## State of California Office of Administrative Law

In re: State Water Resources Control Board

**Regulatory Action:** 

Title 23, California Code of Regulations

Adopt sections: Amend section: 1062 Repeal sections: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF EMERGENCY REGULATORY ACTION

Government Code Sections 11346.1 and 11349.6

OAL Matter Number: 2016-0107-01E

OAL Matter Type: Emergency (E)

On December 1, 2015, the State Water Resources Control Board (the "Board") adopted Resolution 2015-0073, which revised by emergency regulations the water rights fee schedule in section 1062 in title 23 of the California Code of Regulations to include a new fee for temporary permits under Water Code section 1425 for the diversion of water to underground storage during high flow events.

OAL approves this emergency regulatory action pursuant to sections 11346.1 and 11349.6 of the Government Code. This emergency regulatory action is effective on 1/15/2016 and will remain in effect until revised by the Board pursuant to Water Code section 1530.

Date: January 15, 2016

For: DEBRA M. CORNEZ Director

Original: Thomas Howard Copy: Glen Osterhage

STATE OF CALIFORNIA-OFFICE OF ADMIN FRATIVE AW NOTICE PUBLICATION/REGULATIONS SUBMISSION (See instructions on reverse)					For use by Secretary of State only	
OAL FILE NUMBERS Z-	TICE FILE NUMBER REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER EMERGENCY NUMBER					
	For use by Office of Adm	inistrative Law (OAL) only			ENDORSED - FILED in the office of the Secretary of State of the State of California	
					JAN 15 2016	
			-7 P 2: 59		1:45 PM	
ΝΟΤΙΟ		ADMINIST	ICE OF RATIVE LAW			
agency with rulemaking authority State Water Resources Con	trol Board			AGE	ICY FILE NUMBER (If any)	
A. PUBLICATION OF NOTI	CE (Complete for pu	blication in Notice Re	egister)			
SUBJECT OF NOTICE		TITLE(S)	FIRST SECTION AFFI	ECTED 2. R	EQUESTED PUBLICATION DATE	
NOTICE TYPE Notice re Proposed Regulatory Action Oth	er	L DNTACT PERSON	TELEPHONE NUMBER	R FAX	NUMBER (Optional)	
OAL USE ACTION ON PROPOSE ONLY Approved as Submitted	D NOTICE Approved as Modified	Disapproved/ Withdrawn	NOTICE REGISTER N	UMBER PUBI	ICATION DATE	
SPECIFY CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATION SECTION(S) AFFECTED (List all section number(s) individually. Attach	S TITLE(S) AND SECTION(S) (Including ADOPT AMEND	; title 26, if toxics related)		-01; 14-1021-01E 3-02E; 11-1014-		
dditional sheet if needed.) TLE(S)	Division 3, Chapter 5	, Section 1062				
tle 23						
<ul> <li>TYPE OF FILING</li> <li>Regular Rulemaking (Gov. Code §11346)</li> <li>Resubmittal of disapproved or withdrawn nonemergency filing (Gov. Code §§11349.3, 11349.4)</li> </ul>	Certificate of Compliance: below certifies that this ac provisions of Gov. Code §9 before the emergency reg within the time period req	11346.2-11347.3 either ulation was adopted or	Emergency Readop Code, §11346.1(h) File & Print		Changes Without Regulatory Effect (Cal. Code Regs., title 1, \$100) Print Only	
Emergency (Gov. Code, §11346.1(b))	Resubmittal of disapprove emergency filing (Gov. Co		X Other (Specify)	ater Code sectior	1530	
ALL BEGINNING AND ENDING DATES OF AV	ILABILITY OF MODIFIED REGULATION	SAND/OR MATERIAL ADDED TO THE R	ULEMAKING FILE (Cal. Code	e Regs. title 1, §44 and Gov.	Code §11347.1)	
EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES (Gov. Code, §§ Effective January 1, April 1, July 1, or October 1 (Gov. Code §11343.4(a))	Effective on filing v Secretary of State	vith \$100 Changes Withd Regulatory Effect	other (Specif		· · · · · ·	
CHECK IF THESE REGULATIONS REQU Department of Finance (Form STD.		DNSULTATION, APPROVAL OR CO			Y State Fire Marshal	
Other (Specify)		TELEPHONE NUMBER	FAX NUMBER (	Optional) F-MAII	ADDRESS (Optional)	
len Osterhage		(916) 341-5032	(916) 341		Osterhage@waterboards.ca.gr	
l certify that the attache of the regulation(s) ider is true and correct and	tified on this form, that	t the information speci	ied on this form	For use by Office	of Administrative Law (OAL) only	
is true and correct, and that I am the head of the agency taking this action, or a designee of the head of the agency, and am authorized to make this certification.					RSED APPROVED	
YPED NAME AND TITLE OF SIGNATOR homas Howard, Executive D		12-31-	-15		AN 1 5 2016	
			<del>.</del>	Office of	f Administrative Law	

.

§ 1062. Filing Fees for Water Right Applications.

(a) A person who files a water right application shall pay to the board a filing fee as follows:

(1)(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (B) and (C), (B) through (E), the fee for a water right application shall be \$1,000, plus \$15 for each acre-foot that the applicant seeks

to divert in excess of 10 acre-feet. The total fee shall not exceed \$498,665, plus any additional fee due pursuant to subparagraphs (2) and (3).

(B) At a facility where a small hydroelectric generating facility meets the criteria for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality Act, as established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, the fee shall be \$1,000.

(C) The fee for an application for a temporary permit filed under Water Code section 1425, other than a permit described in subparagraph (D) or (E) of this subdivision, shall be the greater of either (i) 50 percent of the fee calculated under subparagraph (A), above, or (ii) 2,000;

(D) except that the <u>The</u> fee for an application for a temporary permit <u>under Water</u> <u>Code section 1425 for</u> <u>at a</u> small hydroelectric generating facility that meets the criteria for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality Act, as established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, shall be \$1,000. The filing fee includes the annual permit fee if a temporary permit is issued.

(E) The fee for an application for a temporary permit, or renewal of a temporary permit, filed under Water Code section 1425 that is solely for purposes of diverting water from high flow events to underground storage for later beneficial use shall be \$100 plus \$1.00 for every 100 acre-feet of water the applicant diverts to underground storage under the permit in excess of 10,000 acre-feet. The portion of the application fee based on the amount diverted shall be due within 30 days of actual diversion, and shall be accompanied by a report of the amount actually diverted.

(2) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition to revise a declaration of fully appropriated stream systems, then \$10,000 shall be added to the fee.
(3) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition for assignment of a state-filed application pursuant to Water Code section 10504, then \$5,000 shall be added to the fee.

(b) A person who filed a water right application on or after July 1, 2003, and prior to January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to the difference between the filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the regulation in effect on January 1, 2004.

(c) The application filing fee includes a non-refundable \$250 initial review fee of \$250 or the amount of the application fee, whichever is less.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1425, 1426, 1525, and 1535 and 1551, Water Code.