizabeth Pearson-Schneider, Board Member
Kris Weber, Board Member
John Robertus, Executive Director
Eric Becker
Michael McCann
John Odermatt