
SttAT匡 OF CALIFORN:A
CALIFORN!A ttNV:RONMttNttAL PROTttCT10N AGttNCY

STATE WAttER RESOURCES CONttROL BOARD

DiViS:ON OF WATER R:GHTS

ORDER WR 2014‐ 0016‐DWR

ln the Matter of Violation of Annual Use Reporting Requirements

For Licenses 6293 and 9869 (Applications 13466 and 18851) by

Robert C. Pedotti and California Pines Propefi Owners'Association

SOURCE:  Rye Grass Swale

COUNttY:  Modoc

Acting Assistant Deputy Director John O'Hagan, Division of Water Rights (Division), through authority
delegated by the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board), hereby issues an Administrative
Civil Liability Order (ACL Order) against Robert C. Pedotti, California Pines Property Owners'Association
(Pedotti).

THE STATE WATER BOARD, OR ITS DELEGEE, FINDS AS FOLLOWS:

1. On October 25,2013, the Assistant Deputy Director of the Division of Water Rights issued an
ACL Complaint against Pedotti, which proposes to collect $10,000 from Pedotti for the alleged violation
of Orders WR 2013-0048-DWR and WR 2013-0054-DWR, Cease and Desist Orders (CDO) issued on
October 7 ,2013, pursuant to California Water Code section 1834 and authority delegated pursuant to
State Water Resources Control Board Resolution 2012-0029, alleging violation of annual reporting
requirements and failure to file the required reports of water use for 2012 by the requested deadline.
The ACL Complaint was served via certified mail and received by Pedotti on October 31,2013. A copy
of the ACL Complaint is attached hereto as Exhibit A.

2. Pursuant to California Water Code section 7, the State Water Board is authorized to delegate authority
to the Deputy Director of Water Rights. State Water Resources Control Board Resolution
No. 2012-0029 (Resolution) delegates some of the State Water Board's authority to the Deputy
Director of Water Rights. Section 4.9.2 of the Resolution authorizes the Deputy Director to issue an
Order imposing Administrative Civil Liability when a Complaint has been issued and no hearing has
been requested in the period provided by California Water Code section 1055. Section 4.9.2 of the
Resolution allows this authority to be redelegated to the Assistant Deputy Director of Water Rights.

3. No hearing was requested within 20 days of Pedotti receiving service of the ACL Complaint. California
Water Code section 1055(c) and Resolution No. 2012-0029 authorize the Assistant Deputy Director to
issue an ACL Order imposing liability for up to the amount proposed in the ACL Complaint.
Accordingly, the Acting Assistant Deputy Director hereby issues this final ACL Order imposing liability
of $10,000.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

1. The Administrative Civil Liability Complaint attached hereto as Exhibit A is fully incorporated herein
and made part of this Order.
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2. ln adopting this Order, the State Water Board, or its delegee, have considered all relevant
circumstances, including but not limited to those specifically identified in the ACL Complaint, as
required by California Water Code section 1055.3 in determining that Pedotti shall be assessed
the civil liability of $10,000.

3. Pedotti shall remit, within 30 days of the date of this Order, a check or money order payment of the
full penalty of $10,000 to:

State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Water Rights
Enforcement Section
P.O. Box 2000
Sacramento, CA 95812-2000

Fulfillment of Pedotti's obligations under this Order constitutes full and final satisfaction liability for the
alleged violation specifically identified in this Order. The State Water Board reserves the right to take
further enforcement action for any future violations.

4. Pedotti or any interesled person or entity may petition the State Water Board for reconsideration of
this Order in accordance with California Water Code section 1120 et seq. Such petition shall be filed
not later than 30 days from the date of this Order.

5. The Assistant Deputy Director of the Division of Water Rights is authorized to seek recovery of the
liability imposed, as authorized by California Water Code section '1055.4, or refer this matter to the
Otfice of Attorney General for further enforcement action if Pedotti fails to comply with remitting
payment of the full penalty within 30 days of the date of this Order.

