STATE OF CALIFORNIA
CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

DIVISION OF WATER RIGHTS

ORDER WR 2014-0011-DWR

ADMINISTRATIVE CIVIL LIABILITY

In the Matter of Failure to File Statements of Water Diversion and Use by

Mendocino County

SOURCE: Mill Creek

COUNTY: Mendocino County

The Assistant Deputy Director, Division of Water Rights, through authority delegated by the State Water
Resources Control Board (State Water Board), hereby issues an Administrative Civil Liability (ACL) Order
against Mendocino County.

THE STATE WATER BOARD, OR ITS DELEGEE, FINDS AS FOLLOWS:

1

On November 12, 2013, the Assistant Deputy Director, Division of Water Rights, issued an

ACL Complaint against Mendocino County, which proposes to collect $10,000 from Mendocino
County for the alleged failure to file Statements of Water Diversion and Use. California Water
Code sections 5100-5107 establish a program requiring persons who divert water from a surface
stream or a subterranean stream flowing through a known and definite channel (with a few limited
exceptions) to file Statements of Water Diversion and Use (Statements).

Mendocino County has filed initial Statements (Statement Numbers S017157 and S017160), as
required by California Water Code section 5101, and is alleged to have violated California Water
Code section 5104, subdivision (a), which requires the filing of Supplemental Statements of Water
Diversion and Use (Supplemental Statements) at three-year intervals. The ACL Complaint was
served via certified mail and received by Mendocino County on November 14, 2013. A copy of the
ACL Complaint is attached hereto as Attachment 1.

The State Water Board is authorized to delegate authority to the Deputy Director of Water Rights
pursuant to California Water Code section 7. State Water Board Resolution No. 2012-0029
delegates some of the State Water Board’s authority to the Deputy Director of Water Rights.
Section 4.9.2 of the Resolution authorizes the Deputy Director to issue an Order imposing
administrative civil liability when a complaint has been issued and no hearing has been requested
in the period provided by California Water Code section 1055. This authority has been redelegated
to the Assistant Deputy Director of Water Rights.

No hearing has been requested, and the time period for requesting a hearing as provided in
California Water Code section 1055 (20 days from receiving service of the ACL Complaint) has
passed. California Water Code section 1055(c) and Resolution No. 2012-0029 authorize the
Assistant Deputy Director to issue an ACL Order imposing liability and authorize the $10,000
liability proposed in the ACL Complaint. Accordingly, the Assistant Deputy Director hereby issues
this final ACL Order imposing liability of $10,000.
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IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

u
2.

The ACL Complaint is fully incorporated herein and made part of this Order.

In adopting this Order, the State Water Board, or its delegee, has considered all relevant
circumstances, including but not limited to those specifically identified in the ACL Complaint, as
required by California Water Code section 1055.3, in determining that Mendocino County shall be
assessed the civil liability of $10,000.

Mendocino County shall remit, within 30 days of the date of this Order, a cashier’s check or
money order payment of the full penalty of $10,000 to:

State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Water Rights

Enforcement Section

P.O. Box 2000

Sacramento, CA 95812-2000

Fulfillment of Mendocino County's obligations under this Order will constitute full and final
satisfaction of any and all liability for each of the alleged violations specifically identified in this
Order. It does not alleviate Mendocino County of its obligation to file the necessary Statements
and to comply with California Water Code section 5104, subdivision (a), which requires the filing
of Supplemental Statements at three-year intervals. The State Water Board reserves the right to
take further future enforcement for any future violations.

Mendocino County or any interested person or entity may petition the State Water Board for
reconsideration of this Order in accordance with California Water Code section 1120 et seq.
Such petition shall be filed not later than 30 days from the date of this Order.

The Assistant Deputy Director is authorized to seek recovery of the liability imposed pursuant to
California Water Code section 1055.4 or refer this matter to the Office of Attorney General for
further enforcement action if Mendocino County fails to either pay the full penalty or petition for
reconsideration within 30 days of the date of this Order.

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

ﬁ]ﬁ,mww

mes W. Kassel, Assistant Deputy Director
Division of Water Rights

Dated:

MAR 2 1208

Enclosure: Attachment 1



ATTACHMENT 1

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

ADMINISTRATIVE CIVIL LIABILITY COMPLAINT

SOURCE: Mill Creek

In the Matter of Failure to File a Statement of Water Diversion and Use by

Mendocino County
Statement Number: S017157 and S017160

COUNTY: Mendocino County

YOU ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT:

1.

California Water Code sections 5100-5107 establish a program requiring persons who divert
water from a surface stream or a subterranean stream flowing through a known and definite
channel (with a few limited exceptions) to file a Statement of Water Diversion and Use
(Statement).

