About Us

Our Mission Statement

Our mission at the Central Coast Regional Board is developing and enforcing water quality objectives and implementing plans that will best protect the area's waters while recognizing our local differences in climate, topography, geology and hydrology.

The Central Coast Regional Board is comprised of nine part-time members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The Central Coast Board's "basin plan" encompasses our hydrologic areas, issuing waste discharge requirements, enforcement action against violators, and monitoring water quality.

The task of protecting and enforcing the many uses of water, including the needs of industry, agriculture, municipal districts, and the environment is an ongoing challenge for the Central Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board.

The Central Coast Region extends from Santa Clara County south to northern Ventura County. The region has 378 miles of coastline and 3559 square miles of groundwater basins, including Santa Cruz and the Monterey Peninsula, the agricultural Salinas and Santa Maria Valleys, and the Santa Barbara coastal plain. Tourism, power and oil production, agriculture and related food processing activities are the major industries.

Includes land in the following Counties:

  • Santa Clara (south of Morgan Hill)
  • Santa Cruz
  • San Benito
  • Monterey
  • San Luis Obispo
  • Santa Barbara

Water Glance

  • Area Size (Square Miles): 11,274 miles
  • Miles of Streams: 2,360 miles
  • Number of Groundwater Basins: 53
  • Number of Lakes: 99 lakes
  • Acres of Lakes: over 25,000 acres