Welcome to the State Water Resources Control Board Welcome to the California Environmental Protection Agency
Governor's Website Visit the Water Board Members Page
Agendas
My Water Quality
Performance Report
UST Program - Training and Workshops

UST Program - Certification and Training Information


New ICC Information
Operator
Facility Employee
Installer
Inspector
Service Technician

New Information on California UST ICC Exams

The International Code Council (ICC) began administering revised California specific ICC UST exams August 1, 2019. Specifically, the California UST Inspector, California UST Service Technician, and California UST System Operator exams were revised to reflect changes in UST statute, regulations, and reference materials. The revisions include but are not limited to; issuance of UST operating permits, red tag requirements, and overfill prevention equipment inspection requirements. In addition, the references used to study for these exams have been updated to include the most recent published editions.

Designated UST Operator [CCR, title 23, section 2715(b) – (c)]

" Designated UST Operator" is an individual designated by the UST owner to be responsible for training facility employees and conducting a monthly visual inspection at the UST facility. The Designated UST Operator must comply with other applicable state, federal or local requirements, and must comply with the following requirements of the UST law:

  • Possess a current "California UST System Operator" certificate issued by the International Code Council (ICC). Initial certification was required by January 1, 2005. Certification must be renewed every 24 months.
  • Provide on-the-job training for facility employee(s). Individuals assuming the responsibilities of a “facility employee" on and after October 13, 2018 must be trained before assuming the responsibilities of a “facility employee.”
  • Perform visual inspections at least once every 30 days, record results on the “Designated Underground Storage Tank Operator Visual Inspection Report”, and submit the written report to the owner/operator within 48 hours of completing the inspection.

Who can serve as a Designated UST Operator?

Any of the following individuals may serve as the Designated UST Operator:

  • Facility Owner
  • Operator
  • Employee
  • Service Technician, or
  • a Third Party

How many UST facilities can an individual be the Designated UST Operator for?

The number of facilities an individual can be the Designated UST Operator for is limited by the individual’s ability to conduct on-site inspections at least once every 30 days and to provide employee training prior to an employee assuming the responsibility of the "facility employee" at the facility. The Designated UST Operator may perform the inspection and training for new "facility employees" on the same day.

Links

Frequently Asked Questions

back to top



Facility Employee [CCR, title 23, section 2715(c)]

“Facility Employee” is an individual who is employed on-site at an UST facility, and who may be called upon to respond to spills, overfills, or other problems associated with the operation of the UST system. A "facility employee" must:

  • Individuals assuming the responsibilities of a “facility employee" on and after October 13, 2018 must be trained before assuming the responsibilities of a “facility employee.” Initial training must include a practical demonstration that provides both sharing information and evaluating knowledge for responding to emergencies, leak detection monitoring alarms, spills, and overfills associated with operating the UST system. All training and retraining for "facility employees" must be site-specific and include, but is not limited to:
    • The operation of the UST system in a manner consistent with the facility’s best management practices.
    • The facility employee’s role with regard to the monitoring equipment as specified in the facility’s monitoring plan.
    • The facility employee’s role with regards to spills and overfills as specified in the facility’s response plan.
    • The name of the contact person(s) for emergencies and monitoring equipment alarms

back to top



UST Installer [CCR, title 23, section 2715(e)]

"Installer" is a person installing UST systems or components. The UST "installer" must:

New Requirement:

By January 1, 2005, a UST Installer must have possessed or worked under the direct and personal supervision of an individual physically present at the work site who possesses a current "UST Installation/Retrofitting" certification issued by the ICC. Certification must be renewed every 24 months.

Existing Requirement:

  • Possess the appropriate current CSLB license.
  • Obtain or work under the direct and personal supervision of an individual physically present at the work site that has obtained a certificate(s) of training from the manufacturer(s) of the UST system component(s) being installed. Re-certification is required at the time interval recommended by the manufacturer, or every 36 months, whichever is shorter.

Note: Installers must meet the service technician requirements to perform secondary containment testing or annual monitoring system certification.

Links

Frequently Asked Questions

back to top



UST Inspector [CCR, title 23, section 2715(g)]

"Inspector" is a local agency inspector or special inspector who conducts UST inspections. The UST "inspector" must:

  • Possess a current ICC “California UST Inspector” certification as of September 1, 2005. Certification must be renewed every 24 months, by either passing the “ICC California UST Inspector” exam or satisfying equivalent criteria as approved by the SWRCB UST Program Manager.
  • UST inspectors hired on or after September 1, 2005 must possess a current ICC “California UST Inspector” certification within 180 days from their date of hire.
Links

Frequently Asked Questions

back to top



UST Service Technician [CCR, title 23, section 2715(f)]

" Service Technician" is any individual who installs or tests monitoring equipment, or provides maintenance, service, system programming or diagnostics, calibration, or trouble-shooting for UST system components. The UST "service technician" must:

  • Possess or work under the direct and personal supervision of an individual physically present at the work site who possesses a current “ California UST Service Technician” certification issued by the ICC as of July 1, 2005. Certification must be renewed every 24 months.
  • Obtain manufacture training and certification. For secondary containment testing, spill container testing, or overfill prevention equipment inspections, as applicable, this training should be provided by the developer of the testing equipment or test/inspection method being used, or through the manufacturer of the secondary containment component or spill container being tested or overfill prevention equipment being inspected. For annual monitoring system certification, this training should be provided by the monitoring equipment manufacturer. Re-certification is required at the time interval recommended by the manufacturer, or every 36 months, whichever is shorter. In the event that no training or certification is provided by the manufacturer, the local agency may approve comparable alternate training or certification.
  • Possess a current Tank Testers License or appropriate Contractors State License Board (CSLB) license.
  • Obtain training and certification from the monitoring equipment manufacturer and be re-certified at the time interval recommended by the manufacturer, or every 36 months, whichever is shorter. In the event that no training or certification is provided by the manufacturer, the local agency may approve comparable alternate training or certification.

Links

Frequently Asked Questions

 

 
 

.