Welcome to the State Water Resources Control Board Welcome to the California Environmental Protection Agency
Governor's Website Visit the Water Board Members Page
My Water Quality
Performance Report
CWA 316(b) Thermal Discharges-Cooling Water Intake Structures

Ocean Standards - CWA §316(b) Regulation


The Use of Coastal and Estuarine Waters for Power Plant Cooling (Once Through Cooling) - Proposed Water Quality Control Policy


The purpose of the Board workshop on December 8, 2009, was to solicit additional comments and suggestions from stakeholders and the pubilc regarding the proposed order to adopt a Water Quality Control Policy on the Use of Coastal and Estuarine Waters for Power Plant Cooling.

Company Representative
AES Southland Eric Pendergraft
California Coastal Commission Alfred Wanger
California Council for Environmental and Economic Balance Robert W. Lucas
Gerald D. Secundy
California Independent System Operator Corporation Andrew Ulmer
California State Lands Commission Paul D. Thayer
City of Morro Bay Janice Peters
Rick Grantham
Carla Borchard
Noah Smukler
Coastal Alliance on Plant Expansion Jack McCurdy
David Nelson
Dynegy Inc. Daniel P. Thompson
Industrial Environmental Association Patti Krebs
Los Angeles Department of Water and Power Aram Benyamin
Mark J. Sedlacek
MBC Applied Environmental Sciences Shane Beck
Morro Bay National Estuary Program Dan Berman
Natural Resources Defense Council Noah Long
Leila Monroe
NRG West Region George L. Piantka
Pacific Gas and Electric Company Mark Krausse
RRI Energy, Inc. Fred McGuire
Santa Lucia Chapter of the Sierra Club Andrew Christie
Southern California Edison Michael M. Hertel
Surfrider Foundation
Sierra Club California
Ocean Conservancy
Residents for Responsible Desalination
Pacific Environment
Coastal Environmental Rights Foundation
California Coastkeeper Alliance
Heal the Bay
Pacific Coast Federation of Fisherman’s Assn
Environment Now
Southern California Watershed Alliance
Joe Geever
Jim Metropulos
Kaitlin Gaffney
Merle Moshiri
Rory Cox
Sara Honadle
Linda Sheehan
Mark Gold
Zeke Grader
Terry O’Day
Conner Everts
Tenera Environmental Inc. John Steinbeck
US Dept. of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Steven A. Edmondson

Questions about this Topic?

  • Joanna Jensen, Division of Water Quality, by email or phone (916) 341-5582 or
  • Dominic Gregorio, Division of Water Quality, by email or phone (916) 341-5488