Subscribe to this regulation and other drinking water regulations email list.. After subscribing, you will need to check your email host for a confirmation email to complete the subscription.

Email Address: (required)
Your Full Name: (required)
(e.g. John Smith)

  Subscribe to our other email lists. See the "Drinking Watersection.

Point-of-Entry (POE) and Point-of-Use (POU) Treatment - Permanent Regulations

Announcements

  • On February 6, 2018, the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) adopted permanent regulations for POE/POU treatment devices. Emergency regulations for point-of-entry (POE) and point-of-use (POU) treatment device regulation have sunset on December 31, 2017.
  • Public workshops on the process for adopting standard regulations and a presentation of draft regulations.
  • The standard regulations for POE/POU treatment devices are subject to the Administrative Procedure Act (APA).
  • On October 3, 2017, the State Water Board submitted a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking for standard regulations for POE/POU treatment devices to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL).

Information and documentation pertaining to this regulatory action are provided here.

Sections Affected

California Code of Regulations: Title 22, Division 4, Chapter 15 Sections to adopt (unless otherwise noted): 64417, 64418, 64418.1, 64418.2, 64418.3, 64418.4, 64418.5, 64418.6, 64418.7, 64418.8, 64419, 64420, 64420.1, 64420.2, 64420.3, 64420.4, 64420.5, 64420.6, 64420.7, and 64420.8

Status of Rulemaking Proceedings

Office of Administrative Law File Number: Z-2017-1003-07 (Notice File Number)
California Regulatory Notice Register: Register 2017, No. 41-Z, October 13, 2017
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Publication Date: October 13, 2017
Start of Public Comment Period: October 13, 2017
Public Hearing: 9:30 AM – November 27, 2017
Close of Public Comment Period: 12:00 PM (noon) – November 30, 2017
Board Adoption Hearing: February 6, 2018
Approved by the Office of Administrative Law: TBD
Filed with the Secretary of State: TBD
Effective Date of the Regulations: TBD
Please see the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking below on how to submit public comments, location of public hearing, and other details.

Rulemaking Documentation

45-day Public Comment

15-day Public Comment

Board Meeting

Documents Relied Upon

Standard Regulations

Assembly Bill 434 (Statutes of 2015, Chapter 663, Garcia) amended and adopted Health and Safety Code (H&SC) Section 116380 and Section 116552.   

Pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 116380, the State Water Board adopted emergency regulations pertaining to the use of POE and POU treatment. The emergency regulations have been effective since filing with the Secretary of State and remain in effect until January 1, 2018, or until the effective date of the adoption of standard regulations, whichever occurs first. It should be noted that the standard regulations are subject to the requirements of the APA.

The State Water Board is currently developing the standard POE and POU regulations to fulfill the statutory requirements. The standard regulations must be consistent with the use limits in H&SC Sections 116380 and 116552. The State Water Board expects the standard regulations to be consistent with the emergency regulations, but will consider revisions resulting from public comment period and knowledge gained from implementing the emergency regulations. The standard regulations include requirements from section 116380, which limits the use of POE and POU treatment to public water systems with fewer than 200 service connections, and Section 116552, which limits the use of POE and POU treatment to 3 years or until funding for centralized treatment is available (whichever occurs first).

Other Information

Contact Information

Melissa Hall
Senior Water Resource Control Engineer
(916) 323-0373
Melissa.Hall@waterboards.ca.gov

Mark Bartson
Supervising Sanitary Engineer
(916) 341-5578
Mark.Bartson@waterboards.ca.gov