STATE OF CALIFORNIA
CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

ADMINISTRATIVE CIVIL LIABILITY COMPLAINT

In the Matter of Failure to File a Statement of Water Diversion and Use by

Steven J. Earle
Statement Number: S018583

SOURCE: Santa Ynez River

COUNTY: Santa Barbara County

YOU ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT:

1

California Water Code sections 5100-5107 establish a program requiring persons who divert
water from a surface stream or a subterranean stream flowing through a known and definite
channel (with a few limited exceptions), to file a Statement of Water Diversion and Use
(Statement).

Steven J. Earle (Diverter) has filed an initial Statement (Statement number S018583), as required
by California Water Code section 5101, and is/are alleged to have violated California Water Code
section 5104 subdivision (a), which states, in pertinent part:

Supplemental statements shall be filed at three-year intervals, prior to
July 1 of the year next succeeding the end of each three-year interval...

Supplemental Statements of Diversion and Use (Supplemental Statements) are required by
California Code of Regulations Section 910 and 920 to be filed electronically on forms available at
the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) website. The State Water Board’s
website provides access to the Electronic Water Rights Information Management system for filing
Supplemental Statements.

California Water Code section 5107, subdivision (c)(1) provides that the State Water Board may
administratively impose civil liability in the amount of $1,000 for the failure to file a Statement,

plus $500 per day for each additional day on which the violation continues if the person fails to file
a Statement within 30 days after the State Water Board has called the violation to the attention of
that person.

California Water Code section 1055, subdivision (a) provides that the Executive Director for the
State Water Board may issue a complaint to any person or entity on whom Administrative Civil
Liability (ACL) may be imposed. On May 17, 1999, the Executive Director delegated to the
Deputy Director for Water Rights the authority to issue a complaint to impose an ACL under
California Water Code section 1055 subdivision (a). Pursuant to State Water Board Resolution
2012-0029, the Deputy Director for Water Rights is authorized to issue an order imposing an ACL
when a complaint has been issued and no hearing has been requested within 20 days of receipt
of the complaint. State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029 also authorizes redelegation of this
authority from the Deputy Director for Water Rights to the Assistant Deputy Director for Water
Rights. This authority has been redelegated.
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ALLEGATIONS

Diverter filed an initial Statement on June 22, 2010, for the diversion of up to 15.4 acre-feet
annually from the Santa Ynez River, under a riparian water right claim. The initial Statement
indicated diversion of water for irrigation and stockwatering of cattle. The initial Statement
reported diversions for 2008 and 2009.

On January 30, 2013, the Division of Water Rights (Division) mailed Diverter, a letter notifying
Diverter of the requirement to file Diverter's Supplemental Statement of water diversion and use
for 2010, 2011 and 2012 no later than June 30, 2013,

On July 26, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter a second letter informing Diverter that the Division
had still not received Diverter's Supplemental Statement as of July 22, 2013, and the letter
informed Diverter of the potential monetary penalties.

On August 23, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter a third letter by certified mail which indicated
that Diverter's Statement had not been received by August 19, 2013. This letter identified that
Diverter was subject to a $1,000 penalty, and if Diverter’s report is not received within 30 days of
the date Diverter receives this letter, Diverter will be subject to an additional $500 per day, for
each additional day the violation continues.

The Division's records show that the August 23, 2013 certified letter was delivered by the U. S.
Postal Service on August 28, 2013 to Diverter in Buellton, CA and received by D. Earle.

Water Code section 5106, subdivision (b)(1) provides that the State Water Board may rely on the
name and address included in Statements submitted under this part for the purpose of
determining the names and addresses who are to receive notices with regard to proceedings
before the State Water Board. The three notice letters discussed above were all sent to the
name and address provided in Initial Statement number S018583 filed by Diverter.

Water Code section 5106, subdivision (b)(2) provides that any person may submit, in writing, a
request to the State Water Board to provide notification to a different address, and the State
Water Board shall provide the notification to that address. No such notice has been provided to
the State Water Board since the filing of S018583.

Water Code section 5104, subdivision (b) requires that if there is a change in the name or
address of the person diverting the water, a Supplemental Statement informing the State Water
Board of that change in name or address must be filed. No notice of change in name or address
of diverter has been filed with the State Water Board since the filing of S018583.

Diverter filed Supplemental Statements for 2010 through 2012 on October 18, 2013.

PROPOSED CIVIL LIABILITY

The deadline for submittal of Supplemental Statements for the years 2010 through 2012 was
June 30, 2013, but Diverter failed to file the Statements by that deadline. California Water Code
section 5107, subdivision (c)(1) provides that the State Water Board may administratively impose
civil liability pursuant to section 1055 in an amount not to exceed $1,000 for the failure to file a
required Statement, plus $500 per day for each additional day on which the violation continues if
the person fails to file a Statement within 30 days after the State Water Board has called the
violation to the attention of that person. Such notice was received by Diverter on August 28,
2013. Diverter failed to submit the required Supplemental Statements by September 27, 2013,
the 30th day after receiving notice of the violation from the State Water Board, thus starting the
count for additional days of violation.
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As of October 17, 2013, Diverter had not filed Supplemental Statements and had been on notice
of the violations for 50 days; therefore, Diverter is subject to civil liability in the amount of $1,000

for each initial violation plus $500 per day for 20 additional days of violation (September 27, 2013
through October 17, 2013, inclusive), which amounts to $10,000. The potential maximum liability
that can be considered for the violations alleged is $11,000.

In determining the appropriate amount of a civil liability, California Water Code section 1055.3
requires that the State Water Board consider all relevant circumstances.

In this case, no Statement was filed until October 18, 2013 despite three notices being sent.
Failure to comply with the supplemental Statement reporting requirements in a timely manner
harms the Division's ability to accurately track water diversions from the water course and
effectively regulate the resources it is required to protect. Despite repeated notification to
Diverter of the reporting requirements and potential liability for failure to submit a Supplemental
Statement, Diverter failed to comply in a timely manner.

Having taken into consideration all relevant circumstances, including but not limited to the
Diverter’s failure to submit the Supplemental Statement, the harm of the missing Statement to the
Division’s effectiveness in regulating water diversions, staff costs associated with pursuing
compliance, together with the overall need to preserve the integrity of the regulatory program, the
Assistant Deputy Director of Water Rights recommends the imposition of $10,000 in
administrative civil liability (Proposed Liability).

CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER

To promote resolution of the alleged Statement filing violations and taking into consideration the
fact that Diverter has come into compliance by filing the required Supplemental Statement, the
Assistant Deputy Director of Water Rights makes the following conditional settlement offer
(Conditional Offer). Diverter can avoid further enforcement action and settle the alleged failure to
file Statement of Water Diversion and Use violation/s by agreeing to comply with the terms of the
Conditional Settlement Offer, provided below, as well as in the “Acceptance of Conditional
Settlement Offer and Waiver of Right to Hearing or Reconsideration” (hereafter “Acceptance and
Waiver”) attached hereto as Exhibit “A.” :

The Conditional Offer requires Diverter to pay an expedited payment amount (hereinafter
“Expedited Payment Amount”) of $500, file the necessary Statement(s), and waive the right to a
hearing and reconsideration of the alleged violations.

To accept the Conditional Offer, Diverter must sign and return the Acceptance and Waiver along
with the Expedited Payment Amount and electronically file the necessary Statement(s) within 20
days of receipt of this complaint.

If there are extenuating circumstances that Diverter would like to discuss, such as an inability to
pay the Expedited Payment Amount, then Diverter can contact the Division with that information
as soon as possible but no later than the 20 days from receipt of this complaint,

RIGHT TO HEARING
Diverter may request a hearing on this matter before the State Water Board. Any such request
for hearing must be received or postmarked within 20 days of the date that Diverter receives this

complaint. (Water Code, sec. 1055, subd. (b).)

If Diverter requests a hearing, Diverter will have an opportunity to be heard and to contest the
allegations in this complaint and the imposition of an ACL by the State Water Board. If a hearing
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is requested, separate notice setting the time and place for the hearing will be mailed not less
than 10 days before the hearing date. The State Water Board may convene a settlement
conference prior to noticing a hearing date.

If Diverter requests a hearing, the State Water Board will consider at the hearing whether to
impose the civil liability, and if so, whether to adjust the proposed liability within the amount
authorized by statute. Based on the evidence received at the hearing, the State Water Board
may take any appropriate action in accordance with sections 100, 275, and 1050 et seq. of the
Water Code and/or its responsibilities under the public trust doctrine. Any State Water Board
order imposing an ACL shall be final and effective upon issuance.

If Diverter does not remit the Acceptance and Waiver or request a hearing within 20 days of the
date this complaint is received, then the State Water Board will issue a final ACL Order and seek
recovery of the liability imposed as authorized by Water Code section 1055.4.

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

R A g

James W. Kassel, Assistant Deputy Director
Division of Water Rights

Dated:

hov 22 203
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EXHIBIT A

ACCEPTANCE OF CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER
AND WAIVER OF RIGHT TO HEARING AND RECONSIDERATION

Steven J. Earle
Source: Santa Ynez River
County: Santa Barbara County

By signing below and returning this Acceptance of Conditional Settiement Offer and Waiver of
Right to Hearing and Reconsideration (Acceptance and Waiver) to the State Water Resources
Control Board (State Water Board), Steven J. Earle (Diverter) hereby accepts the State Water
Board's conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer) and waives the right to a hearing before
and reconsideration by the State Water Board at which violations alleged in the Administrative
Civil Liability Complaint issued to Diverter (ACL Complaint) to which this Acceptance and Waiver
is attached as Exhibit “A” could be disputed.

Diverter agrees to perform the following within 20 days of receipt of the ACL Complaint:

o Pay administrative civil liability as authorized by California Water Code
section 5107, subdivision (c) in the amount of $500 by cashier’s check or by certified
check made payable to the “State Water Resources Control Board” for deposit into the
Water Rights Fund, which shall be deemed payment in full of any civil liability pursuant to
California Water Code section 5107 (c) that otherwise might be assessed for the violations
described in the ACL Complaint.

Diverter understands that this Acceptance and Waiver waives the Diverter’s right to contest the
allegations in the ACL Complaint and the civil liability amount proposed for those violations.

Diverter understands that the failure to submit payment of the Expedited Payment Amount
and the signed Acceptance and Waiver within 20 days of receipt of this notice shall render the
State Water Board’s Conditional Offer void. If the State Water Board’s Conditional Offer is
deemed void due to Diverter's non-performance, then the State Water Board will issue a final
ACL Order and seek recovery of the full liability amount proposed in the ACL Compilaint.

Diverter understands that this Acceptance and Waiver does not address or resolve liability for
any violation that is not specifically identified in the ACL Complaint. The filing of a Statement of
Diversion and Use with the State Water Board does not in any way establish or constitute
evidence of a right to divert or use water. (Wat. Code, § 51086, subd. (a).)
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Upon execution by Diverter, the Acceptance and Waiver and Expedited Payment Amount shall
be mailed to the following:

Conditional Settlement Offer

State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Water Rights
Enforcement Section

P. O. Box 2000

Sacramento, CA 95812-2000

Attn: John O’Hagan

Diverter understands that this Acceptance and Waiver is not final until it is formally endorsed by
the Division of Water Rights.

| hereby affirm that | am duly authorized to act on behalf of and to bind the Diverter in the
making and giving of this Acceptance and Waiver.

Steven J. Earle*

*Please make corrections as appropriate.

By:

Signed Name Date

Printed or typed name

Title

IT IS SO ORDERED PURSUANT TO CALIFORNIA GOVERNMENT CODE
SECTION 11415.60.

Approval of the Acceptance and Waiver has been delegated to the Assistant Deputy Director for
Water Rights by State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029, and approval shall not limit the
authority of the Executive Director or the Deputy Director for Water Rights, as delegated, to
initiate any enforcement actions for the unauthorized diversion or use of water, for any future
violations of the California Water Code, or violation of the terms of the Acceptance and Waiver.

By:

James W. Kassel, Date
Assistant Deputy Director
Division of Water Rights



