
Record: 441 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY 

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD 
 

DIVISION OF WATER RIGHTS 
 

ORDER WR 2018-0261-DWR 

In the Matter of Violation of Annual Reporting Requirements by  
 

RICHARD L JENNINGS 
 

 
Assistant Deputy Director Julé Rizzardo, Division of Water Rights (Division), through authority delegated by the 
State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board), hereby issues an Administrative Civil Liability Order 
(ACL Order) to RICHARD L JENNINGS (“Claimant”). On October 19, 2018, the Division of Water Rights issued 
an Administrative Civil Liability Complaint (ACL Complaint) against Claimant (attached), which is hereby 
incorporated by reference as part of this Order. 
 
THE STATE WATER BOARD, OR ITS DELEGEE, FINDS AS FOLLOWS: 

 
1. Claimant is the owner of record for Statement S014789. 

 
2. In February 2018, the Division of Water Rights issued a notice to Permittee reminding Claimant of the 

requirement to submit the 2017 Supplemental Statement of Diversion and Use (“Report”) by July 1, 2018, 
as required pursuant to the California Code of Regulations and notifying Claimant that the 2017 Report 
must be filed online. 
 

3. Claimant failed to submit the 2017 Supplemental Statement of Diversion and Use (“Report”) by the July 1, 
2018, deadline. 
 

4. On July 27, 2018, the Division mailed out a deficiency letter requesting that the 2016 Report for 
Statement S014789 be submitted within 20 days and warned of the potential for enforcement with 
monetary penalties should the violation persist. 
 

5. On September 17, 2018, the Division mailed out a final Notice of Deficiency, putting Claimant on notice of 
imminent enforcement should the violation continue. 
 

6. On October 19, 2018, the Division Prosecution Team issued an ACL Complaint against Claimant. The 
ACL Complaint alleges that Claimant failed to submit the 2017 Report for Statement S014789 by the July 
1, 2018, deadline in violation of section 920 of the Regulations, and recommends an Administrative Civil 
Liability in the amount of $1,500 for this violation. 
 

7. The ACL Complaint included a Conditional Settlement Offer, which allowed for a reduced liability amount 
of $500, provided that Claimant file the 2017 Report, submit the signed acceptance of the Conditional 
Settlement Offer and waiver of the right to hearing and reconsideration, and pay the reduced liability 
amount, all within 20 days of receipt of the ACL Complaint. 
 

8. The Division Prosecution Team sent the ACL Complaint to Claimant via certified mail. The United States 
Postal Service has confirmed that the ACL Complaint was delivered to Claimant on November 01, 2018. 
 

9. Claimant did not request a hearing within 20 days of receipt of the Complaint, in accordance with Water 
Code section 1055(b). 
 

10. Claimant did not complete all three conditions of the Conditional Settlement Offer (full settlement 
payment, report submittal and return of signed Conditional Settlement Offer) within 20 days of receipt of 
the Complaint. 
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11. Pursuant to California Water Code section 7, the State Water Board is authorized to delegate authority to 
the Deputy Director of Water Rights. State Water Resources Control Board Resolution No. 2012-0029 
(Resolution) delegates some of the State Water Board’s authority to the Deputy Director of Water Rights. 
Section 4.9.2 of the Resolution authorizes the Deputy Director to issue an order imposing Administrative 
Civil Liability when a Complaint has been issued and no hearing has been requested in the period 
provided by California Water Code section 1055. Section 4.9.2 of the Resolution allows this authority to 
be redelegated to the Assistant Deputy Director of Water Rights. This authority has been redelegated to 
the Assistant Deputy Director of Water Rights. 
 

12. California Water Code section 1055(c) and Resolution No. 2012-0029 authorize the Assistant Deputy 
Director to issue an ACL Order to Claimant assessing an administrative civil liability in the amount 
proposed in the October 19, 2018, ACL Complaint. 
 

13. California Water Code section 1055.3 states that when determining the appropriate amount of civil liability 
to be imposed, the State Water Board shall take into consideration all relevant circumstances, including 
but not limited to the extent of the harm caused by the violation, the nature and persistence of violation, 
the length of time over which the violation occurs, and the corrective actions, if any, taken by the violator. 
 

14. In this case, Claimant did not submit the 2017 Report, accept the Conditional Settlement Offer, or pay the 
reduced settlement amount after receiving the ACL Complaint. In consideration of these relevant 
circumstances, the State Water Board has determined that the appropriate proposed penalty is $1,500. 

 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT: 
 
1. The attached Administrative Civil Liability Complaint is fully incorporated herein and made part of this 

Order. 
 

2. In adopting this Order, the State Water Board, or its delegee, have considered all relevant circumstances, 
including but not limited to those specifically identified in the ACL Complaint, as required by California 
Water Code section 1055.3 in determining that Claimant shall be assessed the civil liability of $1,500. 