Mendocino County (Diverter) has filed initial Statements (Statement numbers S017157 and
$017160), as required by California Water Code section 5101, and is alleged to have violated
California Water Code section 5104, subdivision (a), which states, in pertinent part:

Supplemental statements shail be filed at three-year intervals, prior to
July 1 of the year next succeeding the end of each three-year interval...

Supplemental Statements of Diversion and Use (Supplemental Statements) are required by
California Code of Regulations section 910 and 920, subdivision (a) to be filed electronically on
forms available at the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) website. The
State Water Board's website provides access to the Electronic Water Rights Information
Management System for filing Supplemental Statements.

California Water Code section 5107, subdivision (c)(1) provides that the State Water Board may
administratively impose civil liability in the amount of $1,000 for the failure to file a Statement,
plus $500 per day for each additional day on which the violation continues if the person fails to file
a Statement within 30 days after the State Water Board has called the violation to the attention of
that person.

California Water Code section 1055, subdivision (a) provides that the Executive Director for the
State Water Board may issue a complaint to any person or entity on whom Administrative Civil
Liability (ACL) may be imposed. On May 17, 1999, the Executive Director delegated to the
Deputy Director for Water Rights the authority to issue a complaint to impose an ACL under
California Water Code section 1055, subdivision (a). Pursuant to State Water Board Resolution
2012-0029, the Deputy Director for Water Rights is authorized to issue an Order imposing an
ACL when a complaint has been issued and no hearing has been requested within 20 days of
receipt of the complaint. State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029 also authorizes redelegation
of this authority from the Deputy Director for Water Rights to the Assistant Deputy Director for
Water Rights. This authority has been redelegated. '
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ALLEGATIONS

Diverter owns two reservoirs on Mill Creek for which Initial Statements were filed in 2009 for
diversions made under claim of pre-1914 appropriative right. Statement S017157 covers the
diversion of water to storage in an 85 acre-foot reservoir at what is referred to as "Upper Mill
Creek Dam.” Statement 8017160 covers the diversion of water to storage at what is referred to
as "Middle Mill Creek Dam."” Both Statements indicate that water is put to beneficial use to keep
the on-stream reservoirs full for public recreation and fish propagation. For 2009, Diverter
reported a total diversion of 40 acre-feet of water at Upper Mili Creek Dam and one acre-foot of
water at Middle Mill Creek Dam.

On January 30, 2013, the Division of Water Rights (Division) mailed Diverter's designated
representative (Mendocino County Water Agency ¢/o Roland Sanford) two letters (one each for
S017157 and S017160) notifying Diverter of the requirement to electronically file Diverter's
Supplemental Statements for 2010, 2011, and 2012 no later than June 30, 2013.

On July 26, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter's designated representative a second set of
letters informing Diverter that the Division had still not received Diverter's Supplemental
Statements as of July 22, 2013, and the letter informed Diverter of the potential monetary
penalties.

On August 23, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter a third set of letters by certified mail, which
indicated that Diverter's Statements had not been received by August 19, 2013, This letter
identified that Diverter was subject to a $1,000 penalty for each failure to file a Supplemental
Statement, and if Diverter's reports are not received within 30 days of the date Diverter receives
the letters, Diverter will be subject to an additional $500 per Supplemental Statement per day for
each additional day the violation continues.

The Division's records show that the August 23, 2013 certified letters were delivered by the U. S.
Postal Service on August 26, 2013 to Mendocino County at 501 Low Gap Road, Ukiah, CA
95482. On October 2, 2013, Division staff contacted Mr. Dennis Slota of Mendocino County
regarding the Supplemental Statements. Mr. Slota confirmed that the notice letters had been
received by Mendocino County.

California Water Code section 5106, subdivision (b)(1) provides that the State Water Board may
rely on the name and address included in Statements submitted under this part for the purpose of
determining the names and addresses who are to receive notices with regard to proceedings
before the State Water Board. The three notice letters discussed above were all sent to the
names and addresses provided in initial Statement numbers S017157 and S017160 filed by
Diverter's designated representative.

California Water Code section 5106, subdivision (b})(2) provides that any person may submit, in
writing, a request to the State Water Board to provide notification to a different address, and the
State Water Board shall provide the notification to that address. No such notice has been
provided to the State Water Board since the filing of Statement numbers S017157 and S017180.

