STATE OF CALIFORNIA
CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

ADMINISTRATIVE CIVIL LIABILITY COMPLAINT

In the Matter of Failure to File Supplemental Statements of Water Diversion and Use by
Rachelann T. Daniel

Statement Number: S021600 and S021601

SOURCE: Unnamed Streams
COUNTY: San Luis Obispo

YOU ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT:

1.

California Water Code sections 5100-5107 establish a program requiring persons who divert water
from a surface stream or a subterranean stream flowing through a known and definite channel (with
a few limited exceptions), to file a Statement of Water Diversion and Use (Statement).

Rachelann T. Daniel (Diverter) has filed an initial Statement (Statement number $S021600 and
S021601), as required by California Water Code section 5101, and is/are alleged to have violated
California Water Code section 5104 subdivision (a), which states, in pertinent part:

Supplemental statements shall be filed at three-year intervals, prior to July 1
of the year next succeeding the end of each three-year interval...

Supplemental Statements of Water Diversion and Use (Supplemental Statements) are required by
California Code of Regulations section 910 and 920, subdivision (a) to be filed electronically on
forms available at the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) website. The State
Water Board's website provides access to the Electronic Water Rights Information Management
System for filing Supplemental Statements.

California Water Code section 5107, subdivision (c)(1) provides that the State Water Board may
administratively impose civil liability in the amount of $1,000 for the failure to file a Statement, plus
$500 per day for each additional day on which the violation continues if the person fails to file a
Statement within 30 days after the State Water Board has called the violation to the attention of that
person.

California Water Code section 1055, subdivision (a) provides that the Executive Director for the State
Water Board may issue a complaint to any person or entity on whom Administrative Civil Liability
(ACL) may be imposed. On May 17, 1999, the Executive Director delegated to the Deputy Director
for Water Rights the authority to issue a complaint to impose an ACL under California Water Code
section 1055, subdivision (a). Pursuant to State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029, the Deputy
Director for Water Rights is authorized to issue an Order imposing an ACL when a complaint has
been issued and no hearing has been requested within 20 days of receipt of the complaint. State
Water Board Resolution 2012-0029 also authorizes redelegation of this authority from the Deputy

Director for Water Rights to the Assistant Deputy Director for Water Rights. This authority has been
redelegated.
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10.

1.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

ALLEGATIONS

Diverter is the primary owner of Statements S021600 and S021601, filed with the Division on

June 27, 2010 for water diversions under a riparian claim of right. Statement S021600 does not
identify the source of water, but Division staff did use the United States Geological Survey (USGS)
topographic map to identify the source of water as an Unnamed Stream. Statement S021601 does
not identify the source of water, but Division staff did use the USGS topographic map to identify the
source of water as an Unnamed Stream. Statement S021600 reports water use for stockwatering,
and fish and wildlife preservation and enhancement. Statement S021601 reports water use for
stockwatering, fish and wildlife preservation and enhancement, and other.

On January 30, 2013, the Division of Water Rights (Division) mailed Diverter a letter notifying you of
the requirement to electronically file your Supplemental Statements for 2010, 2011, and 2012 no later
than June 30, 2013.

On July 26, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter a second letter informing you that the Division had still
not received your Supplemental Statements as of July 22, 2013, and the letter informed you of the
potential monetary penalties.

On August 23, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter a third letter by certified mail which indicated that
your Supplemental Statements had not been received by August 19, 2013. This letter identified that
you were subject to a $1,000 penalty, and if your report is not received within 30 days of the date you
receive this letter, you will be subject to an additional $500 per day for each additional day the
violation continues.

The Division's records show that the August 23, 2013 certified letter was delivered by the U. S.
Postal Service on August 29, 2013 to Diverter.

On October 9, 2013, Division staff tried to contact Diverter via the phone number and e-mail address
provided on the initial Statement on file with the Division, but both phone and e-mail are no longer in
service.

On October 16, 2013, Division staff confirmed via ParcelQuest that the Assessor Parcel Numbers
(APNs) were sold to Roll Vineyards, LLC on February 22, 2011. Division staff confirmed by aerial
imagery that APN 014-311-042 has a storage reservoir with the ability to collect water. The Division
has not received a change in ownership form from either party. Diverter is required to submit
Supplemental Statements for Statement S021600 and S021601 for 2010 and 2011.

California Water Code section 5106, subdivision (b)(1) provides that the State Water Board may rely
on the name and address included in Statements submitted under this part for the purpose of
determining the names and addresses who are to receive notices with regard to proceedings before
the State Water Board. The three notice letters discussed above were all sent to the name and
address provided in initial Statement number S021600 and S021601, filed by Diverter on

June 27, 2010. Division staff confirmed that the mailing addresses on the three notice letters were
correct.