 
3. Claimant shall remit, within 30 days of the date of this Order, a check or money order payment of the full 

penalty of $1,500 to: 
 

State Water Resources Control Board 
Division of Water Rights 
Enforcement Section 
P.O. Box 2000 
Sacramento, CA 95812-2000 

 
4. Fulfillment of Claimant’s obligations under this Order constitutes full and final satisfaction liability for the 

alleged violation specifically identified in this Order. The State Water Board reserves the right to take 
further enforcement action for any future violations. 

 
5. The Assistant Deputy Director of the Division of Water Rights is authorized to seek recovery of the liability 

imposed, as authorized by California Water Code section 1055.4, or refer this matter to the Office of 
Attorney General for further enforcement action if Claimant fails to comply with remitting payment of the 
full penalty within 30 days of the date of this Order. 

 
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD 

 
Julé Rizzardo, Assistant Deputy Director 
Division of Water Rights 
 
Dated: December 6, 2018 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY 

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE CIVIL LIABILITY COMPLAINT 
 
 

In the Matter of Violation of Annual Reporting Requirements by  
 

RICHARD L JENNINGS 
(Statement S014789) 

 

 
 

YOU ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT: 
 
1. RICHARD L JENNINGS, hereinafter refrerred to as “You”, is/are alleged to have violated Title 23, 

Chapter 2.7, Article 2, section 920 of the California Code of Regulations, which requires every water 
right Statement holder to submit a water diversion and use report by July 1 of each subsequent year 
for each water right Statement. 

 
2. The State Water Resources Control Board (Board) may impose a civil liability of up to $500 for each 

day in which the violation of a Board regulation occurs. (Water Code section 1846) 
 
3. The Executive Director for the Board may issue an Administrative Civil Liability (ACL) Complaint to 

any person or entity to whom administrative civil liability may be imposed. (Water Code section 
1055) 

 
4. The Executive Director delegated this authority to the Deputy Director for Water Rights.  Pursuant to 

State Water Board Resolution 2012-0029, the Deputy Director for Water Rights is authorized to 
issue an order imposing an ACL when a complaint has been issued and no hearing has been 
requested within 20 days of receipt of the complaint. This authority has been redelegated to the 
Assistant Deputy Director. 

 
ALLEGATIONS 

 
5. The Board adopted the regulation mandating annual water use reporting requirements in 2010, 

codified in the California Code of Regulations; Title 23, Chapter 2.7, Article 2, section 920.  
 

6. The purpose of the regulation is to develop a publicly available database that allows both the Board 
and water users access to the information and make informed water management decisions. The 
value of the database is directly tied to the amount and accuracy of information the Board collects 
through compliance with the regulation. 
 

7. Water use information is critical to understanding and planning ahead for limited water supplies, 
identifying water conservation opportunities, assuring compliance with the quantity and seasonal use 
limitations of existing water rights, protecting water right holders’ priority of right, and providing for 
efficient management and use of water during times of shortages. 

 
8. You are the owner of record for Statement S014789, and You are required to comply with the annual 

water diversion and use reporting regulation. 
 
9. In February 2018, the Division of Water Rights mailed out a notice reminding You of the requirement 

to submit the 2017 Supplemental Statement of Diversion and Use (“Report”) by July 1, 2018, online 
by logging into the electronic Water Rights Information and Management System, with the provided 
Username and Password.  

 
10. You failed to submit the Report by the July 1, 2018, deadline. 
 
11. On July 27, 2018, the Division mailed out a Notice of Deficiency, warning of the potential for 
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enforcement if the Report was not submitted.  
 
12. On September 17, 2018, the Division mailed out a final Notice of Deficiency, putting You on notice of 

imminent enforcement should the violation continue.  
 
13. As of October 19, 2018, 110 days after the July 1, 2018, deadline, the Report has still not been 

submitted. 
 

PROPOSED CIVIL LIABILITY 
 
14. The Board may impose a civil liability of up to $500 for each day in which the violation occurs for 

violating a Board regulation. (Water Code section 1846, subd. (a)(2)) 
 
15. As of October 19, 2018, You have been in violation for 110 days. The maximum liability for the 

violations alleged is $55,000 (110 days at $500/day). 
 
16. In determining the appropriate amount of a civil liability, California Water Code section 1848 requires 

that the Board consider all relevant circumstances, including, but not limited to, the extent of harm 
caused by the violation, the nature and persistence of the violation, the length of time over which the 
violation occurs, and the corrective action, if any, taken by the violator. 

 
17. In this case, the Report was due by July 1, 2018. The value of the data to the public and the Board is 

tied to its timely submittal, and therefore an increased time lapse between the deadline and the date 
that the Report is ultimately submitted results in increased harm to the regulatory program. The 
Board’s forecasting of water availability during peak water use times of the year, and ability to 
regulate the resources it is required to protect is diminished by the failure to submit the Report on 
time. Moreover, the length of time over which the violations has occurred despite repeated attempts 
to contact You is significant. Finally, the report has not yet been submited: You have made no effort 
to comply with the regulations. 

 
18. Having taken into consideration all relevant circumstances, the Division recommends the imposition 

of $1,500 in administrative civil liability (Proposed Liability). 
 

