
STATE OF CALIFORNIA
CALlFORN:A ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECT10N AGENCY

STATE VVATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

ADMINISTRATiVE CiVIL L:ABILITY COMPLAINT

ln the Matter of Failure to File a Statement of Water Diversion and Use by

Jeff and Kathleen Kennedy
Statement Number: S017085

SOURCE: Stanislaus River tributary to San Joaquin River

COUNTY: San Joaquin

YOU ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT:

1. California Water Code sections 5100-5107 establish a program requiring persons who divert
water from a surface stream or a subterranean stream flowing through a known and definite
channel (with a few limited exceptions), to file a Statement of Water Diversion and Use
(Statement).

2. Jelf and Kathleen Kennedy (Diverte0 has filed an initial Statement (Statement number S017085),
as required by California Water Code section 5101 , and is alleged to have violated California
Water Code section 5104 subdivision (a), which states, in pertinent part:

Supplemental statements shall be filed at three-year intevals, pior to
July 1 of the year next succeeding the end of each three-year interval...

3. Supplemental Statements of Diversion and Use (Supplemental Statements) are required by
California Code of Regulations sections 910 and 920, subdivision (a) to be filed electronically on
forms available at the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) website. The
State Water Board's website provides access to the Electronic Water Rights lnformation
Management System for filing Supplemental Statements.

4. California Water Code section 5107, subdivision (c)(1 ) provides that the State Water Board may
administratively impose civil liability in the amount of $1,000 for the failure to file a Statement,
plus $500 per day for each additlonal day on which the violation continues if the person fails to file
a Statement within 30 days after the State Water Board has called the violation to the attention of
that person.

5. California Water Code section 1055, subdivision (a) provides that the Executive Director for the
State Water Board may issue a complaint to any person or entity on whom Administrative Civil
Liability (ACL) may be imposed. On May 17, 1999, the Executive Director delegated to the
Deputy Director for Water Rights the authority to issue a complaint to impose an ACL under
California Water Code section 1 055, subdivision (a). Pursuant lo State Water Board Resolution
2012-0029, the Deputy Director for Water Rights is authorized to issue an order imposing an ACL
when a complaint has been issued and no hearing has been requested within 20 days of receipt
of the complaint. State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029 also authorizes redelegation of this
authority from the Deputy Director for Water Rights to the Assistant Deputy Director for Water
Rights. This authority has been redelegated.
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ALLEGATIONS

On June 30, 2OlO the Division of Water Rights (Division) received S017805 from Diverter, who

reported diverting water from Stanislaus River under claims of riparian and Pre-1914 water rights.

The reported diversion period began in February of 2009 and continued until october 2009. A
total of 104 acre-feet were reportedly diverted for irrigation of 29 acres of agriculture crops.

On January 30, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter, or Diverter's designated representative, a
letter notiding you of the requirement to electronically file a supplemental statement of water
diversion and use for2010,2011 and 2012 no laterthan June 30, 2013.

On July 26, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter, or Diverter's designated representative' a second

letter i;forming you that the Division had still not received a Supplemental Statement as of

July 22,2013,-and informed you of the potential monetary penalties for failure to file a Statement.

on August 23, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter a third letter by certified mail which indicated

that your Statement had not been received by August 19, 2013. This letter identified that you

were subject to a $1,000 penalty, and if your report is not received within 30 days of the date you

receive this letter, you will be subject to an additional $500 per day, for each additional day the

violation continues.

The Division's records show that the August 23, 2013 certified letter was delivered by the U. s.
Postal Service on August 29, 2013 to 6926 Trahern Road in Manteca, CA. The certified letter was

signed by Kathleen Kennedy. Division staff also attempted to contact Mr. and Mrs. Kennedy by
phone on Octobe|I5, 1013, but was only able to leave a message

California Water Code section 5106, subdivision (b)(1) provides that the State Water Board may

rely on the name and address included in Statements submitted under this part for the purpose of
delermining the names and addresses who are to receive notices with regard to proceedings

before the State Water Board. The three notice letters discussed above were all sent to the

name and address provided in initial Statement number S017085 filed by you.

California Water Code section 5106, subdivision (b)(2) provides that any person may submit, in

writing, a request to the State Water Board to provide notification to a different address, and the

State Water Board shall provide the notiflcation to that address. No such notice has been
provided to the State Water Board since the flling of S017085.

California Water Code section 5104, subdivision (b) requires that if there is a change in the name

or address of the person diverting the water, a Supplemental Statement informing the State

Water Board ofthat change in name or address must be filed. No notice ofchange in name or
address of diverter has been filed with the State Water Board since the filing of S017085.