California Water Code section 5106, subdivision (b)(2) provides that any person may submit, in
writing, a request to the State Water Board to provide notification to a different address, and the
State Water Board shall provide the notification to that address. No such notice has been provided
to the State Water Board since the filing of S021600 and S021601.

California Water Code section 5104, subdivision (b) requires that if there is a change in the name or
address of the person diverting the water, Supplemental Statements informing the State Water Board
of that change in name or address must be filed. No notice of change in name or address of Diverter
has been filed with the State Water Board since the filing of S021600 and S021601.

As of October 20, 2013, no Supplemental Statements have been filed for 2010 through 2012 for
S021600 or S021601 by, or on behalf of, Diverter.
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18.

19.

20.

21.
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24.

25.

PROPOSED CIVIL LIABILITY

The deadline for submittal of the Supplemental Statements was June 30, 2013. California Water
Code section 5107, subdivision (c)(1) provides that the State Water Board may administratively
impose civil liability pursuant to section 1055 in an amount not to exceed $1,000 for the failure to file
a required Statement, plus $500 per day for each additional day on which the violation continues if
the person fails to file a Statement within 30 days after the State Water Board has called the violation
to the attention of that person. Such notice was received by Diverter on August 29, 2013. Diverter
failed to submit the required Supplemental Statement by September 27, 2013, the 30th day after
receiving notice of the violation from the State Water Board.

As of October 20, 2013, Diverter has not filed a Supplemental Statement and has been on notice of
the violation for 52 days; therefore, Diverter is subject to civil liability in the amount of $1,000 for each
initial violation (2 violations, for a total of $2,000) plus $500 per day for 22 additional days of violation
(September 29, 2013 through October 20, 2013, inclusive), or $11,000 for each Statement

(44 violations, for a total of $22,000). The potential maximum liability for the violations alleged up

to and including October 20, 2013 is $24,000. The alleged violation is ongoing, however, and
additional potential liability continues to accrue on a daily basis.

In determining the appropriate amount of a civil liability, California Water Code section 1055.3
requires that the State Water Board consider all relevant circumstances.

In this case, no Supplemental Statements were filed despite three notices being sent. Failure to
comply with the Supplemental Statements reporting requirements in a timely manner harms the
Division’s ability to accurately track water diversions from the water course and effectively regulate
the resources it is required to protect. Despite repeated notification to Diverter of the reporting
requirements and potential liability for failure to submit Supplemental Statements, Diverter failed to
comply in a timely manner.

Having taken into consideration all relevant circumstances, including but not limited to the Diverter’s
failure to submit the Supplemental Statements, the harm of the missing Supplemental Statements to
the Division’s effectiveness in regulating water diversions, staff costs associated with pursuing
compliance, together with the overall need to preserve the integrity of the regulatory program, the
Assistant Deputy Director of Water Rights recommends the imposition of $10,000 in administrative
civil liability (Proposed Liability).

CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER

To promote resolution of the alleged Statement filing violations, the Assistant Deputy Director of
Water Rights makes the following conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer). Diverter can avoid
further enforcement action and settle the alleged failure to file Statement of Water Diversion and Use
violation/s by agreeing to comply with the terms of the Conditional Offer, provided below, as well

as in the “Acceptance of Conditional Seftlement Offer and Waiver of Right to Hearing or
Reconsideration” (hereafter “Acceptance and Waiver”) attached hereto as Exhibit “A.”

The Conditional Offer requires Diverter to pay an expedited payment amount (hereinafter “Expedited
Payment Amount”) of $2,000, file the necessary Supplemental Statements, and waive the rightto a
hearing and reconsideration of the alleged violations.

To accept the Conditional Offer, you must sign and return the Acceptance and Waiver along with the
Expedited Payment Amount and electronically file the necessary Supplemental Statements within
20 days of receipt of this complaint.

If there are extenuating circumstances that you would like to discuss, such as an inability to pay the
Expedited Payment Amount, then you can contact the Division with that information as soon as
possible but no later than the 20 days from receipt of this complaint.
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RIGHT TO HEARING

26. Diverter may request a hearing on this matter before the State Water Board. Any such request for
hearing must be received or postmarked within 20 days of the date that you receive this complaint.
(Wat. Code, §1055, subd. (b).)

27 If Diverter requests a hearing, Diverter will have an opportunity to be heard and to contest the
allegations in this complaint and the imposition of an ACL by the State Water Board. If a hearing is
requested, separate notice setting the time and place for the hearing will be mailed not less than
10 days before the hearing date. The State Water Board may convene a settiement conference prior
to noticing a hearing date.

