



State Water Resources Control Board

Division of Water Quality

1001 I Street, Sacramento, California 95814

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 2231, Sacramento, California 95812

Phone Number: (916) 324-7493

Internet Address: http://www.waterboards.ca.gov

(http://www.waterboards.ca.gov)

OFFICE OF TANK TESTER LICENSING

CALIFORNIA TANK TESTER RESPONSIBILITIES

(Rev. 01/2020)

As a licensed California tank tester, you are responsible for compliance with California laws governing your profession. Below are some specific requirements you must meet as a licensed California tank tester.

- If you allow your California Tank Tester License (license) to expire, you may not perform tank or pipe integrity testing. You may reinstate your license within one (1) year of expiration by filing an *Application for Renewal and Re-instatement* and paying the renewal and re-instatement fees (\$600 for renewal plus \$200 for reinstatement). If your license has been expired for one (1) or more year, you will have to reapply for a license in the same manner as you did for your original license. This includes meeting the current qualifications, paying fees, and taking the California Tank Tester examination.
- - Test schedules shall be submitted to OTTL at least 48 hours in advance and must include: 1) the date; 2) time; 3) type of testing or certification being conducted; 4) facility name and contact person; 5) facility address and telephone number; 6) local agency and contact name; and 7) your name and license number.
 - Test results shall be submitted to OTTL within 30-days of completion and shall include all information and data collected in the course of performing

E. JOAQUIN ESQUIVEL, CHAIR | EILEEN SOBECK, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

tests, including and not limited to, raw data, calculations, and reports.

 All test reports shall be signed with an original signature under penalty of perjury, and must include your name (typed or printed), and your current license number. In order to comply with the law, OTTL recommends you include the following signature block on all test reports:

I declare under penalty of perjury that I am a licensed tank tester in th	10
State of California and that the information contained in this report is	true
and correct to the best of my knowledge.	

(Print or Type Name)	(Date)
(Signature)	(License Number)

- You must maintain testing records for three (3) years and those records must be available for inspection and/or be submitted to OTTL upon request. The records must contain the following:
 - Name, address, and telephone number of the tank owner or operator of any tanks you test and the dates you performed the services.
 - All information and data collected in the course of performing tests and reports prepared, including but not limited to raw data, calculations, and reports.
 - A list of all individuals working under your direct and personal supervision including the dates they worked.
- You may not use any tank or pipe testing methods or equipment that is demonstrated to be unsafe or unreliable or is not listed <u>local guidance (LG) letter</u> 113

(https://www.waterboards.ca.gov/water_issues/programs/ust/leak_prevention/lg113/index.html).

- You must notify OTTL within 30-days of any change of your employer or residence address.
- If you have tank tester employees under your direct and personal supervision, you are responsible for their actions while they are performing tank tests. You may be held accountable to OTTL for any violations under your supervision.

- You may not use deception or fraud in the course of doing business as a Licensed California Tank Tester and you must not engage in unfair business practices.
- You must use reasonable care and good judgment while performing tests.
- You must maintain competence in the procedures and equipment you use.
- You must use your license number, business name, and address in advertising (yellow pages, newspaper, business cards, etc.).
- You may not participate in unlicensed activity by loaning, renting, selling, giving, or in any way assigning your license to another person.
- You must have <u>in your possession</u> a valid license during testing. This license must be shown upon request to tank owners or operators, OTTL staff or their agents, or any state or local official.
- You must not misread or misinterpret results of tank tests or in any way fabricate test results.
- To use any equipment or test method, you must have current manufacturer's certification in that method or equipment and you must copies of your new or renewed manufacture training certificates to OTTL.
- If your license is lost, stolen, or destroyed, you must apply for a duplicate license immediately. Send a written statement describing the loss, theft, or destruction, two (2) full-face 1-inch by 1-inch color photographs, and a replacement fee of \$10 made payable to State Water Resources Control Board at the letterhead address.

If you have any questions regarding California Tank Tester Responsibilities, please contact OTTL at <a href="https://ottlo.com