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD
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John O'Hagan, Acting Assistant Deputy Director
Division of llater Rights

Am 2 920■Dated:
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA
CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECT10N AGENCY

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

ADMIN:STRATiVE CiViL L:AB:LiTY COMPLAINT

In the Matter of Violation of Annual Reporting Requirements by

Robert C Pedotti, California Pines Property Owners, Association

SOURCE:  Rye Crass Swale

COUNTY:  Modoc
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YOU ARE HEREBY G:VEN NOTICE THAT:

l   Roben C PedOti,Califomia Pines Propeny Owners'Associalon(referred to herein as
Licensee)is a‖ eged to have violated Orders 2013-0048-DVVR and 2013-0054‐ DWR,Cease
and Desist Orders(CDO)issued On October 7,2013,(Final CDOs)by the Assistant Deputy
Director for Water Rights pursuantto Canfornia vVater Code section 1 834 and autho「 ity

delegated pursuantto State Water Resources Control Board(State Water Board)Resoluuon
2012-0029

2     VVater Code section 1845,subdivision(b)(1)prOVides thatthe State llVater 8oard may
administralvely impose c～ ‖‖ab‖ly to any person or enity who violates a CDO in an amount
notto exceed Sl,o00 fbr each day in which the violation occurs water Code section 1845,

subdivision(b)(3)provides that civ‖ ‖abi‖ty may be impOsed administrattvely by the State
VVater Board pursuantto Water Code section 1055
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Water Code section 1055, subdivision (a), provides that the Executive Director for the State
Water Board may issue a complaint to any person or entity to whom administrative civil
liability (ACL) may be imposed. On June 5, 20'12, the Executive Director delegated this
authority to the Deputy Director for water Rights. pursuant to state water Boird Resolution
20-12-0029, the Deputy Director for Water Rights is authorized to issue an order imposing an
ACL when a complaint has been issued and no hearing has been requested within 20 days of
receipt of the complaint. State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029 also authorizes
redelegation of this authority from the Deputy Director for water Rights to the Assisiant
Deputy Director for Water Rights. This authority has been redelegated.

ALLEGATIONS

senate Bill x7-8, which was signed into law in 2oog, authorized the state water Board to
adopt regulations requiring online reporting of water diversions. consistent with the senate
Bill, the State Water Board has adopted regulations requiring annual reporting ofwater
diversion and use under permits and licenses (Annual Use nepo0, anO Oeve'ioped a new
online Repqd- Management System (RIMS) as a component of the enhanced W;ter Right
lnformation Management system (ewRlMS). The regulation specifying annual permittie and
licensee reporting requirements is codified at rifle 23, ctraptei z.z, erticte z, sections gzs
and 929 of the California Code of Regulations.

ln January 2013, the Division of w-afer Rights (Division) ma,led out a first notice (First Notice)
to Licensee reminding Licensee of the requirement to submit the Annuar use nei:ort oy .lunJ
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30, 20 13, as required pursuant to the California Code of Regulations and notifying Licensee
that the 2012 Annual Use Report must be filed online. The First Notice provided instructions
on how to access the RMS system and submit the 2012 Annual Use Report online and also
notilied Licensee to contact the Division by phone or emailwith any questions regarding the
new reporting process.

Licensee failed to submit the 2012 Annual Use Report online by the deadline, June 30, 20'13.

ln determining that Licensee violated a term of the Permivlicense by failing to submit the
Annual Use Reports by June 30, 2013, the Division issued draft CDOS requesting the
submission of the 2012 Annual Reports within 20 days of receipt or a written request for a
hearing to contest the notice (Draft CDOs).

The United States Postal Service confirmed receipt of the Draft CDOs on August 27, 20'13 at

1 1 :48 am via certified mail (Cert#s 7004-2510-0003-91 47-7635 and 7004-2510-0003-9147-
7963).

Having neither received the 2012 Annual Use Reports nor a request for a hearing within 20-
days after receipt of the Draft CDOs, the Division issued Cease and Desist Orders on

October 7, 2013, adopting the Draft CDOS as final (Orders 2013-0048-DWR and 2013-0054-
DWR or Final CDOs).

The Final CDOs were sent certified mail (Cert#s 7004-2510-0003-9148-0208 and 7004'
2510-0003-9148-0260) and delivered on October 16, 2013 at 11:34 am.

Licensee violated the Final CDOs by failing to immediately submit the 2012 Annual Use
Reports and Licensee remains oul of compliance 18 days after the Final CDOS were issued

on October 7, 2013.

PROPOSED CIVIL LIABILITY

California Water Code section 1845, subdivision (bX1) provides that the State Water Board

may administratively impose civil liability to any person or entity who violates a CDO in an

amount not to exceed $1,000 for each day in which the violation occurs.