RIGHT TO HEARING 
 
19. You may request a hearing on this matter before the State Water Board.  Any such request for 

hearing must be received or postmarked within 20 days of the date that this notice is received as 
required by Water Code section 1055, subdivision (b). 

 
20. If You request a hearing, You will have an opportunity to contest the allegations in this complaint and 

the imposition of a fine by the Board.  The Board will issue a notice setting the specific time and 
place for the hearing. The hearing notice will be mailed not less than 10 days before the hearing 
date. 

 
21. At the hearing, the Board will consider whether to impose a monetary fine, and if so, whether to 

adjust the Proposed Liability within the amount authorized by statute. Any Board order imposing an 
ACL shall be final and effective upon issuance. 

 
22. If You do not request a hearing within 20 days, then the right to a hearing on the matter is waived. 

The Assistant Deputy Director for the Division of Water Rights may then issue a final Administrative 
Civil Liability Order assessing the Proposed Liability. 
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CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER 
 
23. The Division makes the following conditional settlement offer: You may settle this matter without the 

need for a hearing before the Board, by 1) paying an Expedited Payment Amount of $500, 2) filing 
the Supplemental Statement of Diversion and Use, and 3) signing a waiver of the right to a hearing 
on the matter. 

 
24. To accept this settlement offer, You must: 
 

a. Remit the Expedited Payment Amount within 20 days of receipt of this complaint 
b. Submit the Report within 20 days of receipt of this complaint, and 
c. Sign and return the Acceptance and Waiver within 20 days of receipt of this complaint. 

 
 
 
 
 
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD 

 
Jule Rizzardo, Assistant Deputy Director 

Division of Water Rights 

 
Dated: October 19, 2018 
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EXHIBIT A 
 

ACCEPTANCE OF CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT OFFER 
AND WAIVER OF RIGHT TO HEARING AND RECONSIDERATION 

 

 

Record: 441 
 

 
RICHARD L JENNINGS (“Diverter”) 
 
STATEMENT S014789 
 
By properly executing and returning this Acceptance and Waiver to the State Water Board, 
Diverter hereby accepts the Division of Water Right’s Conditional Settlement Offer and waives 
their right to a hearing before the State Water Board to contest the violations alleged in the 
attached ACL Complaint. Diverter also waives the right to request reconsideration of an order by 
the State Water Board resolving the violations alleged in the attached ACL Complaint.  
 
In order to accept the Conditional Settlement Offer the following three (3) steps must be taken 
no later than 20 days following receipt of the ACL Complaint. Diverter shall: 
 
1. File the Supplemental Statement of Diversion and Use for 2017 by logging into 

the State Water Board’s website using the Username and Password identified 
in Username and Password Sheet mailed along with the ACL Complaint, and 
 

2. Pay $500 as payment in full of the Administrative Civil Liability related to the 
alleged violations described in the ACL Complaint.  Payment shall be made by 
cashier’s check, certified check, or money order made payable to the “State 
Water Resources Control Board,” and  
 

3. Properly execute and deliver this Acceptance and Waiver along with the 
payment to: 

 State Water Resources Control Board 
 Division of Water Rights 
 Attention: Enforcement Unit – Failure to File 
 1001 I Street, 14th Floor 
 Sacramento, CA 95814 

 
Failure to complete all three (3) steps above shall render the Conditional Settlement Offer 
voidable and may subject Diverter to the full proposed liability ($1,500) amount specified 
in the ACL Complaint. 
 
By properly executing and returning this Acceptance and Waiver to the State Water Board, 
Diverter acknowledges and understands that: 
 

1. This Acceptance and Waiver waives Diverter’s right to contest the allegations in the ACL 
Complaint and the amount of administrative civil liability for the alleged violations. 
 

2. This Acceptance and Waiver does not address or resolve liability for any violation that is 
not specifically identified in the ACL Complaint. 

 
3. The filing of a statement of water diversion and use with the State Water Board does not 

establish or constitute evidence of a right to divert or use water.  (Water Code section 
5106.) 
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Acceptance and Waiver 
 

 

 

 
4. This Acceptance and Waiver is not final and effective until it is approved by the 

Executive Director of the State Water Board. 
 

5. Failure to complete all three steps to accept the Conditional Offer within 20 days of 
receipt of the ACL Complaint, shall render the Conditional Offer voidable.  In such case, 
the State Water Board will issue a final ACL order for the full Proposed Liability amount 
($1,500) specified in the ACL Complaint.  

 
I hereby affirm that I am duly authorized to act on behalf of and to bind Diverter in the making 
and giving of this Acceptance and Waiver. 
 
 
 
 
By: ________________________________    ________________ 
 (Signed Name)       (Date) 
 
 
 
 ________________________________ 
 (Printed or typed name) 
 
 
 
 ________________________________ 

(Title) 
 
 
 
 ________________________________ 

(Relationship to Diverter if not Diverter) 
 
 
 
 
Approved By: ___________________________________  _________________ 

Eileen Sobeck      (Date) 
Executive Director 
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