Welcome to the California Regional Water Quality Control Board - Lahontan Welcome to the California Environmental Protection Agency
Governor's Website
My Water Quality
Performance Report

Lahontan Regional Board Members

California Water Code Section 13201 provides for the Governor to appoint seven members to the Regional Water Quality Control Board. Each member shall reside or have a principal place of business within the region. Appointments are subject to confirmation by the state Senate.

Name From Term
Peter C. Pumphrey, Chair Bishop 09/30/2019
Don Jardine, Vice Chair Markleeville 09/30/2019
Kimberly Cox Helendale 09/30/2018
Keith Dyas Rosamond 09/30/2020
Amy Horne, Ph.D. Truckee 09/30/2018
Eric Sandel Truckee 09/30/2017
Vacant   09/30/2017

Peter C. Pumphrey, Chair

Peter Pumphrey lives near Bishop, California. He is a retired attorney, most recently having been an environmental prosecutor for the Office of the District Attorney, San Joaquin County, California. He is the treasurer of the State Bar of California Environmental Law Section, a member of the Board of Directors of the Sierra Nevada Alliance, President of the Eastern Sierra Audubon Society, Chair of the Chalfant Valley Fire District, and an Advisory Board member of the Eastern Sierra Land Trust. He is a volunteer docent for the Eastern Sierra Institute for Collaborative Education. He is a licensed fishing guide, teaches fly fishing and contributes to California Fly Fishing magazine. In his retirement, he works in the household garden, and hikes, fishes, backpacks and skis in the Sierra backcountry. Mr. Pumphrey’s term expires on 09/30/2019.

Don Jardine, Vice Chair

Mr. Jardine, of Alpine County, has been a member of the Alpine County Board of Supervisors for over 21 years. He is currently a member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars, American Legion, Carson Water Subconservancy District, Alpine County Water Agency, Alpine County Local Agency Formation Commission, Alpine County Board Liaison to the Alpine Watershed Group and Alpine Fire Safe Council and is a member of the Markleeville Volunteer Fire Department. In past years, he has served with Alpine County Search and Rescue and Alpine County Library Commission, and as an Alpine County Reserve Deputy Sheriff and Alpine County Emergency Medical Technician. Mr. Jardine’s term expires on 09/30/2019.

Kimberly Cox

Ms. Cox, of Helendale, was appointed to the Lahontan Regional Water Quality Control Board in July 2013. Ms. Cox has been general manager at Helendale Community Services District since 2007. She was senior management analyst for the City of Victorville from 2003 to 2007 and a water resource specialist for the City of Hesperia from 1999 to 2003. Ms. Cox was a customer service representative at Roadway Express from 1991 to 1999. She earned a Master of Public Administration degree in water resource management from California State University, San Bernardino. Ms. Cox's term expires on 09/30/2018.

Keith Dyas

Mr. Dyas, of Rosamond, has been an environmental and civil engineer at Edwards Air Force Base for 20 years. Previously, he was an engineer at Occidental Petroleum Corp. He has served on many local boards including, the Antelope Valley-East Kern Water Agency and the Eastern Kern County Resource Conservation District. Mr. Dyas served as a director of the Rosamond Town Council. Mr. Dyas earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Cal Poly, Pomona and a Master of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from Fresno State University. Mr. Dyas's term expires on 09/30/2020.

Amy Horne, Ph.D.

Amy Horne, Ph.D., J.D., of Truckee, has been a Board Member of the Lahontan Regional Water Quality Control Board since 2003. She recently earned a Juris Doctor degree at the William S. Boyd School of Law, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. While in law school, Horne interned for Senator Harry Reid in Washington, DC, for the Natural Resources Defense Council in San Francisco, and the Delta Water Master at the State Water Resources Control Board. Dr. Horne has worked more than 30 years on issues of natural resource management and policy, emphasizing water, forestry, sustainable development and dispute resolution. As Research Director at the Sierra Business Council from 1998 to 2005, Horne published an innovative guide to sustainable rural economic development. While a Research Forester at the U.S. Forest Service Pacific Northwest Research Station from 1993 to 1997, Horne earned awards for the many articles she published about ecosystem management. Horne earned a Doctor of Philosophy degree in forestry and a Master of Forest Science degree from the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies and a Master of Public Administration degree in natural resource policy and management from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Horne's term expires on 09/30/2018.

Eric Sandel, P.E.

Mr. Sandel, of Truckee, has been a member of the Lahontan Regional Water Quality Control Board since 1992. He is the principal of S.A. Engineering, an electrical engineering firm in Truckee. Mr. Sandel also serves as a member of the Nevada County Elections Board and the Truckee-Tahoe Engineers Association. He earned a bachelor of arts degree from the University of Massachusetts. Mr. Sandel’s term expires on 09/30/2017.