California Water Code section 5104, subdivision (b) requires that if there is a change in the name
or address of the person diverting the water, a Supplemental Statement informing the State
Water Board of that change in name or address must be filed. No notice of change in name or
address of Diverter has been filed with the State Water Board since the filing of S017157 and
5017160

As of November 4, 2013, no Supplemental Statement had been filed for the years 2010 through
2012 by, or on behalf of, Diverter. All of the required Supplemental Statements were filed on
November 5, 2013.
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PROPOSED CIVIL LIABILITY

The deadline for submittal of Supplemental Statements for the years 2010 through 2012 was
June 30, 2013, but Diverter failed to file the Statements by that deadline. California Water Code
section 5107, subdivision (c)(1) provides that the State Water Board may administratively impose
civil liability pursuant to section 1055 in an amount not to exceed $1,000 for the failure to file a
required Statement, plus $500 per day for each additional day on which the violation continues if
the person fails to file a Statement within 30 days after the State Water Board has called the
violation to the attention of that person. Such notice was received by Diverter on

August 26, 2013. Diverter failed to submit the required Supplemental Statements by

September 25, 2013, the 30th day after receiving notice of the violation from the State Water
Board, thus starting the count for additional days of violation.

As of November 4, 2013, Diverter had not filed Supplemental Statements and had been on notice
of the violations for 70 days; therefore, Diverter is subject to civil liability in the amount of $1,000
for each initial violation (2 violations, for a total of $2,000) plus $500 per day for 40 additional
days of violation (September 26 through November 4, inclusive), or an additional $20,000 for
each Statement (2 violations, for a total of $40,000). The potential maximum liability that can be
considered for the violations alleged is $42,000.

In determining the appropriate amount of a civil liability, California Water Code section 1055.3
requires that the State Water Board consider all relevant circumstances. In this case, despite
three notices being sent, Diverter failed to file Supplemental Statements for 70 days after the third
notice was received. Failure to comply with the Supplemental Statement reporting requirements
in a timely manner harms the Division's ability to accurately track water diversions from the water
course and effectively regulate the resources that the Division is required to protect. Despite
repeated notification to Diverter of the reporting requirements and potential liability for failure to
submit a Supplemental Statement, Diverter failed to comply in a timely manner.

Having taken into consideration all relevant circumstances, including but not limited to the
Diverter's failure to timely submit the Supplemental Statements, the harm of the missing or
untimely filed Statement to the Division's effectiveness in regulating water diversions, staff costs
associated with pursuing compliance, together with the overall need to preserve the integrity of
the regulatory program, the Assistant Deputy Director of Water Rights recommends the
imposition of $10,000 in administrative civil liability (Proposed Liability).

CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER

To promote resolution of the alleged Supplemental Statement filing viclations, the Assistant

Deputy Director of Water Rights makes the following conditional settlement offer (Conditional

Offer). Diverter can avoid further enforcement action and settle the alleged failure to file

Supplemental Statement violations by agreeing to comply with the terms of the Conditional Offer,

provided below, as well as in the "Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Offer and Waiver of

gi%hé to Hearing or Reconsideration” (hereafter “Acceptance and Waiver") attached hereto as
xhibit "A."

The Co_ncfitional Offer requires Diverter to pay an expedited payment amount (hereinafter
“Expedited Payment Amount”) of $1,000, and waive the right to a hearing and reconsideration of
the alleged violations.

To accept the Conditional Offer, Diverter must sign and return the Acceptance and Waiver along
with the Expedited Payment Amount within 20 days of receipt of this complaint.



22.

23.

24,

25,

26.

If there are extenuating circumstances that Diverter would like to discuss, such as an inability to
pay the Expedited Payment Amount, then Diverter can contact the Division with that information
as soon as possible but no later than the 20 days from receipt of this complaint.

RIGHT TO HEARING

Diverter may request a hearing on this matter before the State Water Board. Any such request
for hearing must be received or postmarked within 20 days of the date that Diverter receives this
complaint. (Wat. Code, § 1055, subd. (b).)

If Diverter requests a hearing, Diverter will have an opportunity to be heard and to contest the
allegations in this complaint and the imposition of an ACL by the State Water Board. If a hearing
is requested, a separate notice setting the time and place for the hearing will be mailed not less
than ten days before the hearing date. The State Water Board may convene a settiement
conference prior to noticing a hearing date.

If Diverter requests a hearing, the State Water Board will consider at the hearing whether to
impose the civil liability, and if so, whether to adjust the proposed liability within the amount
authorized by statute. Based on the evidence received at the hearing, the State Water Board
may take any appropriate action in accordance with sections 100, 275, and 1050 et seq. of the
California Water Code and/or its responsibilities under the public trust doctrine. Any State Water
Board Order imposing an ACL shall be final and effective upon issuance.

if Diverter does not remit the Acceptance and Waiver, the Expedited Payment Amount, and
electronically file the necessary Statements, or request a hearing within 20 days of the date this
complaint is received, then the State Water Board will issue a final ACL Order and seek recovery
of the liability imposed as authorized by California Water Code section 1055.4.

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

2/ Faaaet

James W. Kassel, Assistant Deputy Director
Division of Water Rights

Dated:

NOV 12208



