



## State Water Resources Control Board

**TO**: Alan Lilly

Presiding Hearing Officer

**ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS OFFICE** 

**FROM**: Eileen Sobeck

**Executive Director** 

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

**DATE**: February 10, 2020

**SUBJECT**: TRANSFER OF PETITIONS FOR CITY OF SOLVANG FOR WATER RIGHT PERMIT 15878 (APPLICATION 22423) TO THE ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS OFFICE

The Division of Water Rights (Division) has recommended transfer of pending petitions for the City of Solvang (City) for Water Right Permit 15878 (Application 22423) to the Administrative Hearings Office for resolution of outstanding protests and other complex issues. There are four unresolved protests to the City's petitions. By letter dated March 23, 2018, the City indicated that discussions with two of the protestants (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration/National Marine Fishery Services and California Trout) have reached a stalemate, while negotiations with two other protestants (Alisal Guest Ranch and Santa Ynez Water Conservation District, Improvement District No. 1) continue, and the City hopes to reach a settlement with these protestants. Based upon the Division's referral, I recommend transfer of these petitions and related hearings issues to the Administrative Hearings Office. The petitions were previously transferred within the Division from the Petition, Licensing and Registration Section to the Hearings and Special Projects Section.

If you have any questions regarding this memo, please contact Conny Mitterhofer, Program Manager of the Hearings and Special Projects Section, at 916-341-5720 or by email at conny.mitterhofer@waterboards.ca.gov.

cc: Erik Ekdahl, Deputy Director, Division of Water Rights

Diane Riddle, Assistant Deputy Director, Bay Delta and Hearings Branch Conny Mitterhofer, Supervising Water Resource Control Engineer, Hearings and Special Projects Section

Sam Boland-Brien, Supervising Water Resource Control Engineer, Petition,

Licensing & Registration Section

Michael Lauffer, Chief Counsel

E. JOAQUIN ESQUIVEL, CHAIR | EILEEN SOBECK, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR