STATE OF CALIFORNIA
CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

ADMINISTRATIVE CIVIL LIABILITY COMPLAINT

In the Matter of Failure to File a Statement of Water Diversion and Use by

Short Ranch
Statement Number: S021738 and S021739

SOURCE: Tuolumne River

COUNTY: Stanislaus County

YOU ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT:

1.

California Water Code sections 5100-5107 establish a program requiring persons who divert water
from a surface stream or a subterranean stream flowing through a known and definite channel (with
a few limited exceptions), to file a Statement of Water Diversion and Use (Statement).

On June 30, 2013, Short Ranch (Diverter) filed Initial Statements (Statement number S021738 and
$021739), as required by California Water Code section 5101, and is alleged to have violated
California Water Code section 5104 subdivision (a), which states, in pertinent part:

Supplemental Statements shall be filed at three-year intervals, prior to July 1
of the year next succeeding the end of each three-year interval...

Supplemental Statements of Diversion and Use (Supplemental Statements) are required by
California Code of Regulations section 910 and 920 to be filed electronically on forms available at the
State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) website. The State Water Board'’s
website provides access to the Electronic Water Rights Information Management System for filing
Supplemental Statements.

California Water Code section 5107, subdivision (c)(1) provides that the State Water Board may
administratively impose civil liability in the amount of $1,000 for the failure to file a Statement, plus
$500 per day for each additional day on which the violation continues if the person fails to file a
Statement within 30 days after the State Water Board has called the violation to the attention of that
person.

California Water Code section 1055, subdivision (a) provides that the Executive Director for the State
Water Board may issue a complaint to any person or entity on whom Administrative Civil Liability
(ACL) may be imposed. On May 17, 1999, the Executive Director delegated to the Deputy Director
for Water Rights the authority to issue a complaint to impose an ACL under California Water Code
section 1055, subdivision (a). Pursuant to State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029, the Deputy
Director for Water Rights is authorized to issue an Order imposing an ACL when a complaint has
been issued and no hearing has been requested within 20 days of receipt of the complaint. State
Water Board Resolution 2012-0029 also authorizes redelegation of this authority from the Deputy

Director for Water Rights to the Assistant Deputy Director for Water Rights. This authority has been
redelegated.
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

ALLEGATIONS

On June 30, 2010, the Diverter filed both Initial Statements with the Division of Water Rights
(Division), reporting that water is diverted from the Tuolumne River, tributary to the San Joaquin
River, for the purposes of irrigating 60 acres of walnuts. The Diverter reported that Statement
S021738 had a diversion rate of 940 gallons per minute (gpm) and that Statement S021739 had
a diversion rate of 3,000 gpm. The Diverter’s latitude and longitude coordinates provided on
Statements S021738 and S021739 align with the Stanislaus County Assessor's Parcel

Numbers 019-003-002 and 019-005-003 (now identified as 019-005-005). Aerial photographs

of the parcels listed as the locations of the points-of-diversion show that orchards are still present
on both parcels.

On January 30, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter, or Diverter's designated representative, a letter
notifying you of the requirement to electronically file your Supplemental Statements of Water
Diversion and Use (Supplemental Statements) for 2010, 2011, and 2012 no later than June 30, 2013.

On July 26, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter, or Diverter's designated representative, a second
letter informing you that the Division had still not received your Supplemental Statement as of
July 22, 2013, and the letter informed you of the potential monetary penalties.

On August 23, 2013, the Division mailed Diverter, a third letter by certified mail which indicated that
your Statement had not been received by August 19, 2013. This letter identified that you were
subject to a $1,000 penalty, and if your report is not received within 30 days of the date you receive
this letter, you will be subject to an additional $500 per day for each additional day the violation
continues.

The Division's records show that the August 23, 2013 certified letter was delivered by the U. S.
Postal Service on August 24, 2013 and was received by Phillip E. Short. On October 9, 2013,
Division staff called the phone number listed on the Diverter’s Initial Statement and left a message
notifying them of the requirement to file their Supplemental Statements for the 2010 through 2012
period. Division staff has not received a return call as of October 20, 2013.

California Water Code section 5106 (b)(1) provides that the State Water Board may rely on the name
and address included in Statements submitted under this part for the purpose of determining the
names and addresses who are to receive notices with regard to proceedings before the State Water
Board. The three notice letters discussed above were all sent to the name and address provided in
Initial Statement numbers S021738 and S021739 filed by you or a designated representative.

California Water Code section 5106 (b)(2) provides that any person may submit, in writing, a request
to the State Water Board to provide notification to a different address, and the State Water Board
shall provide the notification to that address. No such notice has been provided to the State Water
Board since the filing of S021738 and S021739.

California Water Code section 5104 (b) requires that if there is a change in the name or address of
the person diverting the water, Supplemental Statements informing the State Water Board of that
change in name or address must be filed. No notice of change in name or address of diverter has
been filed with the State Water Board since the filing of S021738 and S021739.

As of October 20, 2013, no Supplemental Statements have been filed for the 2010 through 2012
period by, or on behalf of, Diverter.
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15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

PROPOSED CIVIL LIABILITY

The deadline for submittal of the Statement was June 30, 2013. California Water Code

section 5107(c)(1) provides that the State Water Board may administratively impose civil liability
pursuant to section 1055 in an amount not to exceed $1,000 for the failure to file a required
Statement, plus $500 per day for each additional day on which the violation continues if the person
fails to file a Statement within 30 days after the State Water Board has called the violation to the
attention of that person. Such notice was received by Diverter on August 24, 2013. Diverter failed
to submit the required Supplemental Statement by September 22, 2013, the 30th day after receiving
notice of the violation from the State Water Board.

As of October 20, 2013, Diverter has not filed a Supplemental Statement and has been on notice of
the violation for 57 days; therefore, Diverter is subject to civil liability in the amount of $1,000 for each
initial violation (2 violations, for a total of $2,000), plus $500 per day for 27 additional days of violation
(September 24, 2013 through October 20, 2013, inclusive) or $13,500 for each Statement

(54 violations, for a total of $27,000). The potential maximum liability for the violations alleged is
$29,000.

In determining the appropriate amount of a civil liability, California Water Code section 1055.3
requires that the State Water Board consider all relevant circumstances.

In this case, no Statement was filed despite three notices being sent and a telephone call to the
Diverter. Failure to comply with the Supplemental Statement reporting requirements in a timely
manner harms the Division’s ability to accurately track water diversions from the water course and
effectively regulate the resources it is required to protect. Despite repeated notification to Diverter
of the reporting requirements and potential liability for failure to submit Supplemental Statements,
Diverter failed to comply in a timely manner.

In addition, the Diverter has two other Statements, S021736 and S021737, for which they have filed
their 2010 through 2012 Supplemental Statements.

Having taken into consideration all relevant circumstances, including but not limited to the Diverter’s
failure to submit the Supplemental Statement, the harm of the missing Statement to the Division’s
effectiveness in regulating water diversions, staff costs associated with pursuing compliance,
together with the overall need to preserve the integrity of the regulatory program, the Assistant
Deputy Director of Water Rights recommends the imposition of $10,000.00 in administrative civil
liability (Proposed Liability).

CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER

To promote resolution of the alleged Statement filing violations, the Deputy Director of Water Rights
makes the following conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer). Diverter can avoid further
enforcement action and settle the alleged failure to file the Supplemental Statement of Water
Diversion and Use violation/s by agreeing to comply with the terms of the Conditional Offer, provided
below, as well as in the “Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Offer and Waiver of Right to Hearing
or Reconsideration” (hereafter “Acceptance and Waiver”) attached hereto as Exhibit “A.”

The Conditional Offer requires Diverter to pay an expedited payment amount (hereinafter “Expedited
Payment Amount”) of $2,000, file the necessary Statement(s), and waive the right to a hearing and
reconsideration of the alleged violations.

To accept the Conditional Offer, you must sign and return the Acceptance and Waiver along with the
Expedited Payment Amount and electronically file the necessary Statement(s) within 20 days of
receipt of this complaint.
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24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

If there are extenuating circumstances that you would like to discuss, such as an inability to pay the
Expedited Payment Amount, then you can contact the Division with that information as soon as
possible but no later than the 20 days from receipt of this complaint.

RIGHT TO HEARING

Diverter may request a hearing on this matter before the State Water Board. Any such request for
hearing must be received or postmarked within 20 days of the date that you receive this complaint.
(Wat. Code, § 1055, subd. (b).)

If Diverter requests a hearing, Diverter will have an opportunity to be heard and to contest the
allegations in this complaint and the imposition of an ACL by the State Water Board. If a hearing is
requested, separate notice setting the time and place for the hearing will be mailed not less than
ten days before the hearing date. The State Water Board may convene a settlement conference
prior to noticing a hearing date.