28. If Diverter requests a hearing, the State Water Board will consider at the hearing whether to impose
the civil liability, and if so, whether to adjust the proposed liability within the amount authorized by
statute. Based on the evidence received at the hearing, the State Water Board may take any
appropriate action in accordance with sections 100, 275, and 1050 et seq. of the California Water
Code and/or its responsibilities under the public trust doctrine. Any State Water Board Order
imposing an ACL shall be final and effective upon issuance.

29. If Diverter does not remit the Acceptance and Waiver, the Expedited Payment Amount, and
electronically file the necessary Statement(s), or request a hearing within 20 days of the date this
complaint is received, then the State Water Board will issue a final ACL Order and seek recovery of
the liability imposed as authorized by California Water Code section 1055.4.

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

G

James W. Kassel, Assistant Deputy Director
Division of Water Rights

s 9
Dated: fvie uf s: 2 2313
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EXHIBIT A

ACCEPTANCE OF CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER
AND WAIVER OF RIGHT TO HEARING AND RECONSIDERATION

Rachelann T. Daniel
Source: Unnamed Streams
County: San Luis Obispo

By signing below and returning this Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Offer and Waiver of
Right to Hearing and Reconsideration (Acceptance and Waiver) to the State Water Resources
Control Board (State Water Board), Rachelann T. Daniel (Diverter) hereby accepts the State
Water Board's conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer) and waives the right to a hearing
before and reconsideration by the State Water Board at which violations alleged in the
Administrative Civil Liability Complaint issued to Diverter (ACL Complaint) to which this
Acceptance and Waiver is attached as Exhibit “A” could be disputed.

Diverter agrees to perform the following within 20 days of receipt of the ACL Complaint:

° Pay administrative civil liability as authorized by California Water Code
section 5107, subdivision (c) in the amount of $2,000 by cashier’s check or by certified
check made payable to the “State Water Resources Control Board” for deposit into the
Water Rights Fund, which shall be deemed payment in full of any civil liability pursuant to
California Water Code section 5107 (c) that otherwise might be assessed for the violations
described in the ACL Compilaint.

° Electronically file the necessary Supplemental Statement of Water Diversion and
Use (Supplemental Statement) for the 2010, 2011, and 2012 calendar years under
$021600 and S021601, as required by Water Code sections 5104 and 5107,
subdivision (b).

Diverter understands that this Acceptance and Waiver waives the Diverter’s right to contest the
allegations in the ACL Complaint and the civil liability amount proposed for those violations.

Diverter understands that the failure to submit payment of the Expedited Payment Amount,
electronic copies of the necessary Supplemental Statements as identified and described above,
along with the signed Acceptance and Waiver within 20 days of receipt of this notice shall
render the State Water Board’s Conditional Offer void. If the State Water Board’s Conditional
Offer is deemed void due to Diverter's non-performance, then the State Water Board will issue a
final ACL Order and seek recovery of the full liability amount proposed in the ACL Complaint.

Diverter understands that this Acceptance and Waiver does not address or resolve liability for
any violation that is not specifically identified in the ACL Complaint. The filing of a Statement of
Diversion and Use with the State Water Board does not in any way establish or constitute
evidence of a right to divert or use water. (Wat. Code, § 5106, subd. (a).)
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Acceptance and Waiver

Upon execution by Diverter, the Acceptance and Waiver and Expedited Payment Amount shall
be mailed to the following:

Conditional Settlement Offer

State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Water Rights
Enforcement Section

P. O. Box 2000

Sacramento, CA 95812-2000

Attn: John O’Hagan

Diverter understands that this Acceptance and Waiver is not final until it is formally endorsed by
the Division of Water Rights.

| hereby affirm that | am duly authorized to act on behalf of and to bind the Diverter in the
making and giving of this Acceptance and Waiver.

Rachelann T. Daniel*
*Please make corrections as appropriate.

By:

Signed Name Date

Printed or typed name

Title

IT IS SO ORDERED PURSUANT TO CALIFORNIA GOVERNMENT CODE
SECTION 11415.60.

Approval of the Acceptance and Waiver has been delegated to the Assistant Deputy Director for
Water Rights by State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029, and approval shall not limit the
authority of the Executive Director or the Deputy Director for Water Rights, as delegated, to
initiate any enforcement actions for the unauthorized diversion or use of water, for any future
violations of the California Water Code, or violation of the terms of the Acceptance and Waiver.

By:

James W. Kassel, _ Date
Assistant Deputy Director
Division of Water Rights