Asof October25,2013, Licensee has been in violation of the Final CDOSforlSdays.
Based on the days of viotation described in the previous paragraph, the maximum liability for
the violations alleged is $36,000 (18 days at $1 ,000/day/license, 2 licenses).

ln determining the appropriate amount of a civil liability' California Water Code sections

1055.3 and 1845, subdivision (c), require that the State Water Board consider all relevant

circumstances, including, but not limited to, the extent of harm caused by the violation, the

nature and persistence of the violation, the length of time over which the violation occurs,

and the corrective action, if any, taken by the violator.

lnthiscase,the20l2Annual Use Reports were due by June 30, 2013 Despite two prior

notifications (January 2013 notification letter and the August 2013 Draft CDOs), Licensee

failed to submit the 2012 Annual Use Reports before the issuance of the Final CDos'

iailure to comply with the reporting requirements in a timely manner harms the Division's

ability to accuraGly track water diversions from the source and effectively regulate the

iesorlrces it is required to protect. Despite repeated notices, Licensee to date, has failed to

compty. Having tjken into consideration ail relevant circumstances, including but not limited

to tf,Liaiture oit-icensee to submit the 2012 Annual Use Reports, ihe harm of the missing

nnnuat use Reports to the Division's effectiveness in regulating water diversions, staff costs

,a"o"l"t"O *itn prrsuing compliance, togetherwith the overall need to preserve the integrity
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of the regulatory program, the Division recommends the imposition of $10,000 in
administralive civil liability (Proposed Liability).

CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER

To promote resolution of the alleged annual use filing violations and administrative efficiency,
the Oivision makes the following conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer). Licensee
can avoid fu(her enforcement aclion and settle the alleged failure to file the annual use
violation by agreeing to comply with the terms of the Conditional Offer, provided below, as
well as in the Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Offer and Waiver of Right to Hearing or
Reconsideration (Acceptance and Waiver) enclosed hereto as Exhibit "A."

This Conditional Offer requires Licensee to pay an expedited payment amount (Expedited
Payment Amount) of $2,000 and waive the right to a hearing and reconsideration of the
alleged violations. This expedited payment amount is based on Licensee's failure to comply
to date along with staff costs incurred in preparing the Final CDOS and this ACL.

To accept the Conditional Offer, Licensee must sign and return the Acceptance and Waiver
along with the Expedited Payment Amount within 20 days of receipt of this complaint.

lf there are extenuating circumstances that Licensee would like to discuss, such as an inability
to pay the Expedited Paymenl Amount, then Licensee may contact John O'Hagan, Enforcement
Section Manager, with that information as soon as possible but no later than the 20 days from
receipt of this complaint.

RIGHT TO HEARING

Licensee may request a hearing on this matter before the State Water Board. Any such
request for hearing must be received or postmarked within 20 days of the date that this
notice is received as required by Water Code section 1055, subdivision (b).

lf Licensee requests a hearing, Licensee will have an oppo(unity to be heard and to contest
the allegations in this complaint and the imposition of an ACL by the State Water Board. lf a
hearing is requested, separate notice setting the time and place for the hearing will be mailed
not less than 10 days before the hearing date. The Division may convene a settlement
conference prior to noticing a hearing date.

lf Licensee requests a hearing, the State Water Board wlll consider at the hearing whether to
impose the civil liability, and if so, whether to adjust the proposed liability within the amount
authorized by statute. Based on the evidence received at the hearing, the State Water Board
may take any appropriate action in accordance with sections 100, 275, and '1050 et seq. of
the Water Code and/or its responsibilities under the public trust doctrine. Any Stale Water
Board order imposing an ACL shall be final and effective upon issuance.

lf Licensee does not wish to request a hearing within 20 days of receipt of this complaint,
Licensee shall waive the right to a hearing and reconsideration of this mafter, electronically
file the necessary 2012 Annual Use Reports and remit a cashier,s check or money order for
the Expedited Payment Amount set forth in paragraph 17 above, to:

State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Water Rights
Attn : Enforcement Section
P.O. Box 2000
Sacramento, CA 95812-2000
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24. lf Licensee does not remit the Acceptance and Waiver, the Expedited Payment Amount, nor
request a hearing within 20 days of the date this complaint is received, then the State Water
Board will issue an ACL Order and seek recovery of the liability imposed as authorized by
Water Code section 1055.4.

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD
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Dated:October 25,2013