If Diverter requests a hearing, the State Water Board will consider at the hearing whether to impose
the civil liability, and if so, whether to adjust the proposed liability within the amount authorized by
statute. Based on the evidence received at the hearing, the State Water Board may take any
appropriate action in accordance with sections 100, 275, and 1050 et seq. of the California Water
Code and/or its responsibilities under the public trust doctrine. Any State Water Board Order
imposing an ACL shall be final and effective upon issuance.

If Diverter does not remit the Acceptance and Waiver, the Expedited Payment Amount, and
electronically file the necessary Statements or request a hearing within 20 days of the date this
complaint is received, then the State Water Board will issue a final ACL Order and seek recovery of
the liability imposed as authorized by California Water Code section 1055.4.

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

47 gl

James W. Kassel, Assistant Deputy Director
Division of Water Rights

Dated:

NOV 1 22088



ORDER NO. 20xx-00xx-DWR
EXHIBIT A '

ACCEPTANCE OF CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER
ND WAIVER OF RIGHT TO HEARING AND RECONSIDERATION

Short Ranch
Source: Tuolumne River
County: Stanislaus County

By signing below and returning this Acceptance of Conditional Settlement Offer and Waiver of
Right to Hearing and Reconsideration (Acceptance and Waiver) to the State Water Resources
Control Board (State Water Board), Short Ranch (Diverter) hereby accepts the State Water
Board's conditional settlement offer (Conditional Offer) and waives the right to a hearing before
and reconsideration by the State Water Board at which violations alleged in the Administrative
Civil Liability Complaint issued to Diverter (ACL Complaint) to which this Acceptance and Waiver
is attached as Exhibit “A” could be disputed.

Diverter agrees to perform the following within 20 days of receipt of the ACL Complaint:

. Pay administrative civil liability as authorized by California Water Code
section 5107, subdivision (c) in the amount of $2,000 by cashier’s check or by certified
check made payable to the “State Water Resources Control Board” for deposit into the
Water Rights Fund, which shall be deemed payment in full of any civil liability pursuant to
California Water Code section 5107 (c) that otherwise might be assessed for the violations
described in the ACL Complaint.

. Electronically file the necessary Supplemental Statement of Water Diversion and
Use (Supplemental Statement) for the 2010, 2011, and 2012 calendar years under
S021738 and S021739, as required by Water Code sections 5104 and 5107,
subdivision (b).

Diverter understands that this Acceptance and Waiver waives the Diverter’s right to contest the
allegations in the ACL Complaint and the civil liability amount proposed for those violations.

Diverter understands that the failure to submit payment of the Expedited Payment Amount,
electronic copies of the necessary Supplemental Statements as identified and described above,
along with the signed Acceptance and Waiver within 20 days of receipt of this notice shall
render the State Water Board’s Conditional Offer void. If the State Water Board’s Conditional
Offer is deemed void due to Diverter's non-performance, then the State Water Board will issue a
final ACL Order and seek recovery of the full liability amount proposed in the ACL Complaint.

Diverter understands that this Acceptance and Waiver does not address or resolve liability for
any violation that is not specifically identified in the ACL Complaint. The filing of a Statement of
Diversion and Use with the State Water Board does not in any way establish or constitute
evidence of a right to divert or use water. (Wat. Code, § 5106, subd. (a).)
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Statements S021738 and S021739
Acceptance and Waiver

Upon execution by Diverter, the Acceptance and Waiver and Expedited Payment Amount shall
be mailed to the following:

Conditional Settlement Offer

State Water Resources Control Board
Division of Water Rights
Enforcement Section

P. O. Box 2000

Sacramento, CA 95812-2000

Attn: John O’Hagan

Diverter understands that this Acceptance and Waiver is not final until it is formally endorsed by
the Division of Water Rights.

| hereby affirm that | am duly authorized to act on behalf of and to bind the Diverter in the
making and giving of this Acceptance and Waiver.

Short Ranch*

*Please make corrections as appropriate.

By:

Signed Name Date

Printed or typed name

Title

IT IS SO ORDERED PURSUANT TO CALIFORNIA GOVERNMENT CODE
SECTION 11415.60.

Approval of the Acceptance and Waiver has been delegated to the Assistant Deputy Director for
Water Rights by State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029, and approval shall not limit the
authority of the Executive Director or the Deputy Director for Water Rights, as delegated, to
initiate any enforcement actions for the unauthorized diversion or use of water, for any future
violations of the California Water Code, or violation of the terms of the Acceptance and Waiver.

By:

James W. Kassel, Date
Assistant Deputy Director
Division of Water Rights