As of October 20, 2013, no Supplemental Statement has been filed for the years 2010 through
2012 by, ot on behalf of, Diverter.

PROPOSED CIVIL LIABILITY

The deadline for submittal of Supplemental Statements for the years 2010 through 2012 was

June 30, 2013, but Diverter failed to file the Statement by that deadline. California Water Code

section 5107, subdivision (cX1) provides that the State Water Board may administratively impose

civil liability pursuant to section 1055 in an amount not to exceed $1,000 for the failure to flle a
required Siatement, plus $500 per day for each additional day on which the violation continues if
the person fails to file a Statement within 30 days after the State Water Board has called the
violation to the attention of that person. Such notice was received by Diverter on August 29,

2013. Diverter failed to submit the required Supplemental Statements by September 28, 2013'

the 30th day after receiving notice of the violation from the State Water Board, thus starting the

count for additional days of violation.
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As of October 20, 2013, Diverter had not filed the Supplemental Statement and had been on
notice of the violations for 52 days; therefore Diverter is subject to civil liability in the amount of
$'l ,000 for the initial violation, plus $500 pet day fot 22 additional days of violation (for September
29 through October 20, inclusive), or an additional $1 1 ,000. The potential maximum liability that
can be considered for the violations alleged is $12,000.

ln determining the appropriate amount of a civil liability, California Water Code section 1055.3
requires that the State Water Board consider all relevant circumstances. ln this case, no
Supplemental Statement was filed despite three notices being sent. Failure to comply with the
supplemental Statement reporting requirements in a timely manner harms the Division's ability to
accurately track water diversions from the water course and etfectively regulate the resources it is
required to protect. Despite repeated notification to Diverter of the reporting requirements and
potential liability for failure to submit a Supplemental Statement, Diverter failed to comply in a
timely manner.

Having taken into consideration all relevant circumstances, including but not limited to the
Diverter's failure to submit the Supplemental Statement, the harm of the missing Statement to the
Division's effectiveness in regulating water diversions, staff costs associated with pursuing
compliance, together with the overall need to preserve the integrity of the regulatory program, the
Assistant Deputy Director of Water Rights recommends the imposition of $ 10,000 in
administrative civil liability (Proposed Liability).

CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER

To promote resolution of the alleged Supplemental Statement filing violations, the Deputy Director
of Water Rights makes the following conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer). Diverter can
avoid further enforcement action and settle the alleged failure to file Supplemental Statement
violation by agreeing to comply with the terms of the Conditional Settlement Offer, provided
below, as well as in the "Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Otfer and Waiver of Right to
Hearing or Reconsideration" (hereafier "Acceptance and Waiver'') attached hereto as Exhibit "A."

The Conditional Offer requires Diverter to pay an expedited payment amount (hereinafter
"Expedited Payment Amount") of $1,000, file the necessary Statement(s), and waive the right to a
hearing and reconsideration of the alleged violations.

To accept the Conditional Offer, you must sign and return the Acceptance and Waiver along with
the Expedited Payment Amount and electronically file the necessary Statement(s) within 20 days
of receipt of this complaint.

lf there are extenuating circumstances that you would like to discuss, such as an inability to pay
the Expedited Payment Amount, then you can contact the Division with that information as soon
as possible but no later than the 20 days from receipt of this complaint.

RIGHT TO HEARING

Diverter may request a hearing on this matter before the State Water Board. Any such request
for hearing must be received or postmarked within 20 days of the date that you receive this
complaint. (Wat. Code, S 1055, subd. (b).)

lf Diverter requests a hearing, Diverter will have an opportunity to be heard and to contest the
allegations in this complaint and the imposition of an ACL by the State Water Board. lf a hearing
is requested, separate notice setting the time and place for the hearing will be mailed not less
than 10 days before the hearing date. The State Water Board may convene a settlement
conference prior to noticing a hearing date.
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STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

lf Diverter requests a hearing, the State Water Board will consider at the hearing whether to

impose the civil liability, and if so, whether to adjust the proposed liability within the amount
authorized by statute. Based on the evidence received at the hearing, the State Water Board

may take any appropriate action in accordance with sections 100,275, and 1050 et seq of the
California Water Code and/or its responsibilities under the public trust doctrine. Any State Water
Board order imposing an ACL shall be final and effective upon issuance.

lf Diverter does not remit the Acceptance and Waiver, the Expedited Payment Amount' and

electronically file the necessary Statement(s), or request a hearing within 20 days of the date this

complaint is received, then the State Water Board will issue a final ACL Order and seek recovery

of the liability imposed as authorized by California Water Code section '1055 4.